We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'poo marie'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paul Marie Apartments
Ranked #80 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Me and 11 girls stayed here from 31st July to the 7th of August, and lets just say I was extremely happy to be home after living in conditions that were probably worse than a squat.

We arrived at the hotel to be told that we had to give our passports straight to the reception and we were told by our reps (Beckie who was very rude to us and Stacey who was so lovely) that we would get them back, later on to find out we wouldn't. The reps then rushed us to put our suitcases in our rooms then to meet in an other room for a 'welcome meeting'. It was the opposite of a welcome meeting and more of an 'buy the 18-30's deal otherwise your holiday will be awful', so us being senseless decided to pay for this deal. To be fair, the deal probably worked out to be a lot cheaper than buying everything individually as it did include; numerous pool parties, silent discos, bar crawl where you get t shirts, free entry into various clubs, beach party and boat party. However, there is one night where you go out on your own as a group, so we asked for some free entry cards to Castle Club. Turns out as soon as we spoke to a promoter and showed him our 'free entry cards' that they were actually taxi rank cards which we were given to by our reps saying they were free entry cards. So we paid to get into the club, soon leaving after around an hour as we were being harassed by Cypriot men. Clubs I would advise to go to would be Starskys, River Reggae (after party but i would advise you not to go in the pool it's full of everything and anything resulting in me having to spend the day in hospital the next day for an allergic reaction to their pool), Black and White, Ice and Car Wash. Do not go to Barcode, as an incident occurred when one of the members of our group won a bottle of champagne, and what do you do when you win a bottle of champagne? Shake it up. So she done this and it sprayed everywhere, apparently we had broken the Dj booth and numerous lights from the champagne which was sprayed no where near them, police were called and we weren't allowed to leave, they then gave us a fine that we we had to pay for the 'broken' things. Luckily, the head rep from 18-30's came and sorted it out for us, if it wasn't for him I think one of our friends would have ended up in a cell.

The food at the hotel was the only thing that I enjoyed about staying there. It was cheap for the big portions that they would give you. Food ranged from chicken nuggets and chips to halloumi toasties. The upstairs bar man was lovely, making conversation with you and making sure that you were having a good time.

The rooms were disgusting, however they were spacious. Even though we did pay little for this holiday, I was expecting a little more than what we were given. There were ants everywhere on the floor in our rooms, floors were disgusting and didn't look as if they had been cleaned, shower didn't work so had to shower at the pool showers, or if they were shut wash my hair under the sink, the toilets didn't flush properly so we had a human excrement floating in one of the rooms toilets for a few days, there was mould on some of the cutlery, towels were not changed daily we had to go to reception to ask them to change them but them saying no, a bag that the maids had obviously used to empty the toilets in the bin was left on one of our balcony's bearing in mind that it was full of what we couldn't flush down the toilet.... However, the maids were more than happy to let you back into your room if you forgot your key during the day.

The pool was probably smaller than the rooms that we were given, and you had to fight for your place for a sunbed.

Anyone who didn't stay in the hotel could walk straight in, this can be good for some people and bad for others. Resulting in one night where a 'small fight' occurred outside our room involving a punch.

At the end of our holidays, after being through many tormenting nights staying in our our coach arrived outside and we needed to get our passports back from reception for them to tell us they were not going to give them back because apparently we had broken two chairs out of 2/3 of the rooms. However when we arrived we noticed that we had 3 chairs in each room which we thought was strange, but completely forgot to say anything to anyone. So we asked to be shown the chairs that we had 'apparently' broken, he took us out the back and showed us two chair legs which the chairs looked like they had been attacked by a hammer. We refused to pay the 200 euro fine that they were wanting us to pay and settled with paying 100 euros just so we could get our passports back and we could make our flight come. Also, the guy that was showing this all did get into one of our faces and looked
as if he was about to hit a member of our group.

Overall, the holiday was good minus staying in the hotel. The night life and the people we met were amazing, and the places we went. The hotel itself is set in a prim location with a 5-10 minute walk to the strip, but the walk home is just a little up hill which you cannot tell when you're drunk. I definitely would consider to go back to Ayia Napa but definitely finding an other hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: Away from the pool if you want to go for an afternoon nap, definitely get air con.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Paul Marie Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 121 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here as a group of four girls in July aged between 19 and 22, on a club 18-30 holiday.

We arrived at about half 11 at night and although check in was quick and easy, I was astounded that we had to pay for air conditioning. We paid, however, because it was hot.

We were taken up to our room by the rep, called Danni, and we're then hounded to buy the club
18-30 package deal with club nights, boat party etc. We were really unsure as a group and asked if we could decide between us during the night. The rep said that she'd be far to busy the next day. Despite this, we were practically bullied into it and felt pressured to buy it. So minus the boat party, we paid €210 on our travellers cards, bought from thomas cook. Next day she was sat around in the bar, clearly not busy! This made us really angry. We arrived on the Sunday and didn't get any of our voucher books, tickets etc until the Thursday despite asking everyday!!!

When paying for the club 18-30 package we also discovered that they had taken more money than they said they would. They took it in pounds and converted back into euros when she told us they'd take €210 they actually took €230. We spoke to the manager, who was disappointed that we'd been lied to. They did offer us free boat party tickets which we didn't want. Dani also told us that nights out we're expensive and a drink would cost €10, absolute lies!!!

So, don't be pressured into paying out so much money on your first night.


The room itself was disgusting. Floors were filthy, bathroom was rotten. Our shower didn't work properly and was freezing cold! Yes the maids came in everyday and swept, made the beds, changed the towels. But they needed bleach and disinfectant. Yes they "wash up" but their idea of washing up is a quick rinse and then placing on the filthy draining board. They also took my towels!!!

Our room was also right next to the pool, so was extremely noisy and was a nightmare to get our cases up the stairs.

The pool is far too small and is full of big headed males who think they are gods and are entitled to every single lounger, all 15 of them. It was actually quite intimidating.

The food was decent and cheap. Can't complain about that. The chicken kebabs were the best!

The hotel has wifi. But wifi that can only be used in the bar area, not in rooms. So if you want to FaceTime and have a private conversation. You can't!!

It's on a hill, but this hill is not to bad when you've had a drink.

Personally I would not stay anywhere like this again, they are some much nicer hotels just outside ayia napa, that are a close enough walk into the town, that are clean, all inclusive and much nicer and better value for money. I have never stayed in such a bad hotel.

Although the hotel is bad they're are some lovely things to see and do. Definitely go to protaras, it's lovely. Visit nissi beach, it's beautiful. Taxis are cheap although they drive like maniacs. Example live on the beach was brilliant, but drinks are expensive. The silent disco although fun is restricting, there is no outside area so I ended up having a panic attack because it's so cramped with nowhere to go. There are some lovely local people, although the promoters stood on the streets can be pests. Theft is also prolific amongst young Brits. And some are extremely rude and aggressive when they've got a drink in them. And others were far to young to be there. At 19 I felt old.

All in all, I would not pay anyone to stay in this hotel, or let my dog live there. It's also not featured in the club18-30 brochure for next year. Bit strange! So if you're going to book, book at your own peril!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lau9325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Staying here and its very dirty if u like staying in ummmmm filth this is hotel for u... Friend used a wet wipe on the floor and managed to write clean me in the dirt....! If u come here and stay in room 109 post a pic on here ...! The cleaner came to the room and just took the rubbish that was it, and left our room door unlocked all day! The bathroom was filthy and no drainage in there so we had to use a towel to mop the floor..! I no this hotel wud be basic for 18-30 but u wud think it wud be alot more cleaner!! The air con was 63 euros for week what rip off there is a shop in the town what sells fans and this wud b ideal there was one for 35 euros up near the fair!!! The food in the efi was really nice had to eat and drink in there as our one is closed, have to use there pool as well as ours is closed off!! There is alot of loudness in the evening but its not that bad if u want a quiet room stay in protaras! Toilet is vile too!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dancatt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for a week in August 2013. Was dreading going because I had read ap many bad reviews. But it was a great hotel , very basic , , rooms cleaned every day , safe central location for girls holiday ,

Room Tip: Get air con in the rooms it's well worth the €65 for the week
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was our first girls holiday (3 of us all aged 19). We booked last minute through thomas cook club 18-30 and only payed £220 for one week self catering. We all decided not to read any reviews before we left and arrived with an open mind (expecting the worst).

When we arrived we were the first to be checked in, only took a few minutes and had to leave out passports with reception for our entire stay, don't worry they are completely safe! we were then taken to our room which was so much better than we expected!

The rep was eager to sell us the whole week package but you can decide this amoungst yourselves and let them know what you want to do later. We decided to do the safari (do this as this is your first opportunity to meet everyone and is a cheap quick way to get drunk on your first proper night), example, the boat party and i heart house.

Every Wednestday and Sunday is the 'strip night' but you can obviously go whenever, it was a 5 minute walk from the hotel down a slight hill. Our favourite club was definitely starskys!! And make sure you visit River Reagge as an after pool party, this was the most memorable place of our holiday!

The rooms were basic but what do you expect. They have a fully functioning kitching with a hob, sink and fridge, plates, dishes, cutlery and pans. There are plenty of shops locally with food and bottled water. Make sure you buy plenty of water! The bathroom has a bath/shower, toilet and sink. Not the cleanest but the maids did their best to keep it clean.

The maids came around everyday whilst we were there and changed/made the beds, brushed the floor, changed the bind (you can flush toilet paper but dont let this put you off!!) and even did the washing up!

We were lucky with our stay with the people, some took the noise level to far but tell them to be quite or to turn it down and they will!

This hotel is not what I'm used to when going away with family but for what we needed it was perfect and I would definitely go back here and recommend to anyone going on a cheap girls/lads holiday!

Room Tip: no rooms have a good view but this won't bother you as you won't be spending much time in th...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Never wrote a review before, but felt i had to as none of the other reviews seemed very fair...
let me start by saying there is NO LIFT and we were on the top floor, sort of a struggle after a night out!
Arrivied at the hotel around 11PM, checked in fine, passports were kept behind desk.
Rooms: very spacious, 100% need aircon as the rooms get very warm (aircon is only in bed room area) bathroom very small, shower only runs through 3 holes, so we had baths every night! tap dosent run very well, so brushing your teeth took ages! we had room 213 (right by the pool) and having naps in the day were impossible, as the lift that brough food up to the pool bar echoed through out the room, so try to avoid lol. Music noise and people walking/running past didnt bother as as we knew it was 18-30.
Staff: Staff were all very friendly, all though noone seemed to have a direct job lol, everyone did everything! most mornings we were sevred breakfast by a small child, whos english was really bad :( always got our orders wrong, but we still ate! Staff always made an effort to speak to you, and were very quick to ask ticket sellers to leave the hotel! our Rep was lovely!! Becky. made us feel so welcome, and always said hello if we saw her on a night out!!
Food/Drink: food was AMAZIING! been home for over 2 weeks and still craving the chicken kebabs, so cheap aswell, no more than 8euros for a meal, no need to worry about eating out! also YOU NEED to expierance a paul marie breakfast, so good !!!!! happy hour was 12-18.00 at the pool bar and 18-24.00 in the downstairs bar! Cocktails (2 euros) are good to get the night going, cant say there was much atmosphere at the bar however!
Location: AT THE TOP OF A HILL but after a few drinks its not a bad walk! Strip right at the bottom, this is like a 3 minute walk!


Overall a nice hotel with good location, IGNORE the bad reviews, THIS IS AYIA NAPA; what do you expect !!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just stayed here for a week there were four of us all together (all girls aged 22-25)
When booking the hotel we wanted somewhere close to the strip for nights out and this was perfect as only a few minutes walk away! As it was a 18-30s hotel we were well aware that it wasnt going to be the nicest hotel in the world but we just needed somewhere relatively clean to rest our heads after a load of alcohol! HOWEVER this hotel was the scruffiest hotel any of us have ever stayed in! The floor was black, the walls were covered in stains, the toilet looked like it had never seen bleach! The staff were rude and the one time we had breakfast there we were served by a relative of the owner who was around 8 years old! I must stress that all of us have had plenty of girls holidays to magaluf, malia, ibiza etc n stayed in 18-30s hotels but never experienced such a scruffy hotel! Would not go back here if you paid us!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holreview3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Chrysland Hotel
Chrysland Hotel
#75 of 103 in Ayia Napa
71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
#99 of 103 in Ayia Napa
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
L'eros Hotel
L'eros Hotel
#77 of 103 in Ayia Napa
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Efi Hotel Apts.
Efi Hotel Apts.
#78 of 103 in Ayia Napa
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#52 of 103 in Ayia Napa
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paul Marie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paul Marie Apartments

Address: Demokratias 24, Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range: $32 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paul Marie Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Paul Marie Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paul Marie Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa
Paul Marie Apartments Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing