We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good October half term break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Makronisos Holiday Village
Ranked #24 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good October half term break”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We travelled on 27th October and returned on 4th November .Travelled with my husband and my teenage daughter.Have been to Cyprus before but not to this area.
The weather was fantastic two cloudy days but still warm.Yes it does get dark early but this did not affect our enjoyment.
We went self catering and stayed in a bungalow near the pool.Very spacious, clean and yes basic cooking facilities but adequate for snacks.The upstairs patio was lovely for coffee on a morning.
Ate at pool bar only once and it was ok.
Not ones for in house entertainment but the bits we saw were ok and all the young children seemed to have made friends and were enjoying themselves.
Staff were friendly, rooms were clean.
Only complaint was having to pay for wifi which I think could have been free in say the bar area.
On this note we called in at the Kings Sword pub 5 mins down the road which had free wifi.Not usually one for english bars but this was a find. The food was fantastic , cypriot, italian, english certainly well worth a visit or three.
The location of the hotel is good 4km outside ayia napa and near to 3 lovely beaches.
The waterpark is near and the bus is one euro which goes through ayia napa, protares to paralimni.
All the way from the hotel to ayia napa are bars and tavernas so its a nice walk if you want.
We hired a car and drove to Nicosia.The roads are great, drive on the left and signs are in english and parking was easy.We enjoyed our day out and visited the turkish side of nicosia as well (you need your passport for this). Interesting to see the contrast .
We thoroughly enjoyed our week, not sure how it would have been in height of season but for October it was great.The location is good and its easy to get around.Would go back again in October, it was 26 degrees when we left and 1 degree at manchester when we got home-say no more!

Room Tip: Bungalows are spacious with 3 patios one upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    282
    112
    49
    35
See reviews for
340
280
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Macronnissos beginning of October. We were really happy with our room, the decor was a little tired but who's going to be laying in their room all day. The bed was really comfy too.
The grounds are really big and the pool a really good size with lots of sun loungers.
We really enjoyed the food, we have stayed in cyprus many times and the food in the hotels is always very similar but this year we were pleasantly surprised. Some people were moaning about the food and the rooms etc but I do think some people pay for 3* but expect a 5* hotel.
There is a small beach 10mins walk away but if you continue along the coastal path you will come upon lots of small beaches and coves to swim in which are not far at all.
There is a bus stop right outside the Macronnissos which goes to Ayia Napa and passes by Nissi beach too which is only a short ride away.
We really enjoyed our stay and would come back to the Macronnissos

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke - on - Trent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just got back from a week at Macronissos village. This is a nice cheap and cheerful holiday, with no frills. Food was nice but not a lot of choice and very little fruit. The accommodation although basic was very clean but be aware if you are on the ground floor in blocks 100 you have to keep the curtains closed all the time as other guest can see straight in from the path. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff they are always friendly and happy to help. Very disappointed with Olympic Rep, worst I have ever experienced. No welcome drink at the welcome meeting. She had no people skills, and I could not make up my mind if she lacked in knowledge or was just not interested because it was the end of the season. On one occasion I had to just walk away because she was so unpleasant when I asked a question about snacks. Sorry Olympic a big smerth boo boo .

Room Tip: I would ask for a higher room so people could not see in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

just returned from our half term break at macronissos village and can honestly say it was fantastic,we went all inclusive with olympic holidays and right from the flight going to the flight home everything was great,the hotel itself was good although the rooms did need a bit updating but who stays in the room much anyway,the hotel was very clean and friendly the staff couldnt do enough for you,the food was probably the best ive seen for a 3 star you never went hungry if you missed breakfast dinner or evening meal the staff would get you a snack it was no problem to them,there was plenty of beds by the pool whatever time you got there and for me and my family this is quite an important thing,just have to say a big thanx to rob and tom the animation team they were superb made the holiday a right laugh definatley back next october.good look to tom who was leaving this season hope his replacement is just as talented

Room Tip: block 5 is furthest from the stage but it dont mater what block really as everything goes quiet not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooders25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just spent a week at this complex, at times a very long week, we went out just as the clocks went back leaving us in the dark from 4,45 ish, very strange sitting next to the pool this early and being sat under street lamps, there is very little to do between the hours of 4.00pm till at least 8.30pm, of course this would not be a probem in the summer because you could still access the pool and outside play area, one saving grace was the fantastic entertainment team, well Rob and his sidekick Tom without these guys i would have died of boredom, cant remember the girls name, she was there in body! Rob was fun for the kids and adults alike a lovley fella, funny warm and welcoming, tom was a fab singer and did a micheal bauble much to the delight of some lady guest, he was very good, these guys stayed on to entertain us even though there contracts had ended 2 days earlier and would not be paid, thanks guys, The staff were so nice and friendly, from the maids, maintanance and reception staff, sorry guys but this is a truthful review, the accomadation was indeed seemed cleanish but we had lots of mouse droppings all over the floor, although we didnt see them, we had no hot water for 2 days untill we were moved, we also took several pictures of cockroaches in our rooms, although speaking to other guest we seemed to be the only ones to have them, lucky us! we went fully inclusive food was ok plenty for all taste, kids menu for the little ones, was a bit boring rice, spuds chicken and pork everyday, only sweet at lunchtimes was ice cream everyday, but there was some cakes added in the evening, my biggest complaint was the dinner plates nearly every one had huge chips or cracks, nothing matched it was awfull, and the cats! everywhere you looked was a feral cat, in the dining room, round the pool under your tables, the staff did try to move them on, but im thinking with the mouse droppings they are not really encouraged to leave, free mice catchers,, the little kids were sometimes seen smoothing them not realising they probably are riddled in worms and parasites and then going back to their dinners,yuk!, Rob and Tom were brill, but sorry guys wont be back, this is a beautiful location, but needs serious updating, c,mon olympic pull your fingers out and sort it, you have great staff , beautiful grounds but rubbish accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Have never been to a place like this before, booked it because was worried about the weather this time of year & thought the kids club would be good if we had a couple of off days.
I think we were really lucky not just with the whole week of beautiful sunshine, but with the fellow holidaymakers there at the same time as us, a whole range from babes in arms to OAPs but all very respectful of each other.
Daytimes were very chilled round the lovely well kept pool area, the pool was a little chilly,maybe the time of year, but big & separate kids pool & plenty of loungers.
Evenings had entertainment, I would say not so family friendly after 10pm, a shame because my son laughed his socks off at most of it but the swearing was not needed.
We went self catering, this I would recommend, you then have a choice, try out the food from the surrounding restaurants, take a bus to central Ayia Napa, eat by the Harbour or you can look at the All Inclusive choices and book this once you decide if you like what you see direct with the hotel, they had loads of food/drink options & special offers.
Rooms were basic, yes a little dated but kept clean & towels changed every other day, self catering was just a double ring, kettle & toaster but we only ate breakfast in the room, & found the food at the pool bar the best value for lunch with good portion sizes.
The hotel is close to some lovely beaches, it has everything you need on site if you don't want to go far & staff are friendly and helpful if you need them without being overpowering, there is an entertainments team based at the hotel who quickly learn if you don't want to join in & leave you alone to relax, otherwise you could join in with football, pool aerobics, french bowls & darts etc.
Kids club runs every am & pm except Sundays & there is a lifeguard at the pool for added piece of mind.
I can see where problems will occur if large groups of youths get a bit OTT & this certainly isn't discouraged as the entertainments team are quite young themselves, it is a shame if some people get their holidays ruined by this but this will always be a risk because of the location of the hotel, at least there are other options, the beach nearby is lovely if things get to much & the sunbeds reasonable & other bars in the area a little quieter if you are not a fan of the entertainment which does go on until 1am some nights. I think you would have to go with a fairly open mind.
We stayed in block 400 & could hear the music quite loudly in the living room area (where my mum was sleeping) but not really from the bedroom, but by the end of the week we were staying in the bar most nights as we were on holiday after all!
There is a good bus service from outside the hotel, and a Waterpark within walking distance, its around an hours walk to central Ayia Napa & younger people might find it a bit much if planning to go out partying every night but the buses do run until 4am (although they don't seem so reliable on the way home) & taxi fares would very soon add up.
I would go to the Macronissos again, with my fingers crossed & hope for another lovely week!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viiviiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

3* holiday village-we went all inclusive at the end of the season. Good value we would have had to pay similar for bed and breakfast elsewhere. We used the complex as a base as the surrounding area has lots of beautiful bays and blue flag beaches. Pool area and gardens are lovely and there is a lifeguard. Entertainment was poor but we weren't too concerned as we have young kids so had earlyish nights. Apartments are spacious, clean, comfy but firm beds, clean towels and cleaners 10 out of 14 days. Self catering facilities poor standard but we didn't need to use as all inclusive- fridge was useful though. Some apartment blocks noisy at night. Apartments are basic and dated but we were only in there to shower and sleep so didn't bother us.
I would definitely go back and there were plenty of repeat guests there. Food reasonable plenty of choice, salad bar, etc - 3* buffet style.

Room Tip: bungalow would be best as quieter and modernised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughesyNantwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
#22 of 106 in Ayia Napa
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mon Repos Design Hotel
Mon Repos Design Hotel
#30 of 106 in Ayia Napa
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#23 of 106 in Ayia Napa
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#8 of 106 in Ayia Napa
726 reviews
2.8 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#7 of 106 in Ayia Napa
494 reviews
3.5 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makronisos Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makronisos Holiday Village

Property: Makronisos Holiday Village
Address: Nissi Avenue 148, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#11 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#25 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Makronisos Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a peaceful spot on the outskirts of Ayia Napa, The Makronisos Village is a complete tourist village with a rustic feel. The sweeping sands of Nissi Bay with its wide range of water sports are close by, as are tavernas and a water park. The pulsing nightlife in Ayia Napa can be reached in five minutes by car, or a quick hop on the bus from outside the hotel. Checking in at the lovely reception area, you will receive a warm welcome reflecting the attentive, high standard of service to come. Attractively decorated and well equipped bungalows with spacious terraces are set among extensive gardens filled with palms and beautiful bougainvillea. The gardens create a lush back drop to the large, beautiful swimming pool with children's pool attached. A wealth of facilities and an extensive leisure programme for all ages mean you'll be torn between an energetic time or a chilled out break. So why not have a bit of both? Engage with fellow guests in volleyball, football, tennis, or water polo, to name a few, before surrendering to a dreamy massage. Don't worry about the children; they'll be well taken care of at the Kids' club, with endless all-day fun with new-found friends. Buffet meals are served in the hotel's inviting restaurant, and sandwiches, ice cream and other snacks can be bought from the bar and by the pool. Each evening entertainment is laid on in the form of barbecues, bingo, karaoke and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com and Priceline so you can book your Makronisos Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macronissos Vacation Club Hotel Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing