We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go, dirty and DANGEROUS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paul Marie Apartments
Ranked #91 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“don't go, dirty and DANGEROUS!!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Basically dont go to this hotel. Everyone we spoke to who was staying there was all complaining about the dirt. My personal experience was that me and my friends FIRST room was filthy hairs in bath along with dirty black scum marks lso door was rotting and wouldnt close, floor filthy throughout and crawling with ants asked to be moved but wouldnt until we said we had contacted thomas cook magically there was rooms free.

Second room more of the same hair, dirt and invested with ants but to top and the thing that scared us was the carbon monoxide alarm went off to make things clear we didnt use or touch the gas ( we had smelt something a couple of hours before i assumed this was cleaning products as I MYSELF cleaned the bathroom out!!) . my friend had to go and fetch a member of staff from downstairs who was oblivious and all they did was take the batteries out of the alarm and told us to leve the doors open and left us i thought this was disgusting and we moved hotels AT OUT EXSPENSE, as we didnt feel safe we could have easily lit a cigarette and set fire to place or even fallen asleep and never woken up!!

All in all dont go here DIRTY AND DANGEROUS!!! with staff who just dont care!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kirsty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    18
    11
    27
See reviews for
7
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Arrived at our apartment late evening, Staff was friendly and hotel was basic but clean. Was a great base and close to the resorts anmenities and facilites. Always was able to get a sunbed. There where a few young and lively guest but your in middle of Ayia Napa so you are bound to experice some noise which was of people having a good time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Knew it was basic when we booked we didn't realise just how basic it was.The room wasn't much better than a cell.As for the 'pool' it wasnt cleaned all the time we were there,fag ends,empty bottles and gawd knows what else was floating about.All the young kids staying there came down with ear infections and were poorly-coincidence? The staff were rude,ignorant,and swore! The only person who was nice there was the cleaner she was great and tried her best to keep the rooms clean,she was so lovely I wanted to bring her back with me! The staff turned a blind eye to the goings on and just weren't bothered at all,as long as the drinkers kept on spending their money the staff were happy.Horrible apartments and horrible staff! Wish i had taken notice of the reviews but thought surely it can't be that bad?! IT IS!!! You have been warned!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Issitbedtimeyet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayia Napa hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

When we 1st arrived at Paul Marie there were 5 families that all told us how bad the hotel was and that we should just get back on the coach and go home, (We wish we had too). These other families were there throughout the duration of our ‘holiday’ and they were all complaining to the rep and wanting to put official complaints in and I hope they did! This place does not even deserve to accommodate the ants and insects let alone humans. It was an appalling building that needs to be boycotted until it has been knocked down and started to be built from scratch.

On arrival at 11.45p.m, our apartment had not been cleaned. There were dirty black scum marks in the bath. There were long hairs in the bath on the wall and on the sink, as well as short hairs like someone had been shaving. To add to this, the floor was almost black. We did not feel that we could use the shower curtain as it was grubby, stained and looked like it was starting to go mouldy. We could not walk from the bathroom to the bedroom without getting black feet. We had to shower in flip flops! The room was crawling with ants! I expect insects like ants on the balcony but it is unacceptable when they are crawling all over the kitchen counters and on the shower heads walls and all over the floors. There were stains on the work surfaces and the cupboard doors and walls, there was a brown lumpy substance on the fridge door I hate to think what it could have been, we did not dare to get close to it though as it was disgusting. The bathroom door would not close properly and the wood was all rotting.

The first morning, we went to see the Rep. He looked at the room and he agreed that the room was extremely dirty. We requested that we be moved, preferably to a different establishment or, at least, a different room. He stated that all the rooms and hotels in Cyprus were full but he would ask the cleaner to clean the room, which we saw him do. Determined not to let this spoil our holiday and thinking it would be just tolerable if the room was cleaned, we made the decision to spend as little time as possible in the apartment, and not even make a drink of tea in the apartment. However, when we arrived back later that night the room was still in such a foul state.

As there was no-one available to deal with our complaint satisfactorily in Cyprus, I telephoned home and contacted Thomas Cook. When we went to see the Rep again later (The same day that he had told us that there were no other rooms available) we explained that it was unacceptable because the room had not been cleaned - only the bins had been emptied. Once we mentioned that we had been in touch with Thomas Cook, miraculously, there were two free rooms that we could choose from…. Neither of them was much better.

Once we moved rooms it was clear that this room had not been cleaned either but the bedroom floor looked marginally cleaner (we were very much mistaken!) it was equally as dirty other. There were more hairs in the bathroom, the toilet was stained almost black and there were stains on the door that looked like faeces and blood stains on the bedding. Again, the bathroom door would not close. Also, the second room was infested by ants and the balcony floor and the kitchen counter were practically crawling with them. Needless to say, we never brought any food into the flat; just a bottle of water and a packet of crisps. We spent about 2 about in the rooms and we came out feeling dirtier than we did after been out all day.
On the first morning that we were in the second room, we spoke to the cleaner and asked if she would clean the bath out for us as there were hairs in the bath tub, on the walls and all dirt around the shower head. She told us it was clean but when we looked, all she had done was draw the shower curtain which meant we had to touch the shower curtain - which was not a very pleasant experience! Again, determined not to let this spoil our holiday, we went to a local convenience store and purchased a bottle of Dettol and a scrubbing cloth and decided to clean the apartment our self so we could at least have a shower and feel clean. In the 40 degree heat, we were in the apartment scrubbing it because it was such a foul state and nobody would do anything to sort it out.

Just when we thought things could not get any worse we were wrong At approximately 6.45 pm, we were getting ready to go out to eat and the only thing in the apartment we were using was our own hairdryer, an alarm went off - which turned out to only be in our room!!! There was not one member of the hotel staff that came to attend, so we ended up walking down stairs to the hotel reception where the singular member of staff was on the public computer in the bar blatantly unaware of the commotion occurring up stairs. When he finally came upstairs, he took the alarm off the wall and took the batteries out of it. Then another member of staff turned up asked what was going off and we explained what we had been doing before the alarm went off. He then asked who had left the gas on; however, we had not touched the gas once. We had not so much as used one of their glasses for a drink or the kitchen tap to wash our hands as it was overrun with ants!!!! Their resolution to the carbon monoxide alarm going off was to tell us to leave the doors open and they left. They never asked if we were okay or anything even though we had been in the room an entire 2 hours before the alarm went off. And, if either of us smoked, we would not be here today. Apparently, later, they changed the batteries of the alarm but we did not see this, there was no concern for us and no health and safety procedures carried out in what we feel could have been a fatal situation.

Feeling totally unsafe and shocked that someone could just remove batteries from a carbon monoxide alarm to stop it ringing, and there being no-one reliable, or available, to manage the situation, we moved hotels .... the best decision of the holiday! We just wanted to get out of the worst hotel we have ever been in … including camping for 4 days at a festival… the toilet facilities there are about level with the cleanliness of Paul Marie apartments! and if you've ever experienced a weekends camping at a festival you'll know what i mean!

Room Tip: go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disgruntled727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

was in room 105 filthy had to clean for 2 hours, no sleep partied all night bar open 24 hours everybody over 40 wanted out, smoked in pool we are 67 why put us in this place, its only for young ones,blood on walls on bed and under the sink beside pots toilet roll full of blood,i cleaned the toilet seat with a brillo pad nobody cared, drunk people from 9am when pool opened,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank joebananas16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

When we first arrived at Paul Marie we didnt think it looked that bad from the outside. We was in rooms 102 & 103. When entering the rooms we found pubic hair and dirt in and around the toilet and in the bed. The bed sheets were stained.
We spoke to the owners and he said they were no cleaners. We asked the rep to move us and he said he couldnt because the whole island was fully booked up. We took the rep to the rooms and he cleaned them himself.
It was full of 18-25 year olds and the rep had told us it was 50/50 between families and young people.
The young ones smoked in the pool and left their fag ends around the pool and were doing shots from 10 in the morning. They didnt care for people around them just themselves.
They would shout round the pool how many guys they had slept with the night before and asked boys if they wanted to play doctors and nurses. They would have parties till 3-4 and would leave bottles everywhere.

Overall this isnt a hotel for families!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtce2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

just got back from a week in paul marie, it was fab! its basic but the rooms are clean, we purchased air con for 63 euros for the week and couldnt have coped with out it!! The pool is small but its good for chilling and there is a pool bar with a very good atmosphere.

Its a livley hotel so wouldnt recomend for families but great for groups! Hotel staff are friendly and its only 2 min from the strip and about 10 mins in a taxi to nissi beach (you must visity nissi beach its amazing!!)

They have happy hours on cocktails, the food is great and over all I think Paul marie was fab!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetterhalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
#95 of 106 in Ayia Napa
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chrysland Hotel
Chrysland Hotel
#84 of 106 in Ayia Napa
65 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kkaras Hotel Apts.
Kkaras Hotel Apts.
#90 of 106 in Ayia Napa
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#53 of 106 in Ayia Napa
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Efi Hotel Apts.
Efi Hotel Apts.
#94 of 106 in Ayia Napa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paul Marie Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paul Marie Apartments

Property: Paul Marie Apartments
Address: Demokratias 24, Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Paul Marie Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Paul Marie Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paul Marie Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa
Paul Marie Apartments Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing