We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming, friednly and quiet boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmen Hotel
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne End
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A charming, friednly and quiet boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this charming, quiet and friendly little boutique hotel. It's tucked up a back street yet only 100 metres from the prominade lined with great restaurants and 200 metres from the beah. My wife had booked this holiday as a birthday surprise for me, so I had no idea where I would be staying but neither of us were disappointed on any level. She booked the best room (Room 206) which was spacious, clean and had a balcony you could actually sit on in the evening sunshine. Breakfast was ample and varied. Everything was within walking distance, including the free garage parking for our hire car. The staff were very friendly and lovely - helping us with where to go, where to eat etc. Most spoke English, so never a problem. I would (and have) recommend this to friends and family without hesitation. Well done Hotel carmen! xx

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    98
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
218
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

For 90Euro a night we received : small room (but all looks new and good, comftable bad), window than opens all the way or in angle, no much of a view ( but quite) , free Wifi that works good, descend breakfast . The Hotel STAFF is usually one person at the front desk. There is no lobby. Breakfast is served at the adjacent ROM HOSTEL.
Parking is free in most of the streets and lots so we managed to find one every time.
The girl at the desk gave us recommandations to some restorants : grill, itallian, catalan. Itallian was great, Catalan good, and the grill we didn't try.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Went online at short notice. Got the last room available. Was pleasently surprised how good it was.Clean, comfortable bed,good bathroom, glimpse of the sea from the balcony. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others. In fact I could see no bette rhotel around roses. Very very happy with Hotel Carmen. Would've stayed longer but was heading into France. Breakfast was in the hotel next door (Carmen doesn't have a resturant), and that was your usual hotel breakfast.Paid 10 euro for a secured car park.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buck8444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,049 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 838 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Hotel is hard to get to by car. The park garage is around the corner, but 'you can't get there from here.' Hotel is nice, but rooms are tiny. Staff gave outstanding recommendations for restaurants. We were very pleased with each we tried. I would definitely stay at the Carmen again. Only complaint was heat/air conditioning. On the first night, we used A/C. Second day, on our return from a day trip, heat was unbearable. The A/C had been shut off and heat turned on. Our chocolate turned to liquid from the heat. No one bothered to tell us of the change over.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

During a trip to Spain, this was probably the nicest place we stayed at, especially for the price. The room was bright and clean, the staff was incredibly nice and helpful, and I thought the breakfast was great (a selection of fresh baked breads/pastries, coffee and juice) and I didn't mind that we had to walk next door. We parked in a free lot about a 4 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel has a modern, contemporary feel and was was located close to the beach. If I ever have to go to Roses again, I'd stay there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnergirl209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

What a delightfull small hotel. Brand new this season and no expenses spared,
We took a superior room which gave us acces to a large private terrace with 2 sun loungers and 2 wicker arm chairs. The views are not good, but is a short walk (2 mins) to the promenade so that is unimportant. Flffy towels, bathrobes and slipper for each guest. The beds were very large and the linen top quality. It is also extremely quiet. The staff are really friendly and helpful. and for the price it would be hard to beat.
Breakfast had to be taken next door as their dinning room is not yet functioning, but it is complimentary and very adequate.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldwaterdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We liked the hotel, it is clean and modern with contemporary design. It also appears to be well-maintained. If coming by car, be prepared to navigate a very narrow street where it is located and be fast when taking your luggage out of the car for you risk blocking passage otherwise. We parked our car for free in front of the old fortress some 200 m away.

The hotel is on the second line but there is a beeline to the beach which is extremely convenient. There is little noise in the room so we slept undisturbed. However, rooms are extremely small (see my pictures) which may be a problem if staying for longer than a few days.

The only problem was the breakfast (included in the room rate). It is served in the next-door two-star hotel. I have yet to see such a poor selection of ham and cheese of such inferior quality. Orange juice did not taste like orange but rather like some chemical stuff and coffee was plain disgusting. It is a shame because it spoils the otherwise good impression of the Carmen hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmenroses, Director General at Carmen Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear travellers, let me use this comment and the issues pointed out in it as an opportunity to add some information about Hotel Carmen

Hotel Carmen just opened its doors in April 2010, however its breakfast salon will not be ready until November 2010. For this reason rooms are being sold online generally without breakfast in the rate, however some websites do not offer the flexibility to take away breakfast. We have therefore arranged a free breakfast in a garden terrace next door, choosen for its setting and the close location (10 meters). The quality is maybe not according to the standards we will deliver to our guests in the coming future but it seemed the best option at the time. From here we apologize if some guests have been disappointed because of this confusion.

Concerning the room size, Family Suites, Junior Suites and Superior rooms are all very spacious rooms, however within our Comfort category we have rooms ranging from 15 to 20 sqm. One of our main standard when assigning these rooms is to offer the larger rooms within the reserved category to guests staying longer and viceversa.

I hope you find the information helpful, best regards from Roses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
1.8 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#13 of 36 in Roses
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prestige Coral Platja
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terraza
Hotel Terraza
#6 of 36 in Roses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmen Hotel

Property: Carmen Hotel
Address: Trinitat 41, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Roses
#3 Family Hotel in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Carmen is a tribute to Carmen & Josep, who first started welcoming travellers in their humble home in the early 1950's. The three buildings that make up the property have been recently refurbished and turned into a contemporary mediterranean hotel with a peaceful and delicate design that evoques those times. The house is located in the center of town among locals and their daily lives, and just 50m from the beach and Roses' magnificent sunset promenade. There are various rooms types available for guests, ranging from large rooms with balconies and terrasses, to smaller ones with windows. What all rooms have in common are great ergonomic mattresses & pillows, WiFi, a laptop sized safe, minibar, satelite TV, plus l'Occitane amenities and a haidryer in the bathroom. All rounded up with a nice breakfast with plenty of local products and freshly made coffee. For travellers arriving by car a garage is available as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmen Hotel Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing