We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic View But Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Novel Risech
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Roses
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Hostal Novel Risech is perfectly located to explore the Gulf of Roses and the heart of Roses, Spain. We took the sea view room but with tradeoffs. The view was beautiful but the street noise was bothersome, however, we were there to see the sea so kept our room rather than move to an interior room. The room and bathroom were clean with limited amenities. Bed pillows a little hard for my taste but that's personal preference. The staff at check in and throughout the stay were very pleasant. The Internet worked great. Also we enjoyed the breakfast -- Not lavish but ok. There is surface parking across the street. There are many hotel options in the area but, as a last minute stop, for us the Risech was alright for a night or two.

Room Tip: If you can handle the street noise, take the sea view room. The view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jordicusi1982, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostal Novel Risech, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

We welcome your input, hopefully if you return to the area of Roses, visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 179 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

stayed 3 nights and loved it. The room was fine and its view was excellent. Booking in advance helped me to get a great value. The location was great. Staying in a hotel which was by the seaside, having the sea view and catching a great deal created a perfect combination. The large breakfast room with the sea view was lovely, as well.

Room Tip: ask for specific rooms with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RukenZilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I booked 3 nights through a lastminute offers website since I planned holidays in Costa brava only few days before - and it was mid August. Once there I understood immediately why they still had many rooms left. No AC, no view (literally..first room they gave me it was on ground floor with a window overlooking the "patio interior") with a terrible smell of humidity and a veeery small bathroom. After complaining - my friend suffered from claustrofobia there! - they gave us an alternative room, third floor, internal view but less claustrofobic, with an acceptable bathroom. We couldn't sleep, none of the 3 nights. Noise from the other rooms (TV, talks, bathrooms) was too loud even wearing earplugs. BUT it was clean, I have to say.
Breakfast in the morning was bad. Bad coffee, terrible juice, poor choice in general. It is a pity that the beautiful patio outside was always so packed and smoking was allowed...there's nothing worst than having breakfast with a bunch of smokers around you!
Definitively a place where I will not come back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gamberett0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Risech for a night and was the worst night i ever had in a hotel.
Had an interior room with thin walls and could hear every little noise from the other rooms.
One of the guest was screaming with his girlfriend/wife all night, so at 5 am I couldnt stand it anymore and had to go down to reception to complain. Of course the behaviour of the people is not down to the hotel, but if your walls are a bit thicker it might help.
The quality of the bed was also far from ideal. The mattress needs changing, you could feel and hear the springs all night.
Although from the street the exterior would suggest that the hotel is nice and modern, the room is definietly in need of a bit of refurbishment.
Reception was nice and helpful also at checkin and when complained about the screaming guest.
Had breakfast included in the room rate, which was ok, the usual buffet breakfast with, pastries, cold meat, fruit, cereals etc.
Right in front of the hotel there is a big parking, though its not free. payed 13 euros for 24hrs parking.
Location is good, first line of the beach and close to restaurants and bars.
Overall an average hotel, but because i have not slept at all, i was very disappointed.

Room Tip: exterior rooms are bigger and a bit more isolated from other rooms. Might have street noise though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Great location.... huge differences in rooms- stayed in an 'interior' room first night- very bad air, stuffy, could hear the flushing of other guests toilets, them coughing etc.... got a fabulous room on the second night- lovely sea view, bath and bigger room. Breakfast buffet style and quite good.....
if you get a voucher for 10 discount for restaurant make sure they take it off the bill.
Also may have been a v genuine error but was double charged for the room on my credit card... probably genuine mistake as we changed rooms and had to pay extra money but I would not have known about it unless I checked my credit card statement!

Room Tip: don't get an interior room,,, sea view and balcony is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

With the boyfriend we always like to travel to the south of France or North of Spain, so this time we went Empuriabrava and Roses, in north Spain. While in Roses we saw various hotels and selected this one. The resepcionist was very kind and even let us take a look at the room before deciding to book it. The room was clean and had lots of space. The views were great, just beside the beach, although there was quite a noise from the passing cars.
: It would be great if the room had blankets as it was kind of cold at night. There was no hairdryer and the heating was central. Really sunny in the morning, there was also a small balcony which was very romantic. We payed 65 euros, breakfast included. The breakfast was bufé, from 8 to 10, it was great.The place´s tourists are predominently German and French people, as in al the areas around.
Behind and besides the hotel you have the restaurants area.
I fully recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.
Also all Costa Brava if you have a car is wonderful to visit.
We didn´t ask for internet access so I can´t tell anything about that.
Really not a hostal, but a hotel!
Feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mariafiord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die Zimmer Richtung Meer scheinen besser zu sein, kosten aber 20€ mehr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Germane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Roses hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ramblamar
Hotel Ramblamar
#23 of 37 in Roses
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prestige Hotel Mar y Sol Elit
0.4 mi away
Hotel Montmar
Hotel Montmar
#12 of 37 in Roses
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina
Hotel Marina
#4 of 37 in Roses
351 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#10 of 37 in Roses
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Prestige Coral Platja
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Novel Risech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Novel Risech

Address: Avenida de Rhode, 185, 17480 Roses, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Roses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Roses
Price Range: $60 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostal Novel Risech 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Risech Hotel offers an unbeatable location in the center of town, opposite the seafront promenade and the beach. Has a great restaurant completely renovated in 2010, of careful and known Mediterranean cooking with outdoor terrace. Private dining room for parties or family gatherings. All halls are equipped with air conditioned. The rooms, mostly overlooking the bay are fully equipped, Family management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Novel Risech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Novel Risech Roses, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing