We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Even better Staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was a family holiday with 3 generations attending. My daughters first ever holiday. I had big hopes for a fantastic hotel, great weather and a fantastic time. I was not disappointed at all.

The hotel is well kept, the views amazing and the staff exceptional. Our daughter was very much welcomed into the Thomson family and we miss them all greatly. The biggest positives for us were the Soft Play, creche and Parent and Toddler rooms. They were modern, clean, fully air conditioned and catered for the toddlers. We used the Creche everyday and got very attached to Mandy and Hollie from Thomsons. They put us at ease and our daughter couldnt wait to go and play every morning and get up to exciting things. These rooms were a welcomed break from the heat in the afternoon and gave us chance to "tire" the little one out.

The evening entertainment for us was also a big hit. Everyone was encouraged to gt involved. Disco Danni, Flashy Ash and Dawn were our favourites. They fun,energetic girls and made everything tick along - They certainly didnt let the thunder storms stop then from putting on a performance.

There was a good variety of food every night, fresh and very tasty! We never went hungry!

Atlantica Sun garden was great for families and we will be sure to return in the near future, I only wish it was all the same Thomson reps.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMarks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guests
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel the food and the service from the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

kind regards

Atlantica Sungarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,237)
There are newer reviews for Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 1,237 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were at the Atlantica Sungarden during October half term 2012 with our 9 year old,

Check in was super efficient.

Pros: Our room was basic but large with an outstanding view over the pool & sea (which we paid extra for). Tea making facilities provided.

Cons:There was a distinct lack of drawers and shelves.The bathroom was a bit mouldy in places and was okay if you don't mind sitting on the toilet with your knees against the door,

Restaurant:The food in this hotel is excellent and varied. A clever serving setup allows people to help themselves from both sides of the counter and eradicates the need to queue, The fairy lights and candles in the evening added to the ambience. Some of the tables were much too close together though. Themed evenings and one visit to the a la carte restaurant.Overall well manged and constantly checked for satisfactory presentation and service. If you choose to sit outside on the terrace the views are fantastic.

The infinity pools were beautiful, what a great setting and immaculately and frequently cleaned if a bit too cold. We gave the activity pool a miss due the the constant blaring music and reps voices and the lack of space to even walk in front of the sunbeds...also bit of an uphill hike to it.

There was a very strict dress code for dinner and lunch which should have been mentioned in the brochure to enable guests to pack the right clothes.. The kids reps were good but as usual due to it being at the end of season most activities ground to a halt. We also found the strict hours that kids could enter the club very restricting,,parents were "told off" if a bit late or early for the sessions,,,for god's sake we were on holiday if our daughter wanted lunch before going into the 1pm session it should have been fine ! One parent was told off for being 3 minutes early for the halloween party !

The hotel grounds were very nice and spacious, situated on the top of cliffs and underground caverns. Lots of sunbeds available on the grassed areas overlooking the sea.

The beach was lovely and the water was clear and warm but you had to walk a bit further along to get a less crowded area. Watersports right on the beach for those who wanted to participate.

About a 15/20 minute pleasant walk along the beach to Ayia Napa centre alternatively buses from outside the hotel were frequent but jam packed on the way back. Ridiculously cheap at 1EUR and free for kids. The Water park was very good although again due to end of season not all of the rides were open,,,Thomson still charged us the full price though.

The Hotel communal areas do need a bit of an upgrade or intensive clean, were particularly dark & grimy were the stairs and the pebbly area with the indoor ponds outside the gym.

Bar staff were very efficient and the LED lights added to the atmosphere but not too sure about the sheep painted on the walls !!

Entertainment team were enthusiastic for the first couple of nights then it was over to the Austrian entertainment for the last few days of the season which was disappointing.

Overall the hotel was well managed and tended to sort out any issues that arose immidiately,

Would maybe go back but not at the end of the season.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a deck over the fish pond.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent 10 Days here and I overall a really wonderful place and one I would return to. Beach towels provided, can change every 2 days. Any requests dealt with prompty by all staff. So many sun loungers -no need to get up at dawn, we could easily go to the pool at 3pm and find somewhere to sit. As the Sun loungers are placed all around resort, you have choice of being by either pool (one activity/one quieter plus infinity pool for adults), also choose to sit on grass area/cliffside. Outdoor pool was quite cold despite hot weather. Food quality and selection very good and restaurant service excellent, dining available indoors and outside.Staff very friendly and helpful. Also an a la carte dining area which I didnt use so cannot comment. Facilities: Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi,small gym/sauna, lots of activities going on for children and outdoor volleyball area. Some evening entertainment, singers & also films showing on large screen.. Our room was excellent, 228, corner sun terrace with two sun loungers/parasol, plus 2 chairs and table, sun all day. One double bed & 2 sofa beds with sliding doors to divide rooms at night. kettle plus tea/coffee supplied daily, large fridge - bottles of water available for bars. Quite peaceful overlooking the fish pool. Rooms cleaned every day and overall 100% cleanliness.
Only 2 small criticisms, the bathroom was very small and the air con very weak, but I did not complain about this and if I had, I am sure it would have been rectified. WiFi available free on floor 4 only, but this is the lounge/bar area also with outside terrace, so a good place to relax day or night. The pool has a bar and also you can get snacks there such as pizza, sandwiches and popcorn during the day.There is a Beach close by- this can be accessed from hotel but its steep and not for those with mobility problems, however you can walk down there from outside hotel and this is more accessible. Quite cove, shallow water, 2 sunbeds and parasol cost 15 euros for the day. Two shops are just outside hotel and only short walk downhill to bars/restaurants/shops. Where the hotel is located, wonderful views and also good for walks. Bus stop just over the road, takes you to Proteras, Paralimni or Ayia Napa, very reasonable 3 euros all day ticket. I am so pleased I chose this hotel, my first visit to Cyprus and cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 228. Corner room with sun terrace overlooking fish pond. Wonderful views, sun all day.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryanbncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guests
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel the food and the service from the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards

Atlantica Sungarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was in a perfect location great for the active my 2 boys loved jumping off cliffs in front of hotel and snorkelling around the caves. The sea is amazing along with the pools (the pool could have been a bit warmer). We stayed in junior suite which was fine smaller than expected but great location near pool and cliff path. Food was fine good some nights and average others, drinks were great full selection on all inclusive even champagne!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Healeysj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guests,

many thanks for taking the time to share your holiday experience on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and you loved your stay here at Atlantica SunGarden Hotel.

Your nice comments encourage us to continue the hard work and commit ourselves to quality service to meet our guests expectations.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I had a week at the Atlantica sungarden for half term and I have to say I had reservations with it being Aya Napa notoriously clubland. Apart from the flights from Birmingham being at a hideous time in the morning to return the flight via Thomson was not completely hideous albeit food and drinks a total rip off and food selection is rubbish. The hotel itself was clean and the reception staff were very pleasant. We had a family room so had a divider between our bed and my sons which dod provide a limited amount of privacy. The room was a good size and we had a lovely balcony with sea view and the bathroom although dated was clean. One criticism would be they need to improve the quality of the beds as they are cheap and very hard! We dont really go in for the communal trips so did not do any of the Welcome meeting excursions, we hired a car and spent two days traveling the island. Be warned sign-posts are not prevalent in Cyprus and we got lost a number of times as location signs seemed to disappear!! The hotel food was very very good for buffet style and plenty of selections for young and old. Snacks were hard to come by between breakfast, lunch and dinner and effectively the only option was a chilled sandwich which I think let the hotel all-inclusive package down. Drinks however were on tap which was refresging and it was VERY clear what was and wasnt included. The beach was only a couple of minutes walk away and the loungers were pretty reasonable on the beach (two loungers and umbrella for 7.5euros as not part of the hotel). Beaches very clean and the sea was great. The quiet pool in the hotel was not that quiet as parents did tend to let their kids run riot which could be annoying buy being quieter at the hotel did not seem to cause too many problems. The indoor pool was very nice if a little chilly. We did not go the kids activity pool so cannot comment. We had a late check out which was great as we did not leave the hotel until 10pm at night so meant we could shower and change before leaving. All in all a very good break however I dont think we would stand it in the noisier summer months!!! All the staff generally were very pleasant only let down by a woman in the pool bar who rarely smiled and the young girl at the main bar was a little inattentive and her cocktails were totally inconsistent. Thompson staff all were helpful and friendly so would not be put off travelling with them again. My son loved it and we felt it was a great break for a family as a whole.

Room Tip: Family room with a sea view recommended as the sun set's are beautiful from there, would say roo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 210LornaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guests,

we appreciate that you took some of your time to write your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

It is to our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your holidays and most of your expectations were met. Both comments are welcome and we definitely aim to improve any weaknesses.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best personal regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there end of October 2012 for 5 nights in this wonderful hotel. Coming back to this hotel every year since more than 15 years. Many people of the staff are there since beginning and they make this resort unique, the hotelmanager, the maitre, the reception staff - it's like coming home. Kitchen even improved from last year and the meals are very nice presented and decorated. In my opinion Hotel Sun Garden has the best location directly on the best beach in cyprus but located some metres higher as the last hotel in a row so you have a wonderful panorama. Best opportunities for hiking and walking directly from the hotel on a beautiful pathway to Kap Greco. Best time for this was afternoon. Temperature is incredibly comfortable, air about 27 degreees, sea water about 26 degress.

Room Tip: I recommend a Bungalow or a room with seaview - it's worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael_N_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guests
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel the food and the service from the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Atlantica Sungarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from 10 days at the Atlantica Sungarden hotel - what a fantastic holiday.The hotel was set in an excellent position within a nice and peaceful surrounding. Our room was big with a lovely sea view and cleaned daily to a high standard. The restaurant food was excellent with a different theme every night and good quality food all helped with a cocktail or 2 - the only downside was we ate to much !!!
Bar/lounge was lovely to sit outside in the evening with waiter table service listening to the entertainment and relaxing.
I don't think I have any been on holiday where the staff are so friendly, helpful and happy all the time. Nicos, the Manager and the hotel have won many awards and I can understand why Atlantica Sungarden was named International hotel of the year for 2012 by Thomson whilst we were there (well done !!)
We will be booking again next year as this is an excellent family holiday destination and well worth the stay.
Sean,Lisa and Daniel

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicosSofocleous, General Manager at Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Dear Guests,

we really appreciate that you took the time to share on TripAdvisor your holiday experience at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Many thanks for your kind words and it is our pleasure to identify that you enjoyed your holidays and your expectations were met.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Atlantica SunGarden hotel.

Best regards,
The Atlantica SunGarden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Grecian Sands Hotel
Grecian Sands Hotel
#13 of 103 in Ayia Napa
700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#18 of 103 in Ayia Napa
751 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#1 of 103 in Ayia Napa
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melissi Beach Hotel & Spa
Melissi Beach Hotel & Spa
#10 of 103 in Ayia Napa
527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#6 of 103 in Ayia Napa
1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel

Address: 46 Kryou Nerou Avenue, Ayia Napa 5344, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#13 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range: $102 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantica Club Sungarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Hotel Sungarden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing