We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a Gamble! Are you feeling Lucky?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Anthea Hotel Apts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anthea Hotel Apts
Ranked #97 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's a Gamble! Are you feeling Lucky?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My fiance and I have been going to Ayia Napa for 12years. This year we went over to attend my brothers wedding. We used Cosmos.

After an early morning flight and arriving by coach at the hottest time of the day, my fiance and I were eager to get settled in our Apartment and begin our holiday of 3 WEEKS!!!

Having stayed at the Anthea 4yrs previous, and with great memories, we were positive and happy when we arrived.

The receptionist Natalia was pleasant as we checked in and after we were finished paying in advance for our Air Con (3 Weeks at 8 Euros A DAY) we were led to our 'Apartment'

We arrived at what looked like a hobbit house. Shrubbery covered the entrance and when we opened the door we were met with:

The living area/'kitchen' was around 10ft by 15ft
There was a tiny wooden table with 2 chairs up against the wall.
A sink with a cupboard above
2 cooking hobs, no oven
A leaking fridge
A single, foam filled, fold up, bed that was coated in what appeared to be a black slime which sat on the floor.
.
That was it. No other items in the room!!

We walked through to the 'Bedroom' and we were met by a damp, cloying atmosphere and a strong smell of an old fire.
If that was not bad enough, we looked up and above the bed was an ominous black patch, about 2ft by 3ft..
My fiance approached it for closer inspection and noticed that it was actually, black FUR growing on the wall!
We were horrified It was an 'Apartment' of horror.
There was no way we were going to stay 3 minutes in that disgusting place, let alone 3 weeks!!
We feared that we would definitely end up with a respiratory infection or worse!
It was unfit for human habitation and should be condemned! Yet they had charged us to stay there? :-(

Not that it mattered at the time, but the 'Air Con' that we paid for would not have worked in the 'Apartment' either, it was an outdated model, hanging off the wall and the vents were full of dirty fluff!

We returned to the reception. Luckily, our Rep had not left and after hearing our tale, arranged for us to see the manager.
We waited outside his office while he dealt with other complaining guests and we swapped horror stories with others waiting with us. After 20mins we were summoned like naughty school kids into his office.
He did not ask us any questions, hardly looked up at us as we attempted to describe the situation and worse, he did not attempt an apology but instead shuffled papers about. It was as if he had been expecting us to turn up!

We attempted once again to pitch our cause to him, but instead of listening, he simply stood up and walked out of the office and asked us to follow him to another apartment further away on the complex.

As we gratefully, followed behind him he informed us, with a small smile, that the apartment he will be showing us is close to the local church and that the church bells,(less than 50 metres away from the window) ...go off at all times of the day and early morning, but by this point we were in such shock, despair, roasting hot and sleep deprived, that we were past caring and trudged behind him, nodding as he chatted. A great way to start a holiday?


He led us to a first floor apartment that was:
Clean and tidy and housed a modern AC
There was 2 electric cooking hobs 3 INCHES from the SINK! With no draining board.
Wooden table 4 chairs
Double fold up bed in living area
A fridge
1 frying pan
1 huge saucepan
Cutlery
4 coffee cups/saucers
Kettle
Toaster
NO cooking surfaces AT ALL
We could not prepare food or cook as we had no prep space and no pans.

We fell into bed exhausted 2 single beds pushed together.
In the morning, HORROR, My fiance woke to find his t shirt and sheets stank of Urine!? On investigation we discovered that his mattress had obviously been peed on by the last occupier and had only dried on the outer layer but was soaked beneath. We were disgusted!
So off to reception we went to complain and to demand a new mattress. Granted, they gave him a new mattress straight away, but nothing could compensate for the revulsion we both felt.

Plus, the electric socket in the cooking area only worked occasionally so 9 times out of 10 we had to boil the kettle and make toast from the only socket in the room which was near the floor!

We had a long balcony with plastic chairs and a 3 legged plastic table.
The bathroom was basic but clean.

The cleaners came regularly to change the sheets/towels and made the beds and emptied the bins. They were kind and pleasant.

The pool near us was not really nice it was a bit grubby and not enough sun beds.
The bar was expensive.

Good thing: The double glazing helped keep the constant club music out except for the church bells that went off sometimes at 6am, nothing could keep that sound out but it didn't bother us much.
We only found 1 cockroach that was on the balcony and a few ants that a pair of size 9's sorted out!

The hotel is central to everything you might need or want. Beach, bars, shops, restaurants, etc.
My fiance and I are not youngsters 40s/50's so we need somewhere that we could not only get our heads down but somewhere to relax and we found that we could do that in this apartment AFTER all the trauma we went through.

We had a nice stay in the end but would NOT book again as it would be a HUGE gamble because the rooms are NOT all the same standard as each other, as we found out the hard way.

Book if you don't mind gambling, be prepared for anything and please take care if you are placed in a room with black mould, its dangerous to your health.

I would love to give a rating of 'Average' based on the time we spent ATER all the Horror but it would not be accurate compared to other hotels that work harder to maintain the status of Class 3*.

The Anthea should be downgraded or closed down for a season to rectify all the issues, some of which are hazardous to the health of it's paying guests.

Giving a rating of 'Poor' instead of 'Terrible' is generous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzieLondon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    135
    121
    67
    114
See reviews for
67
125
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

just got back from these apartments and are absolutely disgusted with them stayed in room 12 just behind the main block room was filthy even after the cleaner had been in for all of 2 mins soap holder in the shower was caked in old soap scum and looked liked it had not been cleaned in months ants all over the place front door looked like it had been kicked in because you could see the repair work and did not close proper we had to put cardboard to stop it banging in the wind and then you have the music from the square which is banging out all night (which we knew anyway) will never go back here again this was our third time here and worst

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayia Napa hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

In two main blocks, one adjacent to the main reception/resaurant area, the other further up the side road. Booked bed and breakfast for 6 nights whilst in Cyprus for a wedding.

This accommodation is bare, unwelcoming and not cheap. We had a balcony/terrace on the ground floor facing the pol area. Three plastic chairs and no table on it. The room had no tv or niceties, just absolute essentials for young revelers using the famous club scene. Anything breakable has been removed!!!

If you want to use the in-room air con, you'll need to pay EIGHT EUROS PER DAY for the essential remote control. Expect no safe deposit box in the room either, but they are available in reception. Its important to note right now that the room was not unclean.

Breakfast was served at the restaurant in reception which was at best, ok. Choose between either Full English fry up, or continental. Sadly it will be served by a young eastern eropean male who needs a slap. The height of rudeness, never smiled once. Oh and I dare you to ask for another coffe or some more toast!!!!

Rooms were serviced twice a week but we got no fresh towels and they refused to make up the beds. Although spacious, you wont want to spend any time in there at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were placed in this accomodation by OLYMPIC HOLIDAYS and it is what i can only describe as a dump. The rooms are absolutely filthy. When we complained we were offered nothing but hostility and a move to an equally disgusting room. This place is not fit for humans to stay in and they have a cheek to call it a 3 star. At the Olympic welcome meeting there were at least 8 - 10 other people complaining about the the lack of cleanliness and facilities. Personally I have never experienced anything like it. Among the complaints ( not an exhaustive list by any means) are
filth everywhere , dirty floors, infested with ants and cockroaches, dirty fridges, dirty bed linen and matresses. Patio doors that come right off the runners hence no security and a massive accident potential waiting to happen. There are no light bulbs in the outside stirwells so you have to go up and down in the pitch black. There is no safety / fire escape information anywhere. We know people had had their rooms burgled while we where there last week. The furniture has graffitti carved into it and it all needs replaced. Needless to say we , like many others , asked to be moved by Olympic but they were not helpful and decidely ungracious and cold to us all. We ended up paying more money to get moved one night was enough here!. You have been warned!

Room Tip: some rooms in the main hotel appear to be slightly cleaner than the rooms in the blocks out the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janbee230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

On arrival after 2 and a half hour journey from Paphos allocated a room out of main block - it was smelly door was difficult to open /close not a good start. At the welcome meeting everyone was complaining aout the standard of cleanliness and the rooms. 10/12 people cannot all be wrong and they moved some to the mainblock which was of a better standard . However some were not and then robbery ! The place is to be avoided it is not the normal Cypriot hospitality and I STRONGLY recommend don't go. If you read the reviews they are true!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WokinghamTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed here end of august and have been to napa twice before I can say this has been my favorite place to stay or equal to tsokkos. Rooms a good Size pool area nice we stayed in the main building so maybe we were lucky yes we had afew cockroaches and our bathroom ceiling started to leak a bit but that was soon fixed anthea is just what we needed for a girls party hol clean room and a bed to sleep in I've seen A LOT worse in napa. Will return to Anthea again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymakero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have visited Cyprus on many occasions previously and was looking forward to returning to my favourite holiday destination.

As we got to our destination The Anthea Apartments in Ayia Napa, Cyprus we were shocked at the state of the room which was filthy and more poor like student digs. The bath had what I can only describe as a ring of filth/scum around the sides which was ingrained from lack of cleaning !!!!
The slightly off white bedding was also stained.

I went to speak to reception and after a little persuasion I was then shown a room of the same standard however, a little cleaner it may have had a trail of ants but this was an improvement on the last cesspit.

I did some research into the apartments that were offered by Thomson and these were listed as A class 3 star to find that Infact the apartments are only listed as 2*

May I add the whole time of the stay we NEVER had ANY change of towels or bedding for the whole stay !!! unbelievable so stay here and take your own..

air con is £8 euro's a day and you have to buy the whole stay upfront when you get there. Mine was on 29 degrees when we got to the room and switched off just after we arrived, so you can imagine the sauna effect to get you to purchase the air conditioning at the little extra I suppose.

Also Karaoke is every night....

good for the beach, and eating out as located right in the heart of Ayia Napa.
I love Cyprus and will return but unfortunately NOT to the Anthea Apartments !!!!
Book somewhere else if I was you...

Room Tip: pool party every day with good music ask for a room in the inside building as the one's at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kosjune11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#44 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsokkos Holiday Apartments
Tsokkos Holiday Apartments
#95 of 106 in Ayia Napa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Senator Hotel Apartments
Senator Hotel Apartments
#28 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cosmelenia Hotel Apartments
Cosmelenia Hotel Apartments
#72 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christabelle Hotel Apartments
Christabelle Hotel Apartments
#71 of 106 in Ayia Napa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthea Hotel Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthea Hotel Apts

Property: Anthea Hotel Apts
Address: Nissi Avenue | PO Box 30615, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anthea Hotel Apts 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anthea Hotel Apts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthea Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing