We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great pool, shame about the bar staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anmaria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anmaria Hotel
Ranked #54 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
chelmsford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great pool, shame about the bar staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Anmaria is one of a chain of tsokkos hotels, built in a good location just on the fringe of the centre of Ayia napa with views of the sea which is a 5 minute walk away to a rocky shore line. Nissi beach is a 35 minute walk along a lovely coastal route, or 1 euro on the bus. walking the oppersite way one can walk to the harbour and large sandy beach (go to the centre of the beach to avoid the rocks) this walk will take 20 minutes.

The pool area is outstanding, surrounded with palm trees, plenty of sun beds with views of the sea and is kept spotless, the only complaint is the bar staff, Dimitris and Anna which are the most sour faced pair you could meet and not a please or thank you from them for the whole fortnight, (no wonder the tips jar was always empty).

The rooms are a bit on the small size with a tiny fridge and most of them (that we saw) could do with redecorating, the maids were in each day to make the beds and change the towels etc., and we always got a smile and hello from them (they should be put behind the bar).

Not going to say to much about the food as personal taste can vary hugely only to say the choice of food could be better, the local wine is good and the lamb is very good.
The entertainment was good up to a point , theres 3 girls that really do a great job ( 2 Emmas and Steph ) really good singers but a bit of veriation would have been good.

My general view is that the reception and pool are 4 star but the rest is struggling and the sound proofing is terrible between rooms, but on the whole a lovely hotel to spend a week or two, would l go there again ?........probably not.

Room Tip: watch out for over booking,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    99
    68
    26
    19
See reviews for
83
122
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Excellent hotel sited near beach, within 10 min walk to centre of Aya Napa but far enough away to be not troubled with night life. Rooms are showing there age but cleaned daily and food on All inclusive is excellent. entertainment at night in the Hotel is Bingo and other games not my taste but ok. Pool is big and well maintained with plenty of Sunbeds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewNorthEastUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just returned from 12 nights at the Anmaria which was spoilt by their policy that you can't eat any meals outside!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank goodness we were only B&B. On our first morning we went down to breakfast to a very dark & dingy dining room. We opened the patio doors & took our breakfast outside only to be shouted at from the door by the restaraunt manager that we couldn't eat outside it was against the law. We refused to come in & the door was slammed. We asked to speak to the manager & was greeted by a girl calling herself Maria she also said it was the policy of the hotel that all meals are eaten indoors, except snacks which of course if you pay for them you can eat them outside! when we asked her why she just said 'because'. I said this wasn't a good enough explaination but she couldn't give another reason. The following day we again sat outside with our breakfast only to be sworn at by the manager & the door slammed in our faces. I don't think it is too much to ask to want to eat your breakfast outside if that is what you want, there are tables just outside where the breakfast is set up but nobody dares go outside in case you get shouted at. I will be complaining to their head office but doubt I will get anywhere.

The hotel itself is lovely but as others have said perhaps needs a facelift. The grounds are kept beautiful & the staff work very hard. There is a lot wrong with the hotel though:-
You are charged 2 euros a day to use the fridge
There are no tea making facities in the rooms
The beds are so hard it's like sleeping on the floor
The rooms are very tired & in need of redecoration
The music around the pool is so loud it is not restful
The beach is horrible, very rocky & no easy access to the sea. The beds are managed by the council but they are dirty & unkempt.

They had overbooked the rooms & kept asking if people wanted to go across the road to AvaBelle apartments which looked horrible, we witnessed a couple arrive at about 11pm only to be told they didn't have a room for them, not good if you have been traveling all day.

We will never go back to the Anmaria which is a shame because the location of the hotel is perfect just on the edge of all the shops & bars. You can get a great lunch & beer at Gary's Bar just to the right of the hotel much cheaper than going all inclusive at the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool become very hot in the afternoon because of the postion of the sun. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suecroxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed at the Anmaria for a week celbrating our 25th wedding anniversay. 3rd time to Ayia Napa, 1st time at Anmaria. The hotel was spotless, staff very nice and very helpful. We were half board and the food was good, plenty to choose from. Cleanliness of hotel was excellent. The location of the hotel was great too. Will definately go back and would 100% recommend it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fionaconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Anmaria Hotel on a half board basis for a fortnight. The hotel was excellent with good food, helpful staff, good pool, clean and very centrally located. We would definitely go back there.

Anmaria is situated very centrally and close to shops, beaches, restaurants, the square and local bars. You are also sufficiently away from the square so that you don’t get all the noise. The local bars at the end of nissi avenue usually have good entertainment on and there is a good selection of places to go to.

You are only a 20 minute walk/ 5 min bus journey to the excellent nissi beach or limanaki beach. Both are just great beaches which have great views, very very clear water, activities or sun loungers if you want to relax. We were at the beaches most days during our stay as they were just so great.

There is a bus stop nearby the hotel and for 2 euro you can get a day return ticket will take you to waterpark, nissi beach, limanaki beach, konos bay, protaras, paralimni or you can get another bus which will take you to larnaca or north cyprus from there. There is also a taxi rank just outside the hotel.

The pool was really nice and probably the best feature of the hotel. There were always sun loungers available and we thought the entertainment staffs were good fun when we were at the pool.

There is a different menu every night and something for everyone to eat. At breakfast there is a selection of breakfast options from English breakfast to continental. We had a 3 course meal each evening meal.

We found all the staff were helpful and pleasant and we thought they delivered a good service.

It costs 2 euros per day to hire a fridge in the room and you have to buy your drinks with dinner if you are half board – we bought water at cost of 2.60 euro per day.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool and sea. This was probably the best rooms to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We tried to stay at Anmaria hotel this June, but upon ariving at the hotel at 4 a.m. we were told that hotel is overbooked and there was no room for the 6 of us coming in the midle of the night.

We were terrified and dissapointed so much that I can't even describe. Receptionist was an old rude man with no understanding, nice word or anything similar for us, repeating that he came at 11 p.m. with no clue what is going on and nothing to do for us. It is even now hard to describe how awful we felt choosing Anmaria hotel for our honeymoon which was ruined with this unfortunate event.

If only we have choosen some decent hotel everything would be all right, but we were not clever enough.

Receptionist offered a free taxi ride (and kept saying that it was free, which was not relevant at the moment at all) to the other hotel we have never seen or heard for, wiht no other solution or at least a nice word for us.

Managers were not reachable, there was no way for us to get to anyone competent, but when I think twice, overbooking hotel they were obviously not that competent at all.

My advice is to choose some decent place for your vacation, because we don't have time to spend dealing with unprofessional incompetent people like Anmaria staff and to start our vacations or honeymoons with such a disaster like we had.

We ended up in other hotel staying for the rest of our honeymoon just trying to forget what we've been through thanks to Anmaria staff.

Never again even near to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank G1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

my sister has put her review on here so all i can say is what she has put. amazing hotel as soon as we pulled up on our arrival it looked lovely.
like she said staff so friendly from reception, bar staff, restaurant staff, maids, and of course not forgetting the 3 lovely girls from the entertainment team.
oh and musnt forget our rep hollie she was so friendly.
food was amazing never ate so much and tried so much.
always got sunbeds round pool. nice breeze as right near beach.
we had view overlooking the pool and beach it was amazing.
cant fault this hotel was amazing.......
we will all go back.
thanks to everyone here for an amazing holiday.

Helpful?
2 Thank poppyKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Panas Holiday Village
Panas Holiday Village
#49 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#10 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
#14 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bella Napa Bay Hotel
Bella Napa Bay Hotel
#52 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stamatia Hotel
Stamatia Hotel
#43 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#7 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anmaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anmaria Hotel

Property: Anmaria Hotel
Address: Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#30 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#36 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anmaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated on Nissi Avenue and offers a warm welcoming atmosphere. Set in beautiful gardens with exotic palm trees, directly on the beach offering magnificent views of the Ayia Napa coastline. The lively center of Ayia Napa is just a few minutes walk, where guests are spoiled with the large choice of restaurants and bars. The lagoon shaped pool, surrounded by well tended greenery, is a pure indulgence for all ages. The comfortable guestrooms, the great selection of activities and facilities combined with the relaxing atmosphere makes it an ideal choice for a memorable holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, World Independent Hotel Promotion and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anmaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anmaria Hotel Ayia Napa
Anmaria Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing