We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem!”
Review of Hoposa Niu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hoposa Niu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little Gem!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed in the past in the Cala San Vincente Hotel which was beautiful - but this was perfect! Yes, it's far more basic but the view is just fabulous and watching the sun go down with an inexpensive glass of wine on the terrace is just lovely! Location is unbeatable. Do ask for a upstairs room with balcony - we had 114 - supposed to be the best room we were told on check in - massive room, great views.
Breakfast excellent, lots of choice. A few bars and restaurants around - great for a quiet few days!!

Room Tip: Do ask for a upstairs room with balcony - we had 114 - supposed to be the best room we were told on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jude t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    69
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
36
185
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Do not accept room 04, it only has a very thin wall between it & reception, the bed head is up against it. Romance is thing of the past in this room! The A/C is good but smells a little on first start up, a little maintenance, cleaning the filters would sort it.
The bathroom is very small 3/4 bath, shower runs hot & cold during shower. The room is very, very clean, yes a little TLC, but spotless. Try to book a sea view second floor room.
The noise is terrible from other guests & staff at the reception, until at least 11pm because of the tiled floors & open plan. The very small terrace outside the room is right beside the main hotel entrance so not really usable unless you like being in a goldfish bowl.
Ok now the good stuff, wonderful staff in their own helpful ways, the breakfast is as good as any
Parador hotel we stayed in. The seating areas/outside eating areas, are on 3 levels all with good views of the bay/cove.
Average age for this hotel 50+. Many steps down to the wonderful beach area.
The beach has sunshade umbrellas with 2 sun beds attached literally by a chain, so you don't
move them to the sea edge. €12 per day. The beach is a little Stoney with sharp bits of rock. Likewise the sea bed is very rocky & sharp, rubber shoes or old sandals need to be worn, €12 in the local shop. The beach has lots of families with young children enjoying the area.
The local area has no night life or bars, hotel life only & 3 restaurants
2 supermarkets are on the main road, 3 mins from hotel.
Would we stay here again the jury still out?
A good walk to Porto Pollenca over the small mountain is recommended, good trainers or strong sandals required, it is about 1 hour to 1-15 walk, the route is good to start with but as you walk down the the other side it gets quite difficult, with the need for slow steps. If you think you are lost look at the rocks below your feet & if they are smooth you are ok. At the very end you hit a proper road which is the end of your walk but make sure you turn RIGHT.
Taxis back is recommended, on the sea from is a taxis rank, € 12 back.
12€ seems to be the favourite number.

Room Tip: Second floor sea view, over restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigbox C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

An absolute gem of a find, hotel could not have been any better !
Helpful friendly staff , great room , great view, awesome breakfast outside on the terrece overlooking the sea , would highly recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wozandmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have just come back from a week in Niu hotel and we had a wonderful time. We had room four, which is on the ground floor and had a balcony. The room was a reasonable size with a small bathroom. It was great to have the balcony and the view was fantastic. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the evening waiters. We ate at the hotel on three evenings and the food was exceptional and well priced. It was a few euros more than other restaurants but we certainly got what we paid for as it was delicious. I would have been happy to eat there every night. The resort is beautiful. It is quite quiet, which is just what we were looking for. I really hope we will return another year as this was the best holiday I've had for a long time. Thanks to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Niu Hotel and we had a fantastic time! We were very fortunate to be given a room with a sea view, despite not paying extra for it, and it was lovely to have a balcony with a sea view. Unless you pay for it though the room allocation is pot luck. We just happened to be lucky. The room itself was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and I slept like a log! We were lucky to have no problems with noise due to very quiet neighbours. The staff at the hotel were incredibly friendly and helpful. The breakfast with a view was great.
The location itself was just what I'd hoped. There were enough places to eat at in the evenings, a lovely beach and good snorkelling. It is an absolutely stunning location. We ate and then wandered around enjoying the views most evenings. You can walk to Port De Pollenca (around 45mins) and this is a lovely walk through the mountains (although it was hard to find the path!).
I'd recommend doing a cliff walk if you have a decent map, a day in Palma, the train to Soller, and Pollenca.

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a view, but totally pot luck unless you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gershwin087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

What a find! Booked on impulse as it sounded ideal for our requirements. This hotel more than exceeded our expectations. Beautiful location, idilic setting. The room had a fantastic view over the cove, a very comfy bed, brilliant air con and kept spotlessly clean all week. Ate in the restaurant on arrival, again, a fantastic setting and found the food so good that we ate their every night. The seafood being a speciality. The most praise though must go to the staff, both hotel and restaurant, who were extremely helpful and friendly. In fact we have now got several new friends for Christmas card list!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeandDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Niu hotel, set in Cala St Vincente, Majorca is a really lovely wee hotel. I would describe it as quaint. The setting in a beautiful bay is gorgeous, the hotel is practically set on the beach. Rooms are small as are the bathrooms but immaculately kept. Lighting in our room was not good, to enable us read at night we had to leave the bathroom door open with the bathroom light on.
Breakfast was good, lots of fruit, yoghurts, meats, pastries and bread.
We ate at the hotel on the last night of our holiday, food was beautiful though a bit more expensive than other places we'd eaten at during the week.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
The area is very quiet but it is easy to get a bus or taxi to puerto de pollenca which is bigger with more restaurants and worth a visit. We walked over the mountains to it one evening which is a lovely walk, bring trainers, it is rocky.

All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rory01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala San Vincente
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
#1 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Molins
Grupotel Molins
#2 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Globales Simar
Globales Simar
#5 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Don Pedro
SENTIDO Don Pedro
#4 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Niu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Niu Hotel

Property: Hoposa Niu Hotel
Address: Calle Cala Barques 5, 07469 Cala San Vincente, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala San Vincente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cala San Vincente
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala San Vincente
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala San Vincente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Niu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hoposa Niu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niu Hotel Cala San Vincente
Hotel Niu
Hoposa Niu Hotel Majorca/Cala San Vincente, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing