We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makronisos Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makronisos Holiday Village
Ranked #21 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Just got back from a week in Ayia Napa. The hotel had so much to offer with extremely friendly staff, good food and a fantastic pool. The rooms were very spacious and extremely clean. The hotel was perfect with ten minute walks to both the beach and the water park. There are also plenty of options for transport for the short distance into Central Ayia Napa.
The entertainment at the hotel was good and Danielle the rep for Olympic was fantastic, very welcoming and extremely friendly, she had lots of things to suggest for us to do and also arranged for us to go to parties and bar crawls. Danielle went above and beyond to ensure we had the best holiday possible and with a big thanks to her and the hotel we definitely did !!! Thanks Danielle :)

Room Tip: One bedroom apartment was extremely spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YIANNIS P, Manager at Makronisos Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you had such an enjoyable time in the Macronissos Village. We always strive to achieve excellence, and your comments mean a lot to our team.
We will of course pass on your compliments to all our heads of departments, as well as Danielle the Olympic Rep.
Thanks again for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes
The Macronissos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    273
    109
    47
    33
See reviews for
325
268
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Relaxing and calm environment, lovely pool.Apartment was one of the best we have stayed in, large balcony,comfy beds and lovely shower. Very clean and the maids did not disturb you.
Food was lovely and plenty of choice.The dining room was very hot due to only fans being used.
Service at the bar was very good, would have liked some service at the tables when the acts were on.
Entertainment not to our liking, acts were great but need more of this and less of things like Mr and Mrs and battle of the sexes for the main entertainment, you could not fault the team that ran it though they were very hard working and friendly .
Staff were lovely special thanks to Christina, Alexandra, Michael and the Owners are great. Rep Danielle was brilliant always around, very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.
Had a great time and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 100 are quieter as away from pool and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YIANNIS P, Manager at Makronisos Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and kind comments about our staff and food.
We are delighted to see that your stay with us was rated excellent, and we will pass on your compliments to all of our staff.
Once again thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes
The Macronissos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here for 1 week all inclusive really enjoyed it it's away from the hustle an bustle of ayia napa but the busses are really easy and cheap they also run up till 04:00 nice beach over the road Down a dirt track or one just down the road all in the hotel is clean friendly and safe for kids what more do you need and your not pestered by the entertainment team if you say no they move on no problems

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YIANNIS P, Manager at Makronisos Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your great review on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in the Macronissos Village, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Best Wishes
The Macronissos Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just back from another fantastic holiday what can we say all was perfect and we didn't want to come home. Rooms very clean and were cleaned every day, food was wonderful plenty of choice for everyone. Pool is very clean plenty of sunbeds life guard does great job keeping kids safe. Danny, Lyva and Charlie are fantastic we really enjoyed all the entertainment loved the bingo kids really enjoyed the kids club and we have so many memories and met some lovely people. This is our second year and we will be back next year. Thankyou for a great holiday

Room Tip: bungalows are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamiecourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YIANNIS P, Manager at Makronisos Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your wonderful review, and very kind comments . It is our aim that all of our customers leave the Macronissos Village with fantastic memories of an excellent holiday, so we are very pleased to see that this has been achieved.
We will pass on your lovely comments to the entertainment team and our housekeeping department.
We are in the process of upgrading some apartments to a Superior standard, so we hope that you will visit the Macronissos Village again soon to see the changes taking place.
Best Wishes
The Macronissos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Just came back from 2 weeks had a lovely time. Cleaned every day friendly staff. 24hr reception brilliant. Will be going again. Studio 311 fantastic. All new equipment ie. kettle,toaster and hairdryer . Bathroom excellent shower excellent. Air condition needed 88 euros for fortnight +20 deposit. Wifi 20 euros for 5 days. So not cheep! Would recommend this resort. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YIANNIS P, Manager at Makronisos Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your great review. We have a fantastic team in place at the Macronissos Village, and we are really pleased that you enjoyed all the services that our teams provide.
We note your comments regarding the Wi Fi, and would like to inform you that we have upgraded this service and it will also be FREE of charge to all residents in the future.
Thanks again for your kind comments, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best Wishes
The Macronissos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed here while attending a friends wedding in Cyprus. I have to say I was totally disappointed as we paid over £700 for the week all inconclusive i expected a higher standard that this hotel. After an overnight flight from Belfast all we wanted to do was get a few hours sleep however when we entered the room the first thing i noticed was all the long black hairs all over the bedsheets. In fairness the maids came to change the bed after i complained to reception. While we were waiting on the beds to be changed to went for breakfast.... never seen worse. The selection and quality was less than average and most of the 'hot' food was cold. The lunch was not any better with flies crawling over the salad bar. Most times we couldn't tell what the meat was and only a selection of 3-4 dishes for every meal, all of which were usually cold. The rooms looked like they hadn't been decorated since the 70's and bathrooms were the same with a pink dirty bathroom suite. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and to be honest I don't know how this hotel has received excellent reviews on here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Natalie276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YIANNIS P, Manager at Makronisos Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.
I would like to apologise for failing to fulfil your expectations regarding the room. This is one of the reasons why our hotel has started a renovation programme to bring some of our apartments and studios to a Superior standard. This will include new TV's, ironing facilities, kitchen equipment, furnishings and an upgraded Wi Fi system which will be FREE of charge to all guests.
We are also disappointed that you did not enjoy the food in our restaurant and please note that all your comments have been duly noted and appropriate action will be taken where necessary.
Best Regards
The Macronissos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks from July 23rd to August 6th, value for money is an understatement!
Shared an apartment with a friend, rooms were clean, well presented and met all our needs. Housekeeping visited almost every day, did a thorough job and presented us with fresh towels every time.
The staff are friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much for them (even turning a blind eye to a midnight dip in the pool on our last night!).
We were self catering so did not eat from the buffet, but the paid for food was lovely, and the discount they offer for the local restaurant is a huge bonus, best food we had out there!
The pool is divine, clean, spacious and always welcoming after a hard couple of hours sun-soaking!
The true jewel of this resort has to be the entertainments team, a group of people who constantly go above and beyond to ensure you have something to do through the day. Danny and Liva's evening entertainment had everyone who was willing to join in howling with laughter and gave us great memories to home with.
To truly appreciate this resort, get stuck in, try everything; as a result we have made true friends from across the UK, and had a blast!

If you visit Macronissos, I assure you, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Pay for the air-con, it is a god-send!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YIANNIS P, Manager at Makronisos Holiday Village, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Dear Mark L
Thank you very much for your excellent review. It was a real pleasure having you and your friend as our guests for your holiday.
We will pass all the good comments on to our staff and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes
The Macronissos Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
2.3 mi away
Euronapa Hotel Apartments
Euronapa Hotel Apartments
#13 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows
Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows
#34 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
2.8 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#5 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
#24 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mon Repos Design Hotel
Mon Repos Design Hotel
#28 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cosmelenia Hotel Apartments
Cosmelenia Hotel Apartments
#72 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makronisos Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makronisos Holiday Village

Property: Makronisos Holiday Village
Address: Nissi Avenue 148, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#11 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#25 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Makronisos Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a peaceful spot on the outskirts of Ayia Napa, The Makronisos Village is a complete tourist village with a rustic feel. The sweeping sands of Nissi Bay with its wide range of water sports are close by, as are tavernas and a water park. The pulsing nightlife in Ayia Napa can be reached in five minutes by car, or a quick hop on the bus from outside the hotel. Checking in at the lovely reception area, you will receive a warm welcome reflecting the attentive, high standard of service to come. Attractively decorated and well equipped bungalows with spacious terraces are set among extensive gardens filled with palms and beautiful bougainvillea. The gardens create a lush back drop to the large, beautiful swimming pool with children's pool attached. A wealth of facilities and an extensive leisure programme for all ages mean you'll be torn between an energetic time or a chilled out break. So why not have a bit of both? Engage with fellow guests in volleyball, football, tennis, or water polo, to name a few, before surrendering to a dreamy massage. Don't worry about the children; they'll be well taken care of at the Kids' club, with endless all-day fun with new-found friends. Buffet meals are served in the hotel's inviting restaurant, and sandwiches, ice cream and other snacks can be bought from the bar and by the pool. Each evening entertainment is laid on in the form of barbecues, bingo, karaoke and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Makronisos Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macronissos Vacation Club Hotel Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing