We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room, nice breakfast and good service”
Review of Hotel Montmar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montmar
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Basic room, nice breakfast and good service”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

I found the room a bit basic-I would have appreciated a reading lamp. The breakfast was very good and so was the service. There is no parking in the hotel but it is possible to park nearby. Next to a nice market.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    88
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
111
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Basic clean comfortable and friendly hotel. It is not far from the beach. Breakfast was wonderful. Wifi is free in the hotel and there is internet facility. The staff have reasonable english and are most helpful in every way. I like the art in the rooms.
We will definately stay again if we are in Roses. It probably is the best value hotel in lovely Roses.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Great choice for our week at Roses. We got room 401 with a nice terrace and perfectly insonorizate. Wonderful hospitality, great staff. Just pay more attention to the room cleaning.
Special note to Katia that gave us amazing lunch time at the hotel restaurant (la ferrada).absolute to try salad with goat cheese!
About sea place we found a paradise: put on your gps "Colera" then when you arrive in Llanca stop long the way when you see the sign "terme di Colera", park your car just where is this indication and go down at the beach. Wow!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davideg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The rooms were clean, staff was friendly, had lovely balconies and breakfast was excellent. This hotel is not on the beach, but it's not too far to walk. The "art" in the room was a bit eclectic, framed fantasy jigsaw puzzles, but I liked it. This has got to be one of the best values in Roses.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days with my class as we went to Roses on a trip to learn Spanish.
The rooms are clean and friendly (although unfortunately a few do only have a window onto a small courtyaard, not onto the street). The staff was very friendly and did everything they could to make us feel at home. We had full board and the food was nice and there was plenty of it. And even so they kept asking if we wanted more. There is a supermarket straight across the road which is practical and it's only a 5 minute walk to the beach. YOu really get good service for the money you pay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We used this Hotel as a stopover from our holiday home in France to Girona airport. It was closer than I expected to the beach and promenade which was great. Room basic and clean even toiletries in the bathroom. Plenty of free parking. We left before breakfast but the receptionist very kindly made us fresh coffee. You get exacty what you pay for and as a stopover is ideal as very central for eating out or self catering as supermarket opposite

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank odit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.8 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#11 of 36 in Roses
382 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Park and Hotel Mediterraneo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#5 of 36 in Roses
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carmen Hotel
Carmen Hotel
#3 of 36 in Roses
330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ciutadella
Hotel Ciutadella
#12 of 36 in Roses
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montmar

Property: Hotel Montmar
Address: Carretera Mas Oliva 14, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Roses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montmar 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 5 minutes walk from the beach. The family-run Hotel Montmar is located near the centre of Roses, just 300 m from the beach. Its rooms have air-conditioning and plasma-screen TVs. Hotel Montmar’s rooms are decorated with tiled floors. Most have their own balcony and all have a private bathroom. The Montmar’s restaurant serves breakfast prepared with local produce. The surrounding area is popular for trekking and mountain biking. Set on the Costa Brava, Roses is close to Cap de Creus National Park. The seaside town of Cadaqués is just 16 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Montmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montmar Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing