We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very welcoming Hotel and very friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Sabadell
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very welcoming Hotel and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is better than we expect. The Superior Double Room is spacious and comfortable. The finishes of the room have good quality. Hotel staff is very friendly and helped us in everything that we need.

The breakfast is very complete and very good. There is a close free parking, 150 meters from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordi1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    95
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
213
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very clean and stylish hotel with typical local décor and a great feel to the place. Kind and friendly welcome with well kept and comfortable rooms with everything you need for a great stay. Breakfast has everything you would ever want with fresh pastries, cold meats, cheese and breads. Coffee and tea a plenty along with fresh juices and even prosecco to start a good days drinking. Would defiantly return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

again through reading other tripadvisor reviews,we settled on this hotel for our visit to Roses.Planned to only stay one night,but so impressed with hotel and staff,who upgraded us free of charge on our first night that we stayed for a second night.The room was huge with L"Occitane products in the bathroom ,robes,french windows and bacony to sit out.Perfect!Location was good,only one street back from the seafront and they have secure garaging should you require it.The staff were extremely helpful and recommended an Argentinian and a Seafood restaurant to us and we very much enjoyed both.
And as for the breakfast,wow! So cheap at 4 euros each and you wanted for nothing.Fresh coffee cooked breakfast or buffet and cava if you so desired to kick off your day in style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berga, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent a fantastic weekend in hotel Carmen. Its location is excellent because you are very near the beach and it's very central. The hotel facilities are very good for the price you pay and everything is really comfortable and clean. I'm sure we'll come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrasse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel Carmen is a boutique family run hotel with all the service and professionalism of a 5 star hotel. The hotel is tastefully decorated, in a quiet location just one street back from the main road on the beach. The rooms are immaculate. They offer car parking just behind the hotel which is also very handy.
The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfast was an enjoyable buffet and you could order hot food as you wish. They do great omelettes! The coffee is made to your order so it's fresh and just how you like it.
The complimentary glass of wine or Cava at the bar and the L'Occitane toiletries are nice touches that add to the charm of the hotel. We will definitely being staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Delish99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just spent a week here, and was impressed with the service and comfort. There's a complimentary glass of Cava for guests in the hotel's bar, and also free bottles of water every day, placed in the fridge in your room. The toiletries in your bathroom are of high quality too, l'Occitane being the brand.

Reception desk staff are always willing to help and offer advice. Breakfasts were very good, with a decent choice, and attentive staff. You do feel valued as a guest, unlike some large chain hotels where you're more of a number. Parking is free of charge in a public car park very close by. Finally, Wi-Fi is now free in your room and throughout the hotel, whereas previously it had been 2 Euros per day.

I recommend this 3 star hotel for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calonge, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Once we found this little hotel, it was absolutely perfect, the staff were most helpful, the rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was exactly what we had hoped for ... a real family hotel feel, but operated very professionally. Roses itself was a bit quiet, as the Summer season has not completely kicked in but could not fault the hotel for any reason.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaudisRest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#5 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prestige Hotel Mar Y Sol
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ramblamar
Hotel Ramblamar
#22 of 36 in Roses
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#14 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Hotel

Property: Carmen Hotel
Address: Trinitat 41, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Roses
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carmen is a tribute to Carmen & Josep, who first started welcoming travellers in their humble home in the early 1950's. The three buildings that make up the property have been recently refurbished and turned into a contemporary mediterranean hotel with a peaceful and delicate design that evoques those times. The house is located in the center of town among locals and their daily lives, and just 50m from the beach and Roses' magnificent sunset promenade. There are various rooms types available for guests, ranging from large rooms with balconies and terrasses, to smaller ones with windows. What all rooms have in common are great ergonomic mattresses & pillows, WiFi, a laptop sized safe, minibar, satelite TV, plus l'Occitane amenities and a haidryer in the bathroom. All rounded up with a nice breakfast with plenty of local products and freshly made coffee. For travellers arriving by car a garage is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing