We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveler rating
86
73
26
21
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
86
73
26
21
34
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 240 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Very nice bijou little hotel with a real family feel to it. The rooms were clean and nice if a little basic, my room had an amazing ocean view and a nice balcony. We came to dive, and it was well worth it, but really I would come back for the food and wine! The food was fabulous, fish, shellfish and other delights, expertly paired with local wines. They make their own wine, that sits under the water at some depth for a while imparting a unique flavour! I think next time I will return for a romantic break!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natsback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Stopped for lunch during hike from Roses to Cadaques. We had planned to hike thru, but were curious about the walled area adjacent to the beach. Super comfort dining area, attentive staff, excellent seafood. It’d be a lovely spot for drinks and sunset.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019



This place has great potential but is basic & run down. Staff attitude is poor. We were so undewhelmed we left after 1 night of a 3 night stay. It is also pretty inaccessible so not suitable as a base to explore the area.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank Officerrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We came by boat we were many people with children etc. We ordered food and we found the portions small and very average taste wise. It was a total rip off (a little tomato salad costing 35euros!!) Our plates were broken so some of our food fell on the floor immediately... we spent 450euros on terribly served, poorly portioned average food. We weren’t happy but the owners didn’t care they told us to never come back instead of having good client relationship skills. Very sad. Please don’t go it’s a tourist trap.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calajoncols, Director General at Cala Joncols, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

This is the third time that this customer comments with different languages, and in all social networks. We appreciate the time that you dedicate to us and we feel that even today you don't know the price of the prawns of Roses during the month of August and Christmas ...A recommendation Pay attention when you order for delicious shrimp during the most expensive period of the market.
We take note to improve the presentation of the caterings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017

I booked four days at Cala Joncols on a whim while traveling through northern Spain for my birthday. The landscape looked magical and it sounded like a classic "resort" that would be a perfect off-the-grid escape from the city. Since it was my birthday, I was willing to splurge for what I hoped would be a cozy retreat.

Upon arrival, the olive trees and wildflowers were beautiful. And the beach and cove were just meters from the hotel itself. It looked lovely. The room itself was underwhelming and so incredibly hot. I realize it's an old property, so it's not air conditioned, but even fans would make a huge difference. I tried to keep my windows open most of the time. There are 3 places to eat on site, so I opted for the open air dining room for dinner the first night. The menu was sorely overpriced. And since you're 30 minutes away from the nearest town, you're somewhat locked into eating at the resort unless you don't mind the drive to and from Rosés on the windy dirt road. (I personally loved the drive, but some people may not be comfortable doing that each day for both lunch and dinner if they choose not to eat at the hotel.)

I ordered a langoustine appetizer which was 28 euros. They came de-shelled but not deveined, so I took them apart myself. The sauce was not good. Because it was so expensive and so bad, I chose not to have a main course. Instead I just had dessert and wine. My meal came to more than 70 euros, which was the most expensive and worst meal of the adventure.

The second day I decided to leave the resort and explore the Costa Brava and French Pyrenees. I came back just before sunset and thought I'd give dinner one more chance. First, though, I wanted to have a glass of wine at the beach shack. They weren't busy, and I ordered a glass of white wine. Twenty minutes passed and it never came. Ten more minutes and it still didn't come. After forty minutes of never being served the wine I ordered, I went to dinner. I went and sat in the outdoor courtyard where dinner was being served. I waited fifteen minutes at a table by myself. Nobody ever greeted me, asked if I'd like a drink, or offered me a menu. I went to bed angry and hungry with no dinner. I decided, other than breakfast, that I would not have another meal at the hotel during my stay.

Reception: There is only one person who works in reception, it seems. And she's often not there during the day. I waited thirty minutes at her desk for the wireless password before someone else asked if they could help me. Over the course of my four days there, I would commonly see her, as well as other young staff, gathered around at able beneath the stairs leisurely smoking and passing time. I'm all for taking a break, but when clientele need basic things (like a password, a question answered, wine, a dinner menu), staff should be ready to assist, especially when guests are spending so much money. It didn't seem like most of the staff was over twenty years old. The older wait staff who handled breakfast, on the other hand, were wonderful. They provided the kind of service you expect from a nice hotel. Unfortunately, most of the staff otherwise seemed to be treating their summer job like summer vacation.

Housekeeping: I'm so confused about housekeeping's checklist of things to do. I'd leave my windows open to come back to a hot, stuffy room with closed windows and a made bed. Yet, dirty dishes, an empty bottle of wine, and a full cup of coffee from my first two nights remained on a table until I checked out. My last night, I got out of the shower only to realize they'd taken my two towels...without replacing them. But, I had no idea they'd been there earlier because the bed was unmade and the dishes were still where I'd left them three days before.

Overall, the experience at Cala Joncols was disappointing. I spent a lot of money for four nights that were not worth the cost. Between the overpriced food, being blatantly ignored for dinner/wine service, having an often absent front desk person, having confusing housekeeping protocol, it's a disservice to the beautiful place it resides. There is so much potential, but so little effort.

GOOGLE TRANSLATION: Reservé cuatro días en Cala Joncols en un capricho mientras viajábamos por el norte de España para mi cumpleaños. El paisaje se veía mágico y sonaba como un clásico "resort" que sería un perfecto fuera de la red escapar de la ciudad. Ya que era mi cumpleaños, estaba dispuesto a derrochar por lo que esperaba sería un refugio acogedor.

A la llegada, los olivos y flores silvestres eran preciosas. Y la playa y la ensenada estaban a sólo metros del hotel en sí. Se veía preciosa. La habitación en sí era decepcionante y tan increíblemente caliente. Me doy cuenta de que es una antigua propiedad, así que no es aire acondicionado, pero incluso los aficionados haría una gran diferencia. Traté de mantener las ventanas abiertas la mayoría del tiempo. Hay 3 lugares para comer en el sitio, así que opté por el comedor al aire libre para cenar la primera noche. El menú era muy caro. Y ya que está a 30 minutos de la ciudad más cercana, estás un poco encerrado en comer en el complejo a menos que no te importa el viaje en coche desde Rosés en el camino de tierra ventoso. (Que personalmente me encantó la unidad, pero algunas personas pueden no estar cómodo haciendo que cada día para el almuerzo y la cena si deciden no comer en el hotel.)

Pedí un aperitivo de langostinos que era de 28 euros. Ellos vinieron descascarados pero no desvenados, así que los desmonté. La salsa no era bueno. Debido a que era tan caro y tan malo, elegí no tener un plato principal. En su lugar sólo tenía postre y vino. Mi comida llegó a más de 70 euros, que era la comida más cara y peor de la aventura.

El segundo día decidí dejar el complejo y explorar la Costa Brava y los Pirineos franceses. Regresé justo antes del atardecer y pensé en darle una cena más. Primero, sin embargo, quería tener una copa de vino en la choza de la playa. No estaban ocupados, y pedí una copa de vino blanco. Pasaron veinte minutos y nunca llegó. Diez minutos más y aún no llegó. Después de cuarenta minutos de nunca ser servido el vino que pedí, fui a cenar.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank contemporarypilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews