We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honest review beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #36 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“honest review beware”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

well what can I say bad from the first step, booked a family room with pool and sea view was told that one was not available (although found out later the hotel was half full) and put in one of the "bungalows" across the main road and not part of the main hotel all this at 1/2 11 at night in side was4 plates of hard dry sandwiches (More of this later) very basic self catering accommodation we had booked half board. Next morning after a bad night’s sleep we complained at the reception desk and told we could have our family room at 13.00 half a day wasted. Went to look at it and well ....2 single beds to make a double usual holiday bed and 2 of the smallest fold up beds all crammed into the 1 room not even a kettle to make a cup of tea we complained again at the desk and spoke to the manager she offered us free safe and believe it or not a free fridge that was in our room (you had to pay if you wanted it turned on!) also a late check out for our last day at 20 euro instead of 34 euro.
The food for breakfast was good and well cooked the best meal of the day evening meals were poor not in quality but in variety if you have children there is nothing for them had to ask for fries on 2 nights as there was nothing for them to eat. You could swap evening meal for lunch which we did on half the days just so the kids could get a good evening meal out.
It seemed as though this hotel caters for Russians more than any other holidaymaker half the staff were eastern European and the food seemed to be for their taste we were the only British in the hotel for 5 out of our 7 day stay bar was poor and entertainment dire when on again catering for the Russians.
On our final day we were to be picked up at 20.30 so we had breakfast and at lunch we decided to swap dinner for lunch as usual we were told at the desk that as it was our last day, breakfast was our last meal I explained we had paid for 7 nights half board (yes your getting it now) those plates of dried sandwiches that were left for us when we arrived at 23.30 were our evening meal Oh no!!!! The receptionist took great pleasure in telling me this with a big smile on her face after a few words and asking to speak to the manager again we were allowed to have our lunch.
Would not recommend this hotel to anybody unless they were Russian poor position sandwiched between 2 main roads poor staff attitude, poor food, poor facilities & poor rooms
We are what I would class as a hard working family who don’t usually complain and can put up with most things but this hotel pushed me into this review because if I had read this then I could have chosen better

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    100
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
117
75
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very nice hotel close to the famous Nissi Beach. Very good relation of value to the price. Breakfasts average, but dinners very good. We advise to ask for the room with the view of the swimming poll and sea.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of a swimming pool and sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel very nice - good food - special Greek food and location - only 3 minutes from amazing Nissi Beach / very friendly staff and helpfull . I give 4 star instead of 3 . They arrange breakfast for us 1.00 evening time - because our departure time was 3.30 early morning . Manager Christiana Zamba very helpfull person . For shure I will back next year to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANDREW L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Just returned from a week's holiday at the Nissiana. Arrived around midnight to a warm welcome. Adequately sized family room, clean and modern with a sea view. Great pool - lots of inflatables which my kids loved. Pool, table tennis, air hockey all available. Good breakfasts although would have liked to have seen some fresh fruit. Short walk to beach. Staff on the whole warm and friendly. Lots of restaurants within walking distance serving various cuisines of average UK pub food quality. However, they were very empty due to end of season and some closed during our stay. Also, they are all by a fairly busy road, so not a quiet experience - most play music or have big screens in them, so never were going to be quiet anyway! Several supermarkets and gift shops easily walkable too. We had pre-booked a hire car to go exploring but hardly used it - the weather was so good that the kids only wanted to do the pool and beach. Good transport connections and lots of trips available anyway, so you don't need a car. Hotel is next to a fairly busy road - obvious if you google maps it - so relaxing by the pool comes with road noise. The hotel was quite empty whilst we were there and there were only ever a handful of people in the pool and even on the busiest day there were only about a quarter of the sunbeds in use. Nissi Beach was busier, but still pretty quiet - plenty of sunbeds available. This was never intended as a cultural experience, just an escape from the UK's cold weather during the kids' half term break. It was great and I have come back happy and relaxed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Travelled as a couple as guests at a wedding at one of the 5* resorts, just a ten minute walk away. Easy transfer from Larnaca airport and greeted by a nice receptionist. The staff did their best to help us with everything we needed, letting us call the taxi company and giving me back my swimsuit top which had blown off the balcony!

I was really impressed with the food, each night was a themed buffet with fish, chicken, lamb, beef and pork creatively served up with plenty of side dishes and salad. The hotel lets you swap a dinner for a lunch of you want, brilliant as the wedding we went to was in the afternoon. Hot buffet breakfast went down a treat, although the coffee was awful. We didn't drink in the bar, just got water with dinner and the bill for the week was only around 14€ (we put it on the room).

The hotel seemed primarily to be full of Russians, but it wasn't full and there was plenty of space in the restaurant and around the fantastic pool! It gave us a great base for seeing a bit of the island with a bus stop right outside and Nissi Beach a 2 minute walk away. The hotel does provide entertainment in the evenings and there is free wifi in reception/bar area (get the password from reception).

The room was absolutely fine, overlooking the tennis courts. Shame it was a twin bed for a couple but it had a nice little balcony and you can rent a fridge for around 3€ a day, nice for a glass of wine/beer after a hard day sunbathing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Fletcher87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having read a number of reviews and having visited the Nissiana while staying at another hotel last year, we were extremely pleased with our choice. The room was on the 3rd floor and had a sea view, if anything was above the standard we have had in other 3 & 4 star hotels in the area. Breakfast was good, plenty of food and good choice and the staff were very pleasant and hard working. The receptionists were very helpful and spoke excellent English, Christiana was especially knowledgeable & friendly. The pool really suited us as a couple who like a quiet chillout area without being on top of other people, there was never a problem getting a couple of sunbeds together whatever the time of day. We stayed B & B so the location was superb as it was very close to our favourite restaurants, Atlas and Gardens. Nissi beach is just across the road so also great during the day. Yes, the majority of guests were Russians, but this didn't bother us in anyway. We will be going back to this hotel next year - strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms 301 - 315 are on the highest floor for the sea view and face south so you don't have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading a few reviews from my fellow English travellers I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel but I was pleasently surprised!
The hotel staff were ever so friendly and always willing to cater to our every need (special shout out to Christiana and the Chef who I nicknamed the Fonz from Happy Days) they made me feel at home whilst on holiday with always a friendly smile and attention to detail when catering to my needs.
This hotel is clean, the food is lovely, the staff are great and the location is perfect as your within easy access to all of Ayia Napa without being in the noisy centre.
Thanks for a great holiday guys.....see you again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
1.8 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#8 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Euronapa Hotel Apartments
Euronapa Hotel Apartments
#12 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#22 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Okeanos Beach
Okeanos Beach
#21 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#6 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Christofinia Hotel
Christofinia Hotel
#49 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows
Address: Nissi Avenue 98, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#22 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nissiana is the modern 3-star Hotel which is located in the Nissi Bay area, just 150m from the famous Nissi Beach, the most beautiful white sandy beach in Ayia Napa and about 25 minutes walking distance from the centre of the resort. Ayia Napa is is situated on the south-east coast of the island, Cyprus most popular resort and well know for its lively nightlife, its 16th century Monastery and its finest sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nissiana Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nissiana Hotel And Bungalows
Nissiana Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing