We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Famagusta Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Famagusta Hotel
Ranked #52 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel since it has been renovated looks really good. The pool is small but clean and looks nice. The grounds are mostly on one level so easy to get around. Recently, a Russian Tour Operator has taken over the htoel so it is 90% russians who stay there, As there all inclusive, the price of drinks and food is alot, worth just going out to eat and drink. This also means that there are no self catering facilities in the apartment as it is not classed as Room Only if your English. there is still a fridge so can still have drinks in the rooms. The Russians are rude, I have not any that arent and they pose around the pool, but they keep them seleves to them selves.

There is a shop next door that has all the things you should need. There is a bakery attached where you gcan get fresh bread and really nice cakes! You are located just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Ayia Napa which is good. From there you have a variety of choices of restaurants. You have the square where all the bars and clubs are and liminaki beach is also nice and quiet.

There is a bus stop outside the hotel which is handy for getting to Nissi Beach or the waterpark or cross thr road to get on the bus heading to protaras which is about half an hour away by bus. The resort is worth a visit for a change from Ayia Napa.

I would reccomend this as a good base as the rooms are good and the location are good. The pool is nice but great if your a beach person as only 5 minutes down the road. But beaware that you will be a minority of English people in the hotel as it is mainly russians who now stay there!

Room Tip: Nearest the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    74
    30
    13
    3
See reviews for
47
46
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

stayed there in mid july 2011 with 7 girls, when we got there we were greeeted by a lovely guy ive forgotten his name now but think he may have been the manager, also there was a friendly guy on the bar HOWEVER the other reception staff especially the women are very rude! they looked us with disgust and when we were leaving they claimed that they lost passports ( that they took off us upon arrival ) and then tried to charge us extra money by saying we didnt pay off our bar bill but we did the night before we left as you HAD to but as we were about to leave they accused us of not paying! after an hour of arguing they finally agreed that we were right!
hotel was very boring and full of russains not very fun for a group of young girls going there on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondebombshell459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverkeithing, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

I have been staying at New Famagusta for the past 16 years and had a fantastic time absolutely adore the family that own it, but unfortunately it was 95 percent Russian this year and I can safely say that we didn't have the best holiday this year at all. And as of next year it is only Russian that can book to stay :( Russian seen to be taken over Ayia Napa

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The holiday from hell!!
The rooms were lovely and big, the staff were really friendly - however we had a dozen cockroaches in the room, all living under the bed. Also when we went out to dinner one night I left my phone in the drawer on charge in the bedside table and when I got back a couple of hours later it was gone (good job my money and other valuables were under the mattress!). I went to reception to report it and they didn't want to know - BEWARE!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Leishey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

we stayed at the new famagusta in 2009 and to be honest it was good then, thats why we booked again for august 2011. what a mistake.
the hotel is still clean like it used to be but they just dont seem interested in catering for english, the hotel is now made up of 92% russian to only 8% english (% from girl on reception).
the bar shuts early, i remember markos used to keep pouring the drinks, not any more
11.30 - 00.00 bar shuts.
catering for mainly russian i think will be new famagustas down fall ( they dont spend money)

conclusion - if you like to mingle with english, stay away
- if you hate ignorant russians, stay away

Room Tip: rooms are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

What a shambles. To be fair, we did get a cheap deal on this hotel (hence two stars not one) but I really wish we had spent a few more pennies and stayed somewhere else. For a start, we booked a room with self catering facilities. This we did not get. We complained about this at reception and they said "We are sorry but this hotel no longer has any rooms with self catering facilities, it used to but no longer." So we complained to our tour operator and then would you believe it we get a call from reception and guess what, turns out they do still have rooms with kitchenettes! Or at least a very musty, small room next to the cleaners storage closet with faulty very funny smelling air con and a rusty portable hob and a kettle. Oh dear!! terrible room, terrible service. the pool area was quite nice and the hotel was in a good location and cheap, those are the only good things i can say about it. If you are young and on a clubbing holiday u would probably find it ok, i probably would myself at eighteen but if you are over 25 stay away!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

we stayed self-catering and as a couple in a studio, which was ample in size & cleaned every day - brilliant. lovely clean well lit walkways, pool area and bar and restaurant were also well cared for. it is a brilliant base and very reasonably priced. no idea about the food as ate out all the time and as the client base is mainly russian i couldn't ask anyone. in all it was a lovely quiet hotel, however i don't know what it would be like later on in the season.

only a small point.....having marble flooring throughout the public areas means that you hear the clip clop of stilettos constantly - may be rubber mats on these areas??

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaka1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.0 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#7 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamatia Hotel
Stamatia Hotel
#42 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bella Napa Bay Hotel
Bella Napa Bay Hotel
#53 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nelia Gardens Hotel
Nelia Gardens Hotel
#72 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nicholas Color Hotel
Nicholas Color Hotel
#41 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Limanaki Beach Hotel
Limanaki Beach Hotel
#15 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Famagusta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Famagusta Hotel

Property: New Famagusta Hotel
Address: Kryou Nerou Street | P.O. Box 30057, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New Famagusta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Famagusta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Famagusta Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing