We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise”
Review of SENTIDO Don Pedro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Don Pedro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2010

just returned from a fabulouse 10 ten day stay at theabove hotel, weather flight and hotel perfect, hotel is great staff cant do enough for you very friendly and polite, hotel is spotless and well kept, food drink no problems something for everyone even my fussy husband, never had to eat out plenty of choice and good quality food, met some lovely friendly people who made our holiday, wish we had booked for longer, the views and scenery around the hotel are breath taking, and although there isnt a lot around the hotel plenty of busses to get you around the island please dont belive some of the reviews about the hotel we have stayed in 5* hotels and havent had such good service, we will definetly go back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sussiemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,472 - 1,478 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2010

I have just returned from a 3 night break with my boyfriend at the Don Pedro Hotel we booked it through Direct Holidays and will not be returning. I was very disappointed with this hotel, the reviews I read made it seems great but then I realised the review must have been off the older generation that go year after year after year!. I didn’t feel it was suitable for families. Even before we arrived at the hotel I was unsure if we had chosen the right hotel and was a little gutted about all the other lovely hotel we saw on our very long transfer!.

When we got on the coach to the hotel the uninformative rep told us we was going to get dropped off first which seemed a great start to the holiday that was short lived. She then said that they usually do drop people off at the Don Pedro first. However we was going to be dropped off last, on the journey down the rep didn’t provided us with any information about the surrounding areas which others company’s I have travelled with do. All she had to say was the name of each hotel when we got there....Hour and half later we arrived that was the longest transfer I have even had to endure!! .

We checked in quickly the receptionist wasn’t very helpful didn’t give us much info about what dinning option are available etc. Our room was gr8 I did e-mail the hotel before we arrived and requested a sea view which we got , we where that close to the sea I could hear it that was the only best part of the hotel. However on our first night one of the beds was covered in Ants.

The food was so limited!! and the hotel the bar was always busy. There is nothing to do around the hotel entertainment consisted of a cheesy 2 piece act and Bingo!!!... there are three shops and a Irish bar that’s your lot.

Me and my other half got the bus most places to escape the moral off the hotel!! We went to the Port Pollencia and the old town for the market on a Sunday 1.10 Euros both ways. We did meet other couples who felt the same!..

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lurv2sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Still one of the best value for money hotels on the island. The view is fantastic, the meals excellent and the staff always friendly and helpful. We have been seven times now so this speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 72theduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We went to the Hotel Don Pedro the end of August. Our party consisted of me, my husband, our 16 year old son, our eldest son 22, his girlfriend and my parents.
When we arrived we were pleased with the Hotel, the views were spectacular and it’s set in a lovely peaceful location. The staff are really helpful, the hotel was clean and we always found something to eat. The food was hot and the drinks plentiful. The entertainment was good too, rifle shooting, archery etc as well as the normal night-time shows. We really had no complaints and would have easily booked to return.

The reason for my review is to bring to your attention how rough the sea can be. We were amazed when it first started and took some beautiful pictures of the waves crashing against the rocks and cliffs, the sea seemed so angry, yet everyone was drawn to it, having their photos taken against the backdrop.
My son and his girlfriend went off for a walk. There is a platform with steps leading down to it, as you follow the road around to the shops, it must be a good 20ft plus above sea level. A few days before people had been sun bathing on there and jumping in to the sea, when it was calm, we were watching from the hotel.
They stopped to take photos and a freak wave came straight over, knocking them into the sea. Thank god they got out, thanks to a miracle and my husband. It was an absolute nightmare, but again all the staff was wonderful, reception, waiters, entertainment team etc, they couldn’t do enough for us and supported the whole of my family through all this. They passed messages to the rest of my family from the hospital, made changes to the room, dining room etc to allow for the wheelchair.
My son said that the platform was completely dry when they stopped to take their picture; there was no reason to think there was any danger. The police taped the access after this happened but two days later there were people doing exactly the same .A lifeguard said the platforms are for green flags, not red. I completely understand this but the only flags we saw were on the beach, there is no warning by these platforms and no reason to think that there is a danger of the waves reaching such a height.

I don’t blame the hotel in any way for this: I just wanted to bring it to people’s attention to stop other families going through the same ordeal.

To all those who were there: Thank you so much for your help, care and concern. They are both now doing well, and are trying to move on, the good thing to come out of it all is they are now happily engaged and boy, did we celebrate!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjatbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Just as it says in the title i was initially impressed by the hotel, the size of the room we recieved and the location, right on the sea front, was just what i wanted.
Diego and Mar were fantastic holiday style entertainers and between them organised the daily activities and evening entertainment for those who wished to get involved.

However we chose this hotel because people were raving about how good the food was.
Well we were surprised therefore to find that the buffet style meals were very rarely above just warm and i found the meat dishes all tasted the same as each other. My girlfriend says that the salads had a disinfectant aftertaste and everything was cooked from mass produced prepackaged packs.
Paella ( Spains national dish) and other rice & pasta dishes tasted ok but the rice and pasta were undercooked. if a hotel in spain cannot even get its own national dish right what chance does it have with other food.
Snacks consisted of a counter with a choice of 2-3 meats, cheese, lettuce and tomato with a basket of bread rolls. During the day and early evening there were also burgers, hot dog sausages, chips and pizza.
The problem with this was that the bread rolls and cold foods were laying around all day and the cold stuff was not exactly refrigerated properley.
The hot food was covered in metal trays but again did not keep the food hot..
There is no way any of this food was being served at legal temperatures and i'm surprised no body has been hit with any food bug problems.
Vegetarians would also get a shock when they see meat in just about every vegetarian dish on offer for them........

The second main problem with the hotel and the whole resort, small as it is, is that everything closes promptly at midnight and at approx 12:30am all doors are locked and lights turned off and you are encouraged to retire to your rooms.
Talk about enforced bed time.
And if you want to go for a stroll around the resort ( which is also all closed down) you are begrudgingly let out the main entrance and have to knock on the door, to alert the security guard, when you want back in.

*Now the good points

I strongly recommend buying yourself a snorkel & mask and explore the cove ( when the sea is calm) especially if you have not tried this before.
You will see fantastic underwater creatures including a baby and adult Octopusses ( the baby is very friendly and will even wrap a tentacle around your ankle if given half a chance)
Get some bread and throw pieces into the sea and watch the fishes fight over it ( just don't let the staff see you lol )
If you just want to lay around and relax, go for walks and swim and don't mind sub standard food then this is the perfect hotel to go to.

However if you like your swimming just be aware that if the sea gets a little rough it has a worse effect in the cove and makes it unsafe to swim so you may get a few days of Red flags. A pain but better safe than sorry.

I will also just say that we were looking forward to being " terrorised " by the goats and although they did come down(after midnight) they were gorgeous creatures and if anything they were terrorized by people trying to take pictures of them with flash photography.

If anybody from Thomas Cooks reads this please note that Darren - your rep for this hotel was a star and kept a smile about him despite the numerous complaints he recieved regarding the fact that there was no Free Shuttle bus to other resorts as advertised in the brochure and internet.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Just got back from anther holiday at this hotel. Had a fantastic time, had thought it might not be as good as i had remembered it but it was even though i was on my own but need not of worried as every one is really friendly. I went for a week again but it is not long enough at this hotel and i will defo be going back and so are the people i got friendly with and when you get talking to people the majority have been before more than once, one couple go twice a year they have tried other hotels but never as nice as don pedro, i even saw a couple who were at the hotel last year when i was staying here. If you want a lazy sun holiday this is the hotel to go to, not alot outside the hotel as it is only a little village but the bus is only down the road, i got this to pollensa and did the calvari steps and it only cost 1euro10 and i got a taxi back as the bus goes to palma so you can not get it back till 3.15 but the taxi was only 12 euros. Not many families go to this hotel - only a few with toddlers but you do not notice them. Can not wait to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michelleBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We went at the start of September. The location was fantastic, we had a seaview room and it was lovely. It's great for a totally relaxing holiday but a little isolated from nightlife in the southern part of the Island.

The beach to the side of the hotel was really nice - there were little fish swimming round your feet as you paddled in the sea. There is a little ledge where you could sit in the sun with the sea lapping at your feet which was really nice. With all the drama about jellyfish we were a little apprehensive about going in the sea but didn't see any at all.

The fishing area in front of the hotel - the sea was absolutely swarming with fish of all sizes and if you are there you will no doubt see people fishing. If you take some bread at around dusk you will see the fish actually jump out of the water for the bread.

The entertainment staff were really good especially Diego and they kept us occupied for the duration of our stay. The children's activities were kept separate from adults which gave both sets to be able to join in. The night time entertainment was a mixed bag and was usually better when it was Diego, Mar and Maaria rather than the outside acts they brought in.

We felt the food was rather limited - there was usually a fish dish, a chicken dish, a meat dish and the rest were veggie dishes, salads and desserts. We thought the desserts were rather gloopy and very samey. I found myself mostly eating aubergines and courgettes but after a few days I was wanting something more exciting. The serving staff were always very welcoming and helpful,

We had a family room and as a couple we felt was very spacious but are aware that the smaller rooms at the back of the hotel weren't as pleasant as ours was. Some of the people stopping there complained about the dustbin lorry during the early hours. We thought the rooms needed some colour - one of the walls was painted yellow and the rest were white and we thought that it would have been more welcoming as a yellow room rather than a white one. The bathroom was a little on the small side but sufficent.
The room was always very clean.

Hmm the cockroaches... It was warm in the second half of our holiday and the heat seemed to bring our the cockroaches, there was one in the dining area which the staff were more than willing to dispose off. On the last morning I opened the balcony to take a picture of the sunrise to later discover that a cockroach had indeed entered our room and we were rather happy to be leaving that day. We decided to vacate the room on discovering the cockroach to find that there was also one in the seating area near reception. We know that a few other people saw some on the beach too and near the bar. We understand that occasionally when it gets hot cockroaches appear but they're still not nice to see. There was a little ant problem too.

Despite the cockroaches we had a great holiday, the weather was perfect - a little hot some days but that's what we were there for. We went down to Magaluf to see the uncut version of Pirates which we would highly recommend.

If you are after a very relaxing hotel or even an activity filled holiday then this would be great for you. I don't think it would be great if you have very small children but the entertainment staff kept them more than happy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_CYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala San Vincente
0.1 mi away
Grupotel Molins
Grupotel Molins
#1 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
Hotel Cala Sant Vicenc
#4 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
408 reviews
0 mi away
Hoposa Niu Hotel
Hoposa Niu Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.3 mi away
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
SENTIDO Cala Vinas
#1 of 2 in Cala Vinyes
2,120 reviews
0 mi away
Globales Simar
Globales Simar
#5 of 8 in Cala San Vincente
401 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Don Pedro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Don Pedro

Address: Calle Cala Clara s/n, 07649 Cala San Vincente, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala San Vincente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cala San Vincente
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cala San Vincente
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cala San Vincente
Price Range: $144 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Don Pedro 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL HAS BEEN REFURBISHED DURING WINTER 2014/2015. ADULTS ONLY HOTEL (+16 YEARS OLD) Privileged sensations next to the sea in Cala San Vicente, on the north of Majorca, is what we can enjoy in this magnificent natural surrounding which combines the majesty of the nearby mountains with the beauty of the white sand and transparent sea waters. SENTIDO Don Pedro is located right on the beach of Cala San Vicente, in the north of Majorca, with unforgettable views over the sea. The 147 rooms of the hotel have balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe (extra charge), mini refridgerator, bath, shower and toilet. The hotel is equipped with 1 adults' pool and offers a varied entertainment program, as well as evening shows. Next to the hotel there are two sandy coves, facilities for a wide range of water sports, cycling and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SENTIDO Don Pedro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Pedro Majorca
Don Pedro Hotel Majorca
Don Pedro Cala San Vincente
Hotel Don Pedro Majorca
SENTIDO Don Pedro Majorca/Cala San Vincente, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing