We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Hotel”
Review of Anthea Hotel Apts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anthea Hotel Apts
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel for 18-30's. We was made aware when we booked that this was a party hotel. On arrival reception staff were very helpful, as my fiancée was on crutches we asked for a ground floor room and we was given one that was only a short distance to the pool/reception and restaurant. The rooms are basic but clean and tidy. We was half board and the options for breakfast was Full English, Continential or Scrambled Egg/beans on toast. Evening option consisted of starter, main and desert. Could not fault the food or service at all.
The pool area was cleaned every morning by being swept and hosed down. The pool bar staff were very welcoming and chatty. If you go, as him about his Chicken !!
Our Rep (Amo) from Olympic holidays was around when we needed him.
My fiancé found it hard to get around town on the crutches so another Rep (Zak Leverett) from Thomas Cook got us a wheelchair which made our week in Napa so much more enjoyable.
Outstanding weather for anyone who is a sun lover, otherwise just enjoy the party atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 616 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels and hostels around the world and I can honestly say this was the worst experience.
The hotel staff were incredibly rude and unhelpful.
The hotel itself was a complete rip-off, air conditioning cost €150 for our apartment, and they made it very difficult to claim your refund by giving a reciept on the smallest piece of paper imaginable.
Our bed sheets were only changed ONCE during my weeks stay despite asking the cleaners to sort it out.
The hotel also took our passports off of us upon arrival and kept them in open and exposed shelves on the front desk, which was un-manned at various points of the day, anybody could have taken them! When I asked to have my passport back , staff were also reluctant.
Another problem was that the grounds of the hotel were very dangerous. There were no lights surrounding our apartments so we had to use lights from our phones to direct us to the right room when coming back of an evening. What made this worse was that there was some slippy stone flooring, some was uneven concrete with big lumps sticking up, could have caused very fatal accidents. There were also broken handrails which were not fixed into the ground which could have also caused fatal accidents.
Another problem was that we were meant to be staying in a self catering apartment, yet there were no bowls in our apartments, only plates - so eating cereal was near impossible. And when we asked staff for some bowls we were told we had to buy them ourself. Also there was a drawer on the floor for cutlery. Very unhygienic.
I could go on forever about the poor service in this hotel. Staff were incredibly rude and did everything in their power to exploit their guess, especially the young people.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gracieeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Warning !!! Do not got here, this place needs knocking down!!! Rooms are awful !!! The staff don't give a toss about there guests.. Glass bottles were being thrown from balconys into the pool And around it. Constant knocking and banging ALL night !! In our group we had 2 rooms and we had to checkout and book into another hotel halfway through our holiday, at a cost of £900. And we're lucky to find somewhere that had could take us in,( I literally walked from hotel to hotel) when we did check out of anthea they just laughed at us... We felt totally unsafe here, as for the rooms the curtains were wrecked, lights hanging off the wall, holes in the doors, door knobs busted etc.. I got told buy a local these apartments are funded by local government and the people running them just dont care.. If your thinking of going here ,, think again!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Biglee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Booked the Anetha from 08 August to 22 August 2012. My family had stayed in the hotel seven years previous and recommended it.

When we arrived at the hotel at 21.00pm we checked in, paid for air con and safe box and headed towards our room. The room was up two flights of stairs and was tiny, with a thin door, which opened onto another room, where music was playing loudly and the floor of the room was soaking. We then went to reception to ask to be moved to another room as we thought it was
unsuitable as my partner has bad asthma and was two flights of stairs was too far to walk, and also the room was very dirty. We were moved to another room. This room was bigger, no cleaner and the air con was not working. We went back to reception to complain about the air con. One tall, large built man (who was the only helpful person we encountered out of any of the staff) escorted us up to the room. On entering the room he had to remove his shirt and wipe the sweat off his face and estimated the room temperature to be around 50c! He had said that sometimes you have to hit this air con unit for it to work and he proceeded to hit it!! He also tried poking at part of it with a bread knife that he took out of the kitchenette area. Once
convinced it was not working we went back to reception to get another air con remote and then back to the room to try it. It too did not work. (I had left my partner at reception as it was too much walking for her). So back to reception again! He explained to an older man at the desk who then proceeded to take us back to the same room. His idea after poking at a remote that clearly was not providing any functionality to the unit on the wall was to take me outside for 5 minutes in the hope that the room would cool down. I was now explaining that this was not acceptable and that we could not stay in a room with no air con (after paying nearly €100 for it for the 2 weeks), it was a joke, and it was proving very difficult for my girlfriend to breathe in such a warm room. At this point it was getting too much for my girlfriend who was very emotional by this point and broke down into tears. The man was not sympathetic and very rude, and started to swear at me. Eventually he moved us into another room. This room also was far from ideal, but because of the late time, the back and forth to reception and being exhausted we took the room as it had working air conditioning. In the morning when we got a chance to look at it we were far from impressed. The windows did not lock, there was exposed electrical wiring in the balcony and behind the fridge. The sink was missing the earth wire underneath it, it was hanging off. The air-con although working was leaking badly and left wet brown stains down the wall, the water leaked past live electrical sockets and because of the leaking the floor was constantly wet, and had bad mould on the wall beside the unit. The bed had ants running over it and round the headboard, we had to buy insecticide from the incredible universe across the street. The floors were disgusting, hairs and dirt everywhere. The maids must have only been in once, we did not have clean towels our whole stay even asking at reception. The bins were not emptied for 4 days, especially the bathroom one which required you to put all paper in the bin and not down the toilet, so you can imagine the smell. Our bed was only changed once. The pool area was appalling, rubbish all around the side, chairs in the pool, sun lounger covers, bottles floating, sandals, rubbish and even sick all in the pool! I never saw the pool being cleaned or tested once. They filed it up with a hose, that was it. We had broken plugs and light switches, and the shower curtain was screwed into the ceiling panel. The bathroom was terrible, mould in the grout dirty toilet and shower, no clean towels - we actually had to buy new towels to use. Without a doubt the worst place i have ever stayed, it ruined our holiday as we were over for a wedding. We actually had to leave on the 19th August and PAID to move into the anesis to see out the remainder of our visit - a palace by comparison. Although we had been round most of the hotels from the 10th august asking if they had availability but all were full because of the cypriot holidays.

Breakfast was only 2 options, toast or full english, and although extremely limited, was the best part of the hotel experience.

Room Tip: Dont go here would be the tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rwvh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

just come back from a weeks holiday with the girls, if you are a young group then yes choose this hotel. i wouldnt recomend it to families or couples as its more for the young party type. the one thing i will stress to you is, if you go and they try to palm you off with the back building, room numbers 300+ say no! they should change your room if you put a complaint in. we got a room change the very next morning. the back building is seperate from the main hotel, chairs floating in the pool, ants nests in the rooms and windows that dont even shut?! not very safe. when we got the transfer we were much happier. its a great location to the main bars and clubs. recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

for the price i was paying i couldnt expect any more. you get what you pay for. the staff were really friendly and always happy to help as long as you are as nice to them as they are to you. the rooms are basic but the only time i was in the room was to sleep,shower or change. you dont go to ayia napa to sit in a hotel room and look for things to find wrong. the air con needed a deposit to get the remote which was fine and had no problems getting the money back. the room was a little run down but did the job fine. the location couldnt be any better it was 100m from the main clubs!! The maids did try to come in to clean the room but as we were very hung over we asked them to just change towels which we were happy with. after a few days they came later once we were up and did a full clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anza_989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Well well well where can i start u advertise this hotel as family hotel not a cat in hells chance i wouldnt take my pet there more like 18-30s!!! The hygeine of the maids is discusting we had our sheets changed once for our whole stay and it was the day before we left bloody nasty eww they dont even clean or sweep the poll area was appauling girls screaming at stupid hours in the morning and basting music all day and night when u do finally get to sleep the bloody bells from the church start chiming never ever stay at the anthea hotel apartments ayia napa

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keliyah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.5 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
#97 of 102 in Ayia Napa
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#50 of 102 in Ayia Napa
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
Napa Prince Hotel Apartments
#47 of 102 in Ayia Napa
221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christabelle Hotel Apartments
Christabelle Hotel Apartments
#57 of 102 in Ayia Napa
284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrysland Hotel
Chrysland Hotel
#75 of 102 in Ayia Napa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthea Hotel Apts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthea Hotel Apts

Address: Nissi Avenue | PO Box 30615, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range: $25 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anthea Hotel Apts 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anthea Hotel Apts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthea Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing