We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moody staff”
Review of Aquabrava

Aquabrava
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Moody staff”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I caught a taxi to the park with a few friends which took an hour from costa brava. We arrived about 10.30 and the majority of the slides didnt open till 12. The lazy river was extremely boring. And the staff never smile, speak to you and blow their whistle or shout at you for the most ridiculous things. For example, we missed the whistle to go down a slide and the lifeguard shouted at us and wanted us to be removed! I was excited about the artificial wave machine, however it was only put on for 5 minutes every half an hour. The water was filthy too, leaves and bugs floating in each pool. The only good things were the variety of slides and the food was reasonably priced. Can't say I'd visit again, especially for €34.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Missadvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AQUABRAVA, Director Comercial at Aquabrava, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear customer,

thanks for your opinion, it is really important for us to know how satisfied are our clients.

We try to offer the better deal to our clients, and to reduce the queues, however it could be difficult in the high season.

In Aquabrava, for higyene reasons, the pick nick is not allowed. This enterprise policy was taken to to keep the park cleener. For guests who arrive with their own car and want to eat outside, or for those who want to eat in their appartment or hotel, the exit is not definitive.

Best regards,

Directora Comercial · Park Acuatic Roses, S.A. · maribel.ld@aquabrava.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    55
    17
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Worth going!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I definitely enjoyed my day in Aquabrava. To be honest, It was one of the best aqua parks I have ever been to.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emptybroadway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AQUABRAVA, Director Comercial at Aquabrava, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your opinion.

We are pleased to know how satisfied are our clients. Our aim is to fidelise our clients improving the water park every year.

Regards,

Commercial Department · maribel.ld@aquabrava.com · Park Acuatic Roses, S.A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great day out - not sure where the negative reviews came from!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent one fantastic day at Aguabrava in Roses in July. It was busy but not stupidly so; there is a policy of no food and drink is allowed to be brought in and yes they check your bags. However, I was pleasantly surprised to see that the catering on site was not too expensive. I paid 1.50 for a cafe con leche (latte) which is cheaper that the resort I was staying in. We did bring a picnic with us, but we left it in the car. At lunchtime, we went out to the car and had our picnic there. They stamp your hand as you go out to let you back in again.

It is expensive to get in so it makes it worthwhile to make a full day of it. However, I think that the prices are in line with all water parks/attractions in Europe. In terms of cleanliness, it is very clean with lots of green spaces to put your towel etc. It seemed very safe too. The wave is great and it is on every half hour on the half hour. They take safety very seriously and they also have lifeguards in the pool during the wave session.

I think it is a great day out and a change from the seaside! Go and enjoy!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank WiltshireTraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We visited Aquabrava water park in June 2012. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 2 children (6 and 4 years old). We all had a fantastic day out and found something for everyone to enjoy. It is 25 Euros for adults with children under 120cm paying a reduced rate. There is also a reduced rate for guests entering the park later in the afternoon (I think after 3pm but check the website to be sure). We also saw signs for reduced half day return tickets and 3 and 4 day passes.
The park is very lush and green with lots of grassy areas and whilst there is an extra charge for sun loungers there is plenty of shaded space to sit - if you are off the slides for long enough! There is a good locker system with rental being 8 Euros (5 refunded on return of the key). You can return to the locker as many times as you want however they are on the small side so pack lightly! Also the key is on a long loop which is not adjustable and doesnt fit naturally around a wrist or ankle so try ensure someone has on swim shorts with a secure pocket!
We tried to go on all the slides to ensure the children got to have fun too! Unfortunatley both were under 120cm and therefore were not allowed on the bigger slides however there were some good windy ones that allowed you to take on a child sat in between your legs. There were also some that required a rubber ring. It seemed a shame that the kids weren't allowed on some of them - the Amazonas seemed very relaxing - like a lazy river but with intemitent mini slides on route. The kids unfortunatley were also not allowed on the Anaconda which involved a large round raft snaking down a wide winding slide - not perilous at all but I suppose rules are rules! There was a lazy river which was very family friendly and relaxing!
For the kids there are two great children's areas - one for smaller children with short slides and climbing areas in very shallow water. Our two prefered the pirate ship area with longer childrens slides and deeper landing pools (still shallow by adult standards). These were themed more like the adult slides and were more exciting for them. All areas were under supervision of a life guard and the slides were all monitored at the top by an attendant advising when to set off.
There is a large lagoon style area with waves for about 5 minutes every half an hour. The waves are really large at the deep and of the pool however it was fun for the kids (one in arm bands) nearer the 'beach'. There is also a climbing rock with a waterfall and 'Octospeed' which allows up to 8 riders to race against eachother down large bumpy slides.
There are a few eating options - one very Spanish and one more general. We opted for the burger bar for the kids which offered hotdogs, chips, burgers and nuggets. Prices were slightly high but only as you'd expect for such a place.

Overall this was a good day out and we easliy spent 5 hours there - we could have spent longer but had pre-arranged a pick up.
One bit of advice would be to check the route before setting off if driving. We knew how to get to Roses but expected signage from there considering the size of the park however this is not the case and we got slightly lost and happened upon it by chance in the end!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank jacqui83Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun in a retro kind of way, but very expensive. Not for small kids.”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Aquabrava is expensive to enter and only offers limited rides for children under 12. Add the awful and very expensive cafeteria food - no outside food is allowed; they search your bag to make sure nothing slips though - and you have an attraction best given a miss.

According to the marketing, Aquabrava opened in 1987 and it shows: Some of the rides are - in my opinion - getting tired and the whole place feels like it could do with a facelift. Painted concrete is the chosen decor although there have been some (half-hearted) attempts at making it more garden-like.

The rides are aimed at older kids (I'd say 14-up) - many of the rides require you to carry your own (large) inflatable ring up a hill to the start and do not allow anyone shorter than 120cm (3 ft 11") to ride.

The wave pool is suitable for all but only active for about 10 minutes every hour. For the youngest, there's a kids' area but, bizarrely, nobody taller than 120cm (3 ft 11") is allowed on the kid's slides. Since our smaller kids did not want to go on their own they, effectively, could not use any of the rides except the wave pool. As a result, they quickly got bored and wanted to go to the beach instead(!)

Aquabrava's pricing policy is somewhat unusual - visitors should beware that any one taller than 120cm (3 ft 11") is considered adult and will have to pay the full €24 entry (summer 2011). Add to this the overpriced cafeteria-style food (our bags were actually searched on entry to ensure no outside food was brought in!) and you're looking at €200-€250 for a day for a family of 4.

In summary, Aquabrava is just not worth it in my opinion - especially since you have miles of gorgeous, clean and free (!) beaches and some of the best restaurants in the world just around the corner.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
12 Thank Ozzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aquabrava also viewed

Roses, Costa Brava
 

Been to Aquabrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing