We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed!”
Review of Anthea Hotel Apts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anthea Hotel Apts
Ranked #94 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I'll start with the possitives .... the location is great (5 minute walk to the beach and 5 minutes to the clubs) ..... and thats it!

NEGATIVES: the reception staff are extremely ignorant and rude (with the exception of one) if you ask for something they just glare at you, the floors in our apartment were filthy, there was hair in the shower/bath, one of the beds had 4 broken legs out of 6 and the furniture was filthy. The kettle had the wrong plug socked attatched and when an adaptor was attatched the whole electrics in the apartment blew. The mattressess were terrible and the 2 single beds they pushed together to make a double werent the same height!

Our roof started to leak one afternoon, we went and told reception about it, they didnt say anything, not even apologise, then 7 hours later when we were in the middle of getting changed a man wearing a security t shirt just opened up our apartment to have a look (he didnt even knock!!) Then he also said nothing to us just looked and walked straight back out again!!

To top off the whole experience, after coming back from the bars one evening/early morning we were greeted at the top of the stares by a RAT!! It just ran straight past us and towards the kitchin!!

I have always booked late deals for about the same price as this hotel, but i have never seen anything like this! Cyprus is a beautiful country and we enjoyed our holiday opting to spend very little time in the dreadful hotel. I will be visiting the island again and will be booking into different hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pixxiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Anthea Hotel Apts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 597 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here in 2011 and 2013, both times with a group of lads. On both stays the atmosphere around the pool was great, full of young people having a good time with loud house music blasting for most of the day - perfect setup for a lively holiday! The food was good, and the bars had a good choice of alcoholic drinks. This hotel is definitely not for older couples or families. The location of the hotel is ideal, only a few minute walk to the strip.

On our first stay we had an excellent holiday, we were given a room close to the pool, it was very basic, but clean enough and we weren't intending on spending too much time in the room anyway! However on our second stay, we were given a room which was located 100 metres up the road in an old apartment block that we didn't even know existed! It was run down, and the rooms were a mess. I think the cleaners visited once throughout the week. Most of the staff were ignorant so we didn't bother attempting to ask for a room change. We still made the most of the holiday and had a good time; as previously mentioned it was ideal around the pool and close to the strip.

I would recommend staying at another hotel as it is really the look of the draw as to whether you get a room around the main hotel, or get stuck in the old apartment block up the road! You could still visit this hotel during the day for the party atmosphere if you stayed elsewhere anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room around the pool, not sure how negotiable that will be though as the reception staff a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have visited Cyprus as a family 2 or 3 times per year since 1998, we always stay in Pernera, Protaras, or Ayia Napa, this time we chose the Anthea. Big mistake, the reception staff are the rudest people we have met in all these years, unhelpful, uncaring, and rude. The rooms actually match the attitude of the women on the front desk! The floor in our room was filthy on arrival, it was unswept, with other peoples hair lying everywhere, it had not seen a mop since who knows when, the balcony was no better. The beds were ripped and rotten, stained sheets that went unchanged until we complained to the rep. Bathroom door never even had any insides to the handle, so wouldn't close, let alone lock. The door for the living room was completely missing, leaving 2 large screws protruding from the floor. Towels were smelly and dirty. The bathroom sink had an object rammed down it, and had no plug, the smell coming from the plug holes was disgusting. The fridge was filthy, black mould inside and out, and also smelt vile. After showering the floor was so rotten that our feet got black in seconds. The woodwork is rotten around the patio doors with chunks missing, ............i could go on for longer,but its too depressing. Choose somewhere else to stay, even if like us its only a place to sleep and shower, you still expect it to be clean.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 13jayneclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just had a week here and must say the place was not very clean, but having swept and mopped it properly myself, ( borrowed cleaners stuff while she was bed making in next room), and my daughter wiped everything down felt much better. The mattresses on the bed were stained and disgusting need throwing as does the filthy stained furniture in the reception and baggage room, would not even sit in this if I had to stand for the week.rave music bellowed all day round the main pool so we were lucky the bar at the second pool was closed , and it was peaceful and you could think and hold a conversation. It really needs to close down for a couple of months, tip all filthy furniture and everywhere have a thorough clean. This was just a last minute cheap week away and would have been very disappointed if it was our main holiday.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dishylady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked this for an incredible price of 138 for the 2 of us for a week and on our last night now. After reading the reviews we were slightly concerend but once we settled in we realised thry eere done by a bunch of moaners. Place was simple but clean and a bit dated. We had a seperate bedroom and lounge with a balcony overlooking the pool in block 2. Two beds but easily pulled together. We decided on not paying for the aircorn and managed okay with the balcony doors open. It was noisy at night but it is Ayia Napa for goodness sake. I am 49 and thought it was no more than harmless fun rather than the accused mad orgies some people complain about. Bar was cheap. 3.50 a beer or 4 euros a cocktail. Food everywhere within yards and set meals from 8 euros.

Overall for what we paid a bargain and we will come again but take it for what it is, a cheap hotel in a busy area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angusreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we were travelling in Cyprus as a group of friends and got lured with a good deal from Anthea - we were a bit concerned about what we would get, but earlier reviews were pretty positive, so we gave it a try - unfortunatelly.

1. the room was ok, but there was one double bed and a bunk bed in the room (we were two couples), there was no furniture on the balcony and the shower curtain was broken (it was repaired after out having notified the reception). even on windy days with windows and entry doors open, there was no air flow circulation.

2. they say wifi is available, but it costs EUR1 for 15 minutes, even for the guests. The reception stated they had never said it would had been for free.

3. although the apartments were to face inner yard, ours faced the street leading to the main party area of Ayia Napa - we had that unforgettable expierience to listen to the party music from at least 2-3 clubs at the same time up to 2-3am, after that - still the noise of people testing their mororbikes and quads and drunken people shouting out their pain on the way back. The waste disposal vehicles and street cleaning vehicles were there around 5-6am, and the church bells - 7-8am. Two of our friends decided to move out.

Basically, booking there is like a roulette, you may be given a better room, but we didn't have so much luck.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vous_etes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and 2 friends went to Ayia Napa in July, stayed for 10 night.
Got to Larnaca airport very excited and wanting to get to the hotel and get a good nights sleep. The shuttle bus only took about 40 mins to get to the hotel, and we were the first ones off, brilliant!
Got to the anthea and looked ok, checked in and then we had to follow a security man to our room. He was very rude and just sprinted ahead of us and didn't help us with our cases on the stairs.
Got in the room and it was terrible, very very dirty. We had a bathroom, kitchen area, bedroom and balcony. There were two beds in the bedroom and a sofa bed in the kitchen area. We moved the third bed into the bedroom as only the bedroom had aircon.

We had no balcony furniture, we had a table and two chairs in the kitchen area even though there were 3 of us and our balcony door didn't shut. So we went down to reception to complain about the balcony door, furniture and to get some air con. The man was quite rude and said everything would be sorted in the morning.
In the morning we had a guy come to our room with a drill, 5 minutes of "work" and he was gone! We tested the door and it was still broken but we found a different way to shut it. We went back down to reception and asked for furniture. This time there was a very very very rude person who said there wasn't any furniture to give to us. So feeling rebellious when drunk I stole a chair from someone else in the hotel.

There were two pools at the hotel, our smaller pool was disgusting! Literally everything was in the pool from bottles to bricks. There wasn't even sun loungers by the pool. And when we saw that we didn't even bother going to the main pool so we went to the everyday. Obviously it wasn't the hotels fault for it being that bad, but it would have been nice if everyone respected the hotel then everyone could have used the pool. Also there were a lot of Israelis in Ayia napa, and they were very very rude and very weird. I was expecting Ayia napa to be full of Brits but it definitely wasn't!

The strip was literally a 2 minute walk which was good but the strip is very confusing especially when drunk ha! We needed up getting very lost on our way back to the hotel on our first night. The strips literally behind the hotel and up some stairs!

Ayia napa is a nice place but not the best place for clubbing I've been to! All the bars stop their music at 2am and shut at 2:30am! In which the you had to pay €10 to get into a club, which was very expensive! River reggae is brilliant but it doesn't properly start til 4/4:30am! So for 2 hours its very dead!

I wouldn't personally go back to Ayia Napa, but it's a nice place especially Nissi beach! The best part of the hotel was the aircon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
#98 of 103 in Ayia Napa
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#52 of 103 in Ayia Napa
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
#46 of 103 in Ayia Napa
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christabelle Hotel Apartments
Christabelle Hotel Apartments
#60 of 103 in Ayia Napa
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrysland Hotel
Chrysland Hotel
#75 of 103 in Ayia Napa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthea Hotel Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthea Hotel Apts

Address: Nissi Avenue | PO Box 30615, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range: $24 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anthea Hotel Apts 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anthea Hotel Apts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthea Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing