We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catalan Holidays are the best”
Review of Univers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Univers Hotel
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week in from 29th June 2013.
Very pleasant hotel with all the basic needs you would expect from a Spanish 3 star hotel.
Breakfast was ok. Fair choice to cater for most tastes. Evening meal was ok too. About what I expect from a hotel like this.
Rooms are good but make sure you take a travel kettle and hairdryer.
No bath, only a shower in my room but again that is ok with me.
Bar area good. Inside and outside space to sit and have a drink. Views over the marina is nice.
Pool area very good. Always sunbeds free which is very important to me.
As this is a Half Board hotel you do not get all the bed snatchers out at 8:00am as you do in the All-Inclusive hotels!
A large beer is 3 Euros and a glass if White Wine is 1.5 Euros which is fair.
5 min walk to the town area and promenade which is bustling with people in the evenings so hotel is in a great location just outside the main part of the resort. Best of both worlds here.
I would highly recommend this hotel and Roses as a place to go on holiday.

As for Roses itself, a great many Catalan and French tourists come here and that makes it even better. Not used to English tourists here and raises an eyebrow and a smile when they hear you speak. Great fun trying to talk to each other.
Well worth taking the boat trip to Cadaques. Very good trip. The Roses express is also a good ride. Take the 1 hour trip up the hill and see the spectacular views over the bay with the Pyrenees is the distance.
We enjoyed it all so much we are looking to come back to Roses and The Univers Hotel next year.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view. However, better to ask for a room not overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MattBNorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Univers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 329 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one week. Changed room to harbour view which is much better and a bit more luxury.the hotel is old but fairly maintained. Beds are acceptable and the A/C works Breakfast is a buffet and the scrambled eggs are overdone at 10 am. Pool area is ok and no problems finding a shady place. All by all a fair place for a fair price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel offers real value for money. Our room was clean although a little cramped due the single bed along side the double. We had a balcony with afternoon sun, a very acceptable bathroom and a modern TV and wifi in the room. No fridge or hairdryer, but this was not a worry for us. The location right opposite the harbour is ideal and free parking just across the road by the petrol station. Hotel pool also got the thumbs up.

The only down side was that we had booked half board and the dining room was very chaotic and noisy. Buffet food was however, of a good standard, but peaceful it was not.
Breakfast, (we arrived early) was also surprisingly good with plenty of choice and good coffee.

Room Tip: It might be tempting to ask for a room at the front, but I suspect this could be noisy from the even...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

To start positive: the bed was good. Also a good bathroom, although they could place the toilet in a better place, than exactly behind the door.
It's an old hotel. One lift only goes down when there are enough people inside (very strange?).
Cleanliness: you can find everywhere you look hair of people on the ground (and also of dogs, because that is a very normal thing, to take your dog with you in the room, not my thing...). So wear something on your feet.
Another positive point: Close to the little centre of the village and the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nl_blub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Booked this hotel for a night in Spain while on holiday with family in France.
booked it on bookings.com after reading some of the reviews on here thought we had made a big mistake.
I dont undestand what some of the reviewers are expecting from Spanish Hotels the hotel was clean the staff friendly and helpful we booked half board the evening buffet was good with something for everyone and the breakfast was superb with every option you could imagine and some you cant .

The enertainment aroud the bar although not our style(Spanish line dancing) was fun.

Well done Univers good value for money

Dave and Linda King

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RAFERDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived here at 11:45pm and we were lucky to have rooms! The rooms were very clean.
After sleeping in a tent or at a hostal for the past 8 night, I enjoyed this hotel room a lot: comfy bed, great shower, and wonderful breakfast buffet with fresh fruit,, bacon, egg, fresh bread,...
We left to early to enjoy the pool, but it looked nice (not very big).
I think it was a good value: €52 per person.
(or maybe we didn't had very high standards after sleeping in a tent)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We didn't prebook a hotel and arrived in Roses around 5 pm on a long weekend (no one told us about this Catalan holiday) and so we ran out of options. Yes, they had some rooms left. From the road, it didn't look too bad but inside was another story. Dated is one word to describe it. Even the lobby felt like we were in some sort of time warp but the rotary phone in our room nailed it. Yes, we were in the 1970's. The beds were probably the originals as well, judging by their inwards curves. We upgraded to a Room with an Ocean View on the 2nd floor since the only other room was a dark broom closet over the parking lot.

Breakfast was included and for an extra 8 Euros each we could have a dinner buffet. We were tired so we opted for the buffet. OMG that was the worst food we have ever eaten. Even the house wine hit the bottom of the barrel. Most of the food was unrecognizable and what seemed obvious was bland. This worried us as we had breakfast included and yes it lived up to the level of dinner buffet - awful!!!

The floors are dirty in the room. The bathroom, although it was clean, was slippery and the safe was a key type....hmmm, haven't seen that in awhile either. We ran out of toilet paper so I decided to snag some from the lobby (didn't think a call to reception would help). All the hallway lights were on a sensor and there was this weird feeling walking along the pitch-dark corridor as each flourescent light would come on as I passed by as if I was in a sci-fi flick. I can't say I felt safe in the hallways and this hotel is a maze.

They do have a nice pool and we enjoyed dancing in the bar (which was near our balcony and we couldn't go to bed until the bar shut down around 1 pm. The hotel did have parking in an empty lot in the back although getting there was rather bizarre (hey it was free).

Looking for a room in Roses? Look for something else and prebook or else you will meet our same fate.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#29 of 37 in Roses
286 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
400 reviews
1.7 mi away
Prestige Sant Marc Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Prestige Goya Park
Prestige Goya Park
#16 of 37 in Roses
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
471 reviews
1.6 mi away
Prestige Victoria Hotel & Spa Elit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Univers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Univers Hotel

Address: Avinguda de Rhode 281, 1, 17480 Roses, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Roses
Price Range: $65 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Univers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Univers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Univers Hotel Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing