We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY OF DREAMS!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Makronisos Holiday Village
Ranked #26 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HOLIDAY OF DREAMS!!!!!”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wow well what can i say. came and stayed at this hotel in July and was sooooooooooo impressed by the entertainment that was put on by Luke and James that within 2 weeks of being back home i booked to go back here in September and i couldn't wait. The hotel is absolutely perfect....all set out in little bungalows. very clean and tidy. great cleaning service and very polite and friendly staff. The food is brillaint. we stayed all inclusive, but also made friends with guests who were self catering and the food they had was just as good as what was offered all inclusive. The BBQ night was fantastic. dont think i have ever eaten so much nice food in a day. There is more than enough choice or guests of all ages and again the waiters/waitresses we all really friendly and very good at their job. as soon as i got back i felt like i had come home....however there was a moment of horror when i discovered that James and Luke were no longer at Macs and in stead were two girls who were so unprofessional, unfriendly and foul mouthed about the whole place. I honestly couldnt believe this is what the entertainment was going to be like for the week. i instantly wanted to leave. There was no way anyone could possibly live up to Luke and James standards.....however by the 3rd day all this changed, the two girls left and in their replacement was quite honestly the most adorably, lovliest and friendly girl i have ever had the pleasure of meeting.....i am of course talking about becky!!! wow what an entertainer. she took to it like a duck to water, and with her a Rob in tow the holiday was a total success!!! yet again the entertainment on an evening was great - and yet again i would happily say, Macronissos....I shall be back!!! thank you for the holiday that dreams are made of

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82Han82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    287
    112
    49
    36
See reviews for
348
283
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel 45min walk to outskirts main town but bus stop straight outside hotel .food at weekends is cold and not a good as midweek service in pool area at night is ok . Bath towels really small, but rooms very good good kitchen aircon 20euro dep 6euro a day however supermarket across rents fans 20dep 20 euro for week defo need one , pool area good with life guard she very good activity all day really enjoyed this hotel will book again with own bath towels

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aw3472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hi well I have to say for the money we paid I cannot complain at all.
Just returned from a one week stay at this property on an all inclusive package.
We stayed in room 303 which was well located for the pool with a fab view over the pool area, room was yeah a bit dated, but huge with a kitchen with full sc facilities, a large lounge, and seperate bedroom both leading onto the balcony.
The food at the complex was fine for the price paid, and this guys is what you have to remember!!!! If you want 5* then pay for 5*,
The staff at the complex are great especially George! without a doubt he is a star and his karioke version of UB40'S Kingston Town had us crying with laughter!!!!!
The complex is very clean, pool is cleaned every morning, the entertainment was ample again considering the price paid.
The only gripe we have is that when your all inclusive you can only get a lager in a small flimsy plastic cup that is not even half a pint, this was rather poor for the men, and even at night they only served lager inn half pint glass. If you wanted a pint glass you had to pay and have a different type of lager. The drinks were not very strong and this I found dissappointing, we just did not even get a kick from them!!!! Two decent drinks each night was all I wanted I wasnt there to get blitzed, but a merry feeling would of been nice,so we did end up buying a bottle of Smirnoff for 12 euro just to get that kick!!! There is a nice little pub called the Kings Sword about a ten min walk towards Aiya Napa with free pool table and cheap drinks and we went there a few nights just to break the evening up.
Its a 20 min walk from the front of the complex to Nissi Beach just walk until you come to the Adams beach hotel, we went up most afternoon's for amazing frozen cocktails. Nissi bay/beach is beautiful and well worth a visit, if you like people watchig then you will love the sights,or you can hop on the bus for 1 euro ech way.
You cant pay for 3* all inclusive and expect the food of 4/5 and it annoys me when people expect just that.
Credit where its due and I'd say a cracking little complex, nice staff, lovely and clean, a decent selection of food, and overall drinks were nice just not strong enough or maybe I was unlucky with them, oh and given the young dj they hve there I would of liked to have heard some more upto date music as this was rather dated........
Have a great time and make the most of your holiday, at the end of the day its also what yu make it!!!!!!

Room Tip: Explore the local area, you can go all the way to the resort of Protarus for 1 euro, or get a day ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkflamingo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Macronissos village. Mixed feelings on whether the holiday was worth the money we paid and struggle to understand how Olympic can rate this hotel as 3.5 stars. On arrival had a 20 minute wait to check in due to the volume of people checking in and only one receptionist (not the best first impression at 1am after a day of traveling). The apartment we stayed in was clean but very dated and the beds were the worst I have ever slept on. The walls were also wafer thin. We were also very disappointed as the usual things you expect to be included in your stay such as aircon were charged at an additional cost (around 50 euros a week for aircon and 20 euros for five days of wifi-which very rarely worked). The hotel was also miles from anywhere apart from the water park (15 minutes to beach and 20 minute bus ride to ayia napa-and the buses were very hit and miss). The entertainment was also rubbish unless you enjoy watching middle aged men making a tit of their self and the language used and nature of some of the shows was aporling to say this is marketed as a family resort and children been around (entertainment staff making reference to sexual acts i.e hypnotist supposedly hypnotising people into carrying out sex acts on the chairs and making no warning before hand that if people are easily offended/ don’t want their children to be subjected to such behaviour that they leave!!!). Food was good quality but sadly very little choice. All in all I would differently not stay at this hotel again and would not advise anyone to stay there unless they are after a lads holiday and don’t want to be in the centre of ayia napa or you enjoy staying in dumps and enjoy the Benidorm experience when on holiday and like to spend their days playing bingo, pop quizzes, watching people who cant sing impersonate singers and drinking watered down booze. Will not be booking with Olympic again if this is what they class as 3.5 stars. I would give it a 2 at a push.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room by reception, these rooms look to be of a better quality and you don't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan91_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
644 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

About 2 miles from centre of Ayia Napa which gave us a calming, quiet escape from the crowds of the town but still nice to leave the complex and catch a 10 minute bus ride for just a euro ! The complex has numerous facilities including bar, restaurant, nice pools, football pitch, tennis and various other activities. The staff organise karaoke, quizzes, bingo, dancing etc at night plus there are visiting performers in the height of the season. You are very close to Macronissos beach and Nissi beach, Konnos Bay beach is the other side of Ayia Napa town but very accessible by the really good bus service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just back from a week at the Macronissos, Before we went I must admit We were slightly concerned with the negative reviews.
We flew from Birmingham with Agean Airways, well the flight was good but the food!! Umm roll with a bit of goo, and cheese, no butter, this was the only inflight meal BOTH WAYS.
When we checked it at Macronissos, the reception staff were pleasant enough and gave directions well to the accommodation, which is bout a 5 min walk from the reception. The rooms were both spacious and clean, although tired, and need updating. We were in Room 418, second floor but good views. The only down side I would say is that the accommodation blocks from 300 - 600 back onto the motorway, but the noise wasn't overly concerning.
We only went self catering this time, and we ate at the bar area for breakfast on most days, the food was of a good standard, but when you compared it to the All Inclusive meal sizes I would say that PAID FOOD was on average 50% larger than of the AI bar snacks. Good menu and great staff around the bar area, always good fun, polite and friendly, Especially George, who is fantastic.
The gardens are really well maintained and the gardeners work hard throughout the day, and they do a great job. The maid service is very good also, they really clean the rooms well.
All in all, we had a great time here, and we would go again, on the SC basis.
The only down side for us really was the distance from Ayia Napia, we knew it was a distance but not that far! The bus service was good, only 1 Euro single before 23:00hrs and then 2:50 Euro following that until 04:00hrs, You could get a day pass which was worth it.
There was also a few nice bars and restaurants in the walkable vicinity which serves great food, and at competitive prices.
Reps weren't that great from Olympic! Come on sort it out!

Well Done to all at Macronissos, look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Room Tip: The accomodation blocks near reception have already been modernised, so blocks 100 - 200 are the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coupie141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I read the reviews so when with an open mind, the accommodation we were in was perfect just like a little flat, the whole complex was spotless our room was cleaned about 5 of the 7 days we were there. The service was fine, waiter service even for the all inclusive guests, also not once were we overlooked for a paying guest. The food was what we paid for a different variety of mains and compliments everyday and plenty of it, I didn't pay for 5 star so didn't expect lavish dinners. Buses round every 20 minutes to ayia napa, the beaches are outstanding especially landa beach a bit further down the road. I would recomend this hotel on my experiences but obviously some people expectation are different.

Room Tip: Rooms near the reception are quiter as round the pool can have noise from the bar if you go to bed e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
Loutsiana Hotel Apts
#25 of 103 in Ayia Napa
583 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#10 of 103 in Ayia Napa
757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mon Repos Design Hotel
Mon Repos Design Hotel
#22 of 103 in Ayia Napa
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#5 of 103 in Ayia Napa
508 reviews
2.4 mi away
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
#43 of 103 in Ayia Napa
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#24 of 103 in Ayia Napa
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makronisos Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makronisos Holiday Village

Property: Makronisos Holiday Village
Address: Nissi Avenue 148, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#11 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#25 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#39 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Makronisos Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in a peaceful spot on the outskirts of Ayia Napa, The Makronisos Village is a complete tourist village with a rustic feel. The sweeping sands of Nissi Bay with its wide range of water sports are close by, as are tavernas and a water park. The pulsing nightlife in Ayia Napa can be reached in five minutes by car, or a quick hop on the bus from outside the hotel. Checking in at the lovely reception area, you will receive a warm welcome reflecting the attentive, high standard of service to come. Attractively decorated and well equipped bungalows with spacious terraces are set among extensive gardens filled with palms and beautiful bougainvillea. The gardens create a lush back drop to the large, beautiful swimming pool with children's pool attached. A wealth of facilities and an extensive leisure programme for all ages mean you'll be torn between an energetic time or a chilled out break. So why not have a bit of both? Engage with fellow guests in volleyball, football, tennis, or water polo, to name a few, before surrendering to a dreamy massage. Don't worry about the children; they'll be well taken care of at the Kids' club, with endless all-day fun with new-found friends. Buffet meals are served in the hotel's inviting restaurant, and sandwiches, ice cream and other snacks can be bought from the bar and by the pool. Each evening entertainment is laid on in the form of barbecues, bingo, karaoke and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Makronisos Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macronissos Vacation Club Hotel Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Ayia Napa
Macronissos Village Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing