We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Hoposa Niu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hoposa Niu Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A really lovely stylish small hotel overlooking sandy beach at Cala St Vicente. Super restaurant and outstanding breakfast with wide selection of fruit, fresh pastries, cold meats and cheeses and a daily replenished Majorcan table - a must!
The room was comfortable and the organic shower gel and shampoo nice touches.
Staff and waiters really friendly and attentive.
The only downside was the night time noise mentioned by others. We stayed in annexe to main hotel and what I think was an industrial washing/machine or dryer in the garage beneath was churning away all night.
However all in all thoroughly recommend. Good centre for walking and trips to other places such as the gorgeous mountain village of Pollenca with its upmarket craft shops and galleries, the glorious monastery at Lluc and Palma - all easily reachable by cheap and frequent local buses.

Room Tip: Ask to be in main hotel - with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatsyPendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    73
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
37
196
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is stunning!!!! I was on a bed & breakfast basis and again was outstanding - when the guys saw I was a solo lady even got my own table!!!! Would say if you are a light sleeper ear plugs would be a good idea - not exactly soundproofed rooms..... One problem.....not exactly a lot of English guests in the hotel or the area in general but hey ho the Grater Nation have to be taken as they come.......

Room Tip: I asked for a sea view and it was brilliant....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy49282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for one week at the beginning of October and were delighted with our choice. We were lucky to have a sea view room with a balcony on the first floor and this really did make it perfect for us. This was requested but not guaranteed as part of our booking. However, several months prior to our holiday we e-mailed the hotel direct to put in our request and were delighted that they were able to accomodate this. We so enjoyed staying here. A stunning location. The staff were delightful, so helpful, polite and friendly. The breakfast spread was superb and apart from one day when we were storm watching the amazing waves from the safety of the restaurant, we enjoyed our leisurely breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay as the sun rose up over the mountains. Sheer bliss! We also enjoyed a light lunch and several evening meals during our stay, all beautifully served and very reasonably priced. Our room was simply furnished, spotlessly clean, with air conditioning, a small fridge/mini bar and a very, very comfortable bed. Cala San Vincente is a quiet, small resort with a selection of restaurants within easy walking distance. There is a regular bus service to the busier resorts of Porta Pollensa and further afield. A walk through the mountains to Porta Pollensa is a must and there are several reasonably easy walks in the area with some wonderful views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B1cycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOPOSAND, Gerente at Hoposa Niu Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are grateful for your preference and for sharing your good comments.
We will always be at your disposal and we hope to see you soon in this wonderful Hoposa Niu Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked one week in October which we discovered was a good decision, as the resort was quiet. There are other larger hotels nearby but one had already closed for the season and the other was only half full. No school holidays, so no children. We received a warm welcome and enjoyed a cocktail and delicious meal on the terrace overlooking the beach - what a wonderful welcome after the rigours of air travel. Our room overlooked the terrace and sea beyond which was a bonus, but we discovered it was directly over the dining room, so was a little noisy early morning with we assume, furniture moving for cleaning. We missed tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but I suspect that is a nationwide problem for us Brits? The air conditioning worked well, the bed was huge and comfortable. The room/bathroom was spotless, airy and very comfortable. After a quick word with reception (always helpful) the TV was tuned to BBC1 and E4. Breakfast was ample with just about everything we could have wished for - all beautifully presented. Especially nice not to have to rush downstairs for early breakfast - it was available up until 10.30 ish. Dinner menu was delicious, served by friendly waiters and again the location of the terrace dining room overlooking the beach was stunning. Being aware of the possibilities of problems with rooms away from the front of the hotel from other reviewers I would recommend going for seaview rooms and no less, as these are obviously a huge advantage.

Room Tip: Seaview only - all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSHRoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Location is everything, and this hotel has it! A small hotel, right on the beach at Cala San Vincente. Very comprehensive buffet breakfast, enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the beach. Evening meals at the hotel were decent value, and made special by dining on the terrace overlooking the beach while the sun goes down.
Our room was small, and simply furnished. No view - just the alleyway behind the hotel - but the sea-view rooms were full when we'd booked, so that was understood - and in any case we didn't spend any time in the room as it was so lovely outside.
It was hot outside - and thankfully the air conditioning worked just fine.
There's no parking at the hotel, so if you've hired a car you need to park on one of the nearby streets - but this was at most 5 minutes walk away, so no problem.
In summary - a small, quiet, pleasant hotel in a very lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel has a stunning beach-side location at the end of a pretty bay with great sandy beach and good snorkelling. The outdoor part of the restaurant has terraced views down across the beach and the food is excellent. Unfortunately, many of the rooms seem to be below standard and we saw many people complaining and asking to be moved. Only a few rooms (upper floor at the front) have lovely balconies and sea views, but we were put in a tiny, cramped and dingy semi-basement on the road side of the building which was clearly a converted store-room. Being below ground level all the rooms were damp with wet patches and even the wooden wardrobe frame was starting to rot. The window was right next to the road at hub-cap height, and every morning we were woken at 6am by delivery trucks or refuse lorries turning and banging around. The room smelt musty and the bathroom fittings were old and shabby. We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full. As everything else about the hotel was great we decided to stick it out for our four nights, but would only go back if we were promised one of the decent upper floor rooms at the front. Such a shame, but surprisingly it didn't outweigh the positives.

Room Tip: Insist on upper floor rooms at the front with balconies and views. All others are likely to be sub-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked a ten day at Niu, arrived 1pm ,unable to park car anywhere near hotel, my husband had to stay in the car as unable to park, i went to check in which was exhausting as there was a large amount of steps leading down to hotel and then flight of stairs up to reception, i was very unhappy about this as nothing was documented about this in any reviews i read before booking this, my husband does suffer with knee problems i knew he would be unable to stay here for ten days. I went to check in, i was given the keys to room which i was also unhappy with, very smelly!!!!! reported back to reception said we cant stay here, staff very unhelpfull!!!! the key was taken away from us, we were stranded!!!! . Our holiday was from tues 11th sept. to 21st sept ,unfortunately we were unable to find accommadation for the duration of our holiday , so home on the 15th sept.so the motto is dont book hereif steps and stairs are not your thing!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOPOSAND, Gerente at Hoposa Niu Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about your inconveniences. At Niu we don’t have or offer parking facilities, the hotel is located on a small cliff in Cala San Vicent as documented in our website. We recommend travelers not to hesitate to let us know in advance when having a special request, this is always helpful and allow us to know and fulfill your expectations. It is very unfortunate that you did not have a great time while vacationing, we apologize for the inconvenience. Thanks for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala San Vincente
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Molins
Grupotel Molins
#2 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
#3 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
379 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#2 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,103 reviews
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Don Pedro
SENTIDO Don Pedro
#4 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
1,704 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Moraleja Hotel
La Moraleja Hotel
#6 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoposa Niu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoposa Niu Hotel

Property: Hoposa Niu Hotel
Address: Calle Cala Barques 5, 07469 Cala San Vincente, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala San Vincente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cala San Vincente
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cala San Vincente
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cala San Vincente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoposa Niu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hoposa Niu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niu Hotel Cala San Vincente
Hotel Niu
Hoposa Niu Hotel Majorca/Cala San Vincente, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing