We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Prestige Coral Platja
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Suffolk
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good basic hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A pleasant clean hotel in a very convenient position both for being on the beach and with the town centre only a few hundred yards away. Pleasant enough rooms some with balcony and sea views. The buffet breakfast was not the finest no Jamon for the locals and the English/American selection was a little lacking, the evening buffets covered a reasonable choice if again rather basic, in all fairness we were with a party and I expect the price paid was haggled over but even independent guests had the same buffet. We ate out several evenings.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ea217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    151
    69
    32
    18
See reviews for
96
183
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is quite expensive, but on a perfect location in Roses. The restaurant is a buffet, not great with a limited choice is limited and of poor quality. If you want to eat after 9 p.m. you have to hurry up,as they start removing the dishes at 10 p.m. exactly. After dinner in the restaurant of the hotel, we wanted to finish our bottle of wine on the terrace. We even asked for permission. Imagine our surpirse when suddenly the head waiter of the terrace briskly and rudely took away our bottle and started yelling at us that we were not allowed to drink any wine from the restaurant on their own terrace. He shouted that we had to leave and take our bottle to the balcony of our room; When we said that we had asked for permission in the restaurant, he pointed at the door to us and we had to leave. The maître of the restaurant faintly said that this was the policy of hte hotel. Why on earth is it forbidden to finish a drink bought in the restaurant of your own hotel on the terrace of that same hotel? In all the years that we travel for business and pleasure, we have never had such a bad experience and especially in a hotel that charges so much for a room, It is unacceptable. Never again!!!

Room Tip: Take another hotel. There are plenty in Roses
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Roses hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is an older hotel but it was fairly well maintained and clean. The rooms were adequate although the air conditioning was struggling to make the room bearable in July. The hotel was full of families and older couples. Breakfast was affordable as we pre-paid and was plentiful but not remarkable in any way. We did not have any other meals at the hotel. Parking was adequate although we had to park in a separate lot across the street. The location was the best thing about this hotel - it is right on the beach and easy walking distance to the sights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NF4064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Room 237 forward facing, corner room, overlooking courtyard with balcony and partial sea view. Room 238 (friends room) has same view but larger balcony.

This was our second stay at the Coral Platja and slightly better than the first one. This time round as on the first visit we were on a coach tour.

The hotel is charming, clean and nicely decorated. Steps away from the promenade and beach, though you take your life in your hands with the cyclists racing along. A pleasant fifteen minutes stroll from the town centre and a little longer to the end of the promenade at St Margarite.

The cleaning staff are very good and pleasant, changing linen and towels daily and keeping rooms spotlessly clean.
A small fridge is supplied for any drinks you want to keep cool, however be warned when you leave the room and take the key card from the slot this will switch off all electrics to the room including the fridge and you return to a pool of water and warm drinks. You could try asking for a second keycard to leave in the slot, though I doubt you would get one. A Tesco/Sainsburys card etc doesn't work (we tried it). The air-conditioning is not efficient and was only just 'working'.

As part of the tour we were on a half board 'buffet' meal plan which was perfectly adequate with something to suit most palettes. We were allocated our own table on arrival and this was reserved by our travel company with a 'reserved card' so no problem searching for a table.

The restaurant staff were efficient, bringing out fresh food as and when required but oh dear what a dour lot they were. The bar staff were even worse, I don't think we saw a smile all week except from one young chap. The female bar person was extremely 'frosty' and couldn't raise a smile or polite word for anyone. As we were entitled to certain free drinks 8-10pm on our package they seemed to think us rather inferior and refused us waiter service so had to go to the bar each time to obtain our drinks.

We had an issue with the fridge in our room which failed totally. I asked twice for it to be attended to but when I chased this up each one on reception denied knowledge of the complaint. I asked our driver/tour guide to help and within half an hour the fridge was replaced, he told them that 'manyana' was not an option.....

This is a lovely hotel in a fantastic location let down only by it's appallingly unfriendly, dour and rude staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 237/238 good partial sea view and set back from promenade so quieter. Have had full sea view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SENORAWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here from 11th-18th April with a coach trip.Our room(345) was very nice,clean & clean towels every day.The reception staff were fine & so was the bar staff.price at the bar were reasonable.
The bad bit was the dinning room.All the meals were buffet style & I must say there was plenty on it,although very repetative & the hot food was very often cold.Unfortunately two French coaches arrived a couple of days after us & then it was a free for all.The French were very rude & pushed in while we were queueing.This was the dinning room manager`s fault for letting everybody in at the same time.The female manager was extremely rude to us & said we should sit at the same tables the night we arrived,although she had put our names on the tables herself!On the last day the breakfast was stale bread,cheese & ham that had obviously been put out the night before & just as we were leaving the dinning room the cooked breakfast came out in time for the French.What a shame that the dinning room experience ruined our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 345 which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figueres, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

I just spent a few days on the Costa Brava.
We have stayed at the Coral Hotel in Roses.
The hotel's location is perfect, right in front of the beach. We have had many sunny days. It was great, the people and the people are welcoming and friendly, the hotel has a special charm, no doubt return to the hotel Coral Platja!! Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I spent Christmas here. Loved every minute. Weather lovely. Rooms clean and spacious. Staff efficient. Entertainment good with a latin flavour. If you want " Roll out the Barrel" then go to Blackpool. Language a challenge but trying to speak Spanish in is fun and appreciated. It is Spain after all. We'd love to go back but choose your dates carefully. In "winter" the population is 20,000, in "summer" 120,000.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and balcony. Costs more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornwallMightymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
0.4 mi away
Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol
0.3 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#13 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Prestige Victoria
Prestige Victoria
#17 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Coral Platja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Coral Platja

Property: Prestige Coral Platja
Address: Avenida Gola De L Estany, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Prestige Coral Platja 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prestige Coral Platja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Coral Platja Roses, Spain - Costa Brava
Prestige Coral Platja Hotel Roses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing