We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average beach as it was very windy”
Review of Makronissos Beach

Makronissos Beach
Ranked #3 of 85 things to do in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ILFORD,ESSEX
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very average beach as it was very windy”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

my friend and I thought we would try and go to this beach and to our disappointment, it took us awhile to walk there, especially with my recovering knee. and it was too windy so walked all the way back to Nissi beach. We were shocked to see no one at Makronissos beach, but hoping this beach gets busy in the summer periods or else it would be very disappointing. it was a very small beach compared to Nissi.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NILS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    199
    56
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nicest beach we found”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Lovely sea, not rocky or too deep. Plenty of space & spare sunbeds. Great facilities. Worth travelling to.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 20407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“smaller beach”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

not sure what it was called but away from hotel beaches there is a smaller part with one small food hut. Seek it out it is blissful

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank paddymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best beach in Cyprus - almost don't want to tell everyone about it!”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was in Ayia Napa and went to Nissi Beach (which is very nice - but crowded) so my companion asked the lifeguard if there was somewhere quieter - he recommended Makronissos beach and we were not disappointed. It was easy to park close to the beach - which has beautiful clean sand, and crystal clear water - there were plenty of beds available and we wanted to be close to the water - not a problem. In fact the beach was so nice we checked into the nearby hotel (Asterias - see separate review). I have been to Golden Bay, Fig Tree bay, Coral bay and Nissi but this is easily the best beach in Cyprus - almost don't want to tell everyone about it

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank colebrooke1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“accomadation”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

we stayed here 2 weeks sept also sept last year both times through olympic holidays we stayed in a one bedroom apartment last year no401 this year 507 we enjoy the position of the village BUT there are issues with the interious it definiatly needs up dating cleaning of appartments were done very regually staff very nice and also reception we met some people on beach and one of them was going to have someone come and stay unexpecterly so came and looked at app but said the ones they were shown smelt damp and they didnt like the furnishings so it wasnt just us Unless we see in brochure that it has been updated we wont be staying again olympic themselves are a good company though so shame about furnishing

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makronissos Beach also viewed

Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 

Been to Makronissos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing