We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carmen Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Parc(Roses)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
222
106
14
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
106
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspotless hotelminor problemsmall hotelcomfortable bedevery morningseafrontremotebeddingspain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 346 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2010

During a trip to Spain, this was probably the nicest place we stayed at, especially for the price. The room was bright and clean, the staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and I thought the breakfast was great (a selection of fresh baked breads/pastries, coffee and juice) and I didn't mind that we had to walk next door. We parked in a free lot about a 4 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel has a modern, contemporary feel and was was located close to the beach. If I ever have to go to Roses again, I'd stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runnergirl209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

What a delightfull small hotel. Brand new this season and no expenses spared,
We took a superior room which gave us acces to a large private terrace with 2 sun loungers and 2 wicker arm chairs. The views are not good, but is a short walk (2 mins) to the promenade so that is unimportant. Flffy towels, bathrobes and slipper for each guest. The beds were very large and the linen top quality. It is also extremely quiet. The staff are really friendly and helpful. and for the price it would be hard to beat.
Breakfast had to be taken next door as their dinning room is not yet functioning, but it is complimentary and very adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldwaterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We liked the hotel, it is clean and modern with contemporary design. It also appears to be well-maintained. If coming by car, be prepared to navigate a very narrow street where it is located and be fast when taking your luggage out of the car for you risk blocking passage otherwise. We parked our car for free in front of the old fortress some 200 m away.

The hotel is on the second line but there is a beeline to the beach which is extremely convenient. There is little noise in the room so we slept undisturbed. However, rooms are extremely small (see my pictures) which may be a problem if staying for longer than a few days.

The only problem was the breakfast (included in the room rate). It is served in the next-door two-star hotel. I have yet to see such a poor selection of ham and cheese of such inferior quality. Orange juice did not taste like orange but rather like some chemical stuff and coffee was plain disgusting. It is a shame because it spoils the otherwise good impression of the Carmen hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmenroses, Director General at Carmen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Dear travellers, let me use this comment and the issues pointed out in it as an opportunity to add some information about Hotel Carmen

Hotel Carmen just opened its doors in April 2010, however its breakfast salon will not be ready until November 2010. For this reason rooms are being sold online generally without breakfast in the rate, however some websites do not offer the flexibility to take away breakfast. We have therefore arranged a free breakfast in a garden terrace next door, choosen for its setting and the close location (10 meters). The quality is maybe not according to the standards we will deliver to our guests in the coming future but it seemed the best option at the time. From here we apologize if some guests have been disappointed because of this confusion.

Concerning the room size, Family Suites, Junior Suites and Superior rooms are all very spacious rooms, however within our Comfort category we have rooms ranging from 15 to 20 sqm. One of our main standard when assigning these rooms is to offer the larger rooms within the reserved category to guests staying longer and viceversa.

I hope you find the information helpful, best regards from Roses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Carmen Hotel is in a quiet street, very well located in Roses. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Room is clean, with all mod cons. Air Con is connected to a sensor on the window, great idea!
Staff helped us locate restaurants where local people go to wine&dine. I would stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews