We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napa was amazing, hotel was alright...”
Review of Anthea Hotel Apts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anthea Hotel Apts
Ranked #94 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed at Anthea Hotel from the 26th July 2013 for a week with 3 friends. We were all very nervous about what to expect with the hotel due to the reviews we'd read but on arrival we were very pleasantly surprised... until we got shown our room!!
The hotel is in the perfect location, 5 mins walk from the strip but far enough away that we weren't disturbed at night and it was right near all the restaurants, shops and mcdonalds (which came in very handy!!) We were in a room across the road (above the shop) in what we called 'the slums', we walked into our room, took one look and ran back down to reception to demand to be moved! The reception staff said that we had to wait until the morning to be moved. Needless to say the first night was very uncomfortable!!
In the morning however, we had a change of heart.. we decided to stay in our room and we all agreed that it actually was alright for the price we had paid for it. Air Con is definitely worth the price!! and you can also pay for a safety deposit box although we just locked our stuff away in our suitcase everyday and night which was perfectly safe! One thing I would say is that because we weren't in the main building, the maids didn't always come in and change the sheets or towels! and they were very stingey with toilet paper so I would suggest going to the supermarket and buying your own for the week.
The main pool is lovely and they play music throughout the day to really get you in the partying mood. The food and drinks at the bar is very reasonably priced and the bar staff were all so nice. I would definitely go back to Ayia Napa and if I'm honest, despite some of it's flaws.. I would definitely stay at the Anthea Hotel again. Overall, a very lovely holiday.

Room Tip: When booking, ask to get a room in the main building.. the other buildings are a bit tacky and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 623 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here with 11 other of my mates, we stayed for one week. Our rooms were close together and spacious enough for four people to stay in. The hotel is half way between the beach and the strip, so great location. Its opposite a McDonalds and a supermarket. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently stayed at Anthea with a group of 7 other girls for a week. After reading some of the reviews on here we were very apprehensive but we could not have been more relieved when we saw our apartments! We had two apartments of four that were next door to each other in the main block. Both apartments were clean, spacious and had everything we needed. Maids came every other day and gave us clean towels, more loo roll, changed the sheets etc. The reception staff were friendly enough but a bit slow at times! It is a very lively hotel full of young people so I would definitely NOT recommend it for older people or families. As we were nearest to the main pool we didn't venture into the other two so I don't know what they're like but the main pool was very lively and played music all day, there was a bar that you could also get food from which was pretty good and reasonably priced! If you're going for a party holiday Anthea is in the perfect location, it's a five minute walk to the strip but its far away enough so that you can't hear all the noise from the strip. There's a supermarket directly opposite Anthea as well as a McDonalds and Pizza Hut, great at 5am when you're coming back from the clubs! You have to pay for air con (8 euros a day) and a safety deposit box but I would definitely say that it's worth it. One tip - don't pay for the air con for the whole time you're there in one go, pay per day as we heard from someone staying there that they payed for it for their entire stay in one go only to find out that it didn't work and the reception wouldn't change their room! Overall all eight of us LOVED Ayia Napa and would definitely go there again and stay at Anthea. Also Nissi Beach is well worth a trip in a taxi - its absolutely beautiful. We didn't have any major problems while we were out there, I'd say if you're going as a group of girls just make sure you all stick together and look out for each other and you'll be absolutely fine, and have the time of your life!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main block were safest (we stayed in 230 and 231)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

It's important you take hotels such as the Anthea off what they are. It is perfect if you're coming on holiday with a group of friends and are looking to spend the day on the beach and the evenings in the bars on the strip.

If you're not in Ayia Napa to party then it's not for you. You get a decent bed and a place to store your stuff.

The location puts you near the heart of all the nightlife and restaurants. The beach is a 5 minute walk and the strip 10 minutes - although there is plenty right outside the door.

If you take it for what it is then you'll find the Anthea is a fine place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFJ2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Where do I begin??

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in! Booked via Thomson the pictures on the website are very misleading. After booking in with a very grumpy guy who had no idea who we seemed to be, we were lead away from the maing building to what seems to be classed as block 3.

First impression made me want to turn around and jump back on the plane. Tiny room, rediculously hot, Air Con a Rip off at €8 per day and then all it seemed to make us was ill. Broken balcony! we asked to be moved but our rep didn't even care. The hole in our balocony was just boarded up and not even properly. The swimming pool in block 3 is disgusting. No sunbeds and always gets glass bottles, beer cans and balcony chairs thrown in. The locals tend to come around at the weekend and smoke drugs by the pool. Also there seems to be no rules regarding mopeds and quad bikes. They were rode around the pool late at night with no regard to anyone who were walking around.

On our first night ticket touts came around looking for sales then telling us that a girl had been raped a couple of weeks before on the short cut to the square.

We were lucky enough to eat at a nice restaurant on our second night who said we could use the pool nearby. So we did everyday and it just made up for the fact that our hotel was so rubbish.

Don't stay here! Spend the extra money and stay somewhere else. Unless you like slumming it!

Room Tip: Don't go here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Doughnut83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

the room in general was lovely, but the reception staff & manger was terrible!!
the air con was broken in my room & they refused us to move room, so we was wiithout it our entire holiday. also we got our room broken into off other people that stayed in our aparment block and they stole are quads and smashed them up the hotel did nothing about this.
its a shame because the rooms where ok, but not worth what i paid!

Room Tip: request pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jade g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel & apartments from June 29th 2013 for 7 nights! After a long trek of travelling from early morning through to the day i was knackered just wanted to get to my room and relax! However when we got to the hotel we were shown to a second building not attached to the main reception area! The receptionist just dumped us at the bottom of the stairs where we then had to lug our suitcases up 2 flights which was not the best experience! We had the worst room it was bang above the shop, had a tiny balcony no space or privacy to do anything!! everyone from every angle could see into our room!! The toilet was leaking when we got there and throughout our stay, we had only one flat pillow each and after asking reception to sort out both these problems we heard nothing for the rest of our stay!! Our sheets didn't get changed throughout the week! Our fridge was brown and smeared, it smelt rank and had brown dirt running out of the shelves! The Showers a joke has no power also the cold and hot taps just have a mind of there own! We met some people staying in the same block as us and there shower had the WORST leak there whole room was flooded i felt so sorry for them! The hotel had over 800 guests staying whilst we were there and there's 3 pools! however there's only 2 pools you can use the small pool attached to our block was FILTHY! and had no sunbeds! How a hotel can have 800 guests staying and not even have 100 sunbeds is beyond me! This was a last minute cheap deal for us however looking back i really wished i would have paid more and at least had an enjoyable place to rest my head!! I read some of the reviews for this hotel and i chose to ignore and think it couldn't be as bad as it seems! but trust me it is, nobody seems to care about your stay! Ill never stay again and definitely wont recommend. stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Dont stay in the block above the shop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
#57 of 102 in Ayia Napa
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#50 of 102 in Ayia Napa
388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
#98 of 102 in Ayia Napa
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chrysland Hotel
Chrysland Hotel
#76 of 102 in Ayia Napa
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Senator Hotel Apartments
Senator Hotel Apartments
#19 of 102 in Ayia Napa
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
#96 of 102 in Ayia Napa
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthea Hotel Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthea Hotel Apts

Address: Nissi Avenue | PO Box 30615, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range: $31 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anthea Hotel Apts 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anthea Hotel Apts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthea Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing