We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs complete overhaul.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Electra Holiday Village
Ranked #57 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Needs complete overhaul.”
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Plus points
Good beachfront location only4/5 minutes from nice small bay (lovely cooling breeze), only 20 minutes to centre.
Staff helpful & pleasant.
Reasonable self catering facilities.
It really is family focused and everyone seemed happy enough.

As we were self catering I cannot comment on food and drink,
and we preferred the beach to the chewing gummed pool and bar area, so can't comment on there either.

Minus points.
Fixtures & fitting dated.
Public areas drab and no air conditioning. (didn't attend entertainment as venue was so smokey due to lack/or broken extraction system.
Pool area covered in chewing gum (guests fault, not hotels, but yuk!).
Lift in main building smelt apalling the whole of our holiday, but had to use it to get to our studio on 2nd floor.
Bed sheets threadbare and towels were full of moth holes (not a big deal we were only there for a week).
Studio wasn't that clean and maid service left a lot to be desired.
Sand trailed in on shoes etc was never swept up, pidgeon dropping on balcony day 1 still there day 7. No brushes available to sweep it up ourselves. Bed covers often just pulled back up and bottom sheets left crumpled from night before.
Gunge on bathroom walls day we arrived still there day 7. If you want to know how dirty just rub a piece of toilet paper over the tiles and you'll find out.

It could be made into a fantastic complex but they really need to close the place and totally re-vamp it, then it might warrant its 3* plus rating.

  • Liked — Beachfront location.
  • Disliked — drab/dated public areas.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    249
    104
    62
    49
See reviews for
488
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

arrived at the electra just before midnight we were in room 1811 the staff on reception wasnt very helpful in telling how to find our room which is hard to find when theres no lights about! the pool was great really big and plenty of sun loungers the food was great too tho the staff are miserable and rude that serve it especially robert the entertainment was corny and far too loud you can tell towards the end of our stay the sound system actually went up in smoke niki is lovely very helpful and very friendly only writing this reveiw to warn people who are young and going clubbing in aiya napa my 2 eldest daughters and boyfriend were attacked by some turks there my daughter spent 1 night in hospital my daughters boyfriend 3 nights they beat him badly so if you do go believe me be careful and can i just say after the attack the reps in the electra were great and so were the other guests thanks to everyone concerned but that done it for us we will never go back to cyprus

  • Liked — rooms and food
  • Disliked — the waiters
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank joannehs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2008

I was a bit apprehensive after seeing some of the reviews, but overall I was pleasantly surprised.

Me and my wife (mid 40s) both like to eat out, have a drink or two and the odd dance, but also want a bit of comfort and peace and quiet so we can catch up on our sleep.

Electric Village is situated just off Nissi Avenue, directly behind pizza hut, next to Simos Magic apartments and virtually on the sea front, approximately half way between Nissi Beach and the centre of Ayia Napa. It was 15-20 minutes to walk to Nissi beach or about the same to walk into the centre.

We didn't go all inclusive, but there are plenty of restaurants close by, mainly up on Nissi Avenue - we tried Simos Magic one morning for breakfast, which was 'ok', but we usually went to the interestingly named 'Cockwell Inn' which is opposite the turning for Sandy bay. Despite being run by a Liverpool supporter, the service was great and the breakfast was superb.

We ate out in the evening once up near Nissi beach, but usually walked into the centre of Ayia Napa, just to give us a bit more choice and a bit more night life - the bars along Nissi Avenue seemed to be full of miserable looking oldies, singing along to karaoke or Elvis or Robbie Williams' lookalikes - each to their own, but that wasn't my thing.

Our favourite restaurant was a place called Paradosiako Magirio Moonlight just beyond the centre of the village, the food, service and price were all superb.

As for the accommodation, check-in was a bit slow with just one person on and you could easily be 68 Euros lighter by the time you'd checked in - there was a deposit for the air conditioning remote, tv remote and safe key, plus a charge for the use of the safe. Having said that, free air conditioning was a bonus, and as someone else said, the key holder was broken, so you could just leave the air con on all day and come back to a nice cool room in the evening- even the maids seemed happy to leave the air con on all day.

We had a one bedroom apartment, just far enough away from the bar and pool to not get bothered by any noise. Our balcony over looked the car park and faced Simos Magic, so we could sit and there and people watch after a night out. The room was clean and spacious with a fridge, some kind of oven and some hotplates - we just made tea and coffee and kept our beer and wine in the fridge. The bathroom was clean and tidy with a reasonable shower above the bath, there were no issues with water or water pressure.

I saw some reports about ants, but we didn't see any insects at all. The room was cleaned about three or four times in the week, with clean sheets and towels provided at the same time.
It was easy enough to go and ask the maids for clean towels every day.

The on site shop was pretty handy, selling virtually everything you needed, it was reasonable priced, open long hours and had daily English newspapers.

The pool was fantastic, very big and enough room to keep yourself to yourself, there were also plenty of sun beds around the pool and we never had any problems finding a couple of free ones.

All in all, we were very pleased with the accommodation and Ayia Napa in general, we've been a few times in the past, but never in September - it was difficult to beat, the weather was fantastic, hot, but not unbearable, the sea was warm, the resort had a buzz about it, but wasn't too busy and most of the 'kiddies' (18-22 year olds going just for the nightlife and the opportunity to shout 'Oi Oi' continuously) had either gone home or have moved onto Zante or somewhere else this summer.

The only slight downside was the overall chaos at Larnaca airport on the way home - that was just down to the sheer number of people (possibly caused by the large number effected by the XL collapse the previous week) and the number of people on the plane who insisted on dragging a screaming baby with them.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank born-in-cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter, devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

we have just returned from an all enclusive week at the electra village our ages ranged between 10-67,there were 12 of us! we all thoroughly enjoyed it. we were abit worried about a some of the reviews we read but all i can say is dont believe all you read!

The rooms were fine but could do with a bit of an update, but ok if u just use it as a base. the air-con doesnt work unless you leave the key in the electric but room 1013 was great cuz where you put the key in was broke so our air-con was on all day and night. fantastic!! the cleaning ladies work hard and are friendly but could do with a few more wet floor signs as i slipped on the stairs. the pool is great' we spent quite a lot of time in it altough the lifeguard didnt seem to watch the pool, he was reading the paper most of the time! it was cleaned early every morning around people who had already claimed there sunloungers for the day!!

the food was fab, different themes everynight and great choices the drinks were abit flat on a few occasions but that really doesnt matter when you are gagging for a drink. watch the measures tho, we had half a pint of baileys and huge vodkas, and theres carlesberg and keo beers and lots more. theres so many choices on the snack and lunch menus, we couldnt believe it!

the entertainment was a bit cheesy but thats just our opinion a lot of people seemed to enjoy it and the kids.

The beach is not great but just down the road is nissi beach which is well worth a visit. we hired cars so were lucky enough to go sight seeing as well as i dont think we could have stood it on a coach in the heat as it was so hot but lovely. the waterpark is a must although quite expensive but ok if you are there all day.

We all had a fantastic time and would not hesitate in going back again. i hope this review is helpfull to anyone lucky enough to be staying at the electra village.

  • Liked — the pool and food and drink
  • Disliked — could do with updating
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank redbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2008

I stayed at the electra village cyprus in august 2008 all inclusive, with my mum and brother. When we arrived at larnaca airport we had at 45 minute coach journey to the electra which was fine as the coach was air conditioned, when we arrived at the electra we collected our room key and made our way to our room, to later discover a rather dissapointing view...a bush! We put that behind us to begin our holiday in ayia napa at the electra village.

Food/drink :-
breakfast is good offering cooked english meals, cereals, yoghurts, toast, fruit juices, coffee and tea, etc.
Lunch is the best meal of them all, you order your meal from a menu offering great variety i would recommend.. tuna pockets or spaghetti bol with garlic bread.
Dinner is themed differently every evening slightly dissapointing compared to lunch meals as the combonations are strange. Themes include mexican, english, chef's choice, italian, british etc.
Drinks - soft drinks are from the tap slightly flat and bit watered down but you don't care when your hot, bottled water is also avaliable free on all inclusive basis. I didn't really have any alcoholic drinks so i wouldn't know but my brother seemed to like the free keo! Although many other people under the age of 18 were being served alcohol.

Entertainment -
Where do i begin...
It was cringe, cringe! The male evening entertainer seems to like to take the mickey out of children in order to make other people laugh which is really mean.I have to be honest everything about the evening entertainment makes you cringe! The evening male entertainer needs to learn how children work and stop taking the mickey out of them and picking on them thinking this will make other people laugh. Entertainment was pretty much the same every night. Starting off with the kids mini disco at 20:45 which was quite funny to watch if you've got young kids, followed by the raffle game then the bingo game then either karaoke or something awful like a magic show or comedy acts!
I would say the only thing that i really enjoyed about the entertainment was the water aerobics in the pool during the day-time. My brother also took part in the water polo.
May i also add if you don't want to buy any raffle tickets or any bingo cards, the entertainers will make you feel guilty which i think is just plain rude.

Pool area -
The pool area is spacious with many sunbeds which are rather uncomfortable. The pool is big and heats up throughout the day as the sun shines down on it. The area around the pool seemed fairly clean, so did the pool. Bewarned the lifeguard is hardly every near the pool.

Weather -
The weather was great! Very hot high 30's everyday, air conditioning is a must when staying in cyprus!
When we were staying at the electra we experienced a sandstorm which was...interesting!

Rooms-
We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and clean, with a fridge, kettle, toaster, mini over and hobs, aswell as a television. The room could have of been better if we had a better view but apart from that it was great.

Staff-
Bar staff are okay although they don't always know who they should serve next which can be very annoying.

Beach -
The beach is fine if you walk towards the watersports on the right as there are less rocks there.

Overall -
Great weather
Poor entertainment
Nice pool, gets busy.

  • Liked — The weather!
  • Disliked — Entertainment
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank my_screen_name777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We have just come back from a weeks stay at the electra hotel,
myself my husband and 2 young children aged 5 and 2 ,
we had a lovely time its a great hotel for kiddies the rooms are clean and spacious,
the weather was extremely hot a bit to hot at times in all honesty,
we thought the service and food were v goodThe entertainment was great for all the family,
are only fault was the room were the entartainment was on was far to hot something needs to be done to cool the room down it was a shame as that let the hotel down,
but overall good hotel.

  • Disliked — the heat in the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yamas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Sussex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Just returned from a great couple of weeks at the Electra Village. When we booked we paid a little extra for sea view which was great, we were in room 1211 right at the front of the hotel. We had a one bedroom apartment which was very spacious, with a fridge which is great for putting in cold drinks and chocolate (yum yum). Be careful when the maids have cleaned the room because they don't dry the floors and we all slipped.

You have to pay a deposit for the air conditioning and TV remote which is 17 Euros each, which you get back at the end of your holiday. Unfortunately you only get one key for room, which was a bit of a pain with a teenage daughter wanting to arrive late home.

The complex was lovely with plenty of daytime activities (Nicki and Annis are great) and get everyone involved. The kids and hubby loved killer darts and killer pool. The evening entertainment was mostly done by Nicki and Annis (which always started off with mini disco, raffle and bingo). My husband got roped into a couple of shows. The club dance (Finger song) is wicked, we are still doing it at home!!!! The evening entertainment can be a little crowded so if you want a good seat it is best to go to dinner a little earlier.

The bar staff are very attentive and we had lots to drink - try the cocktails (especially San Franscico, Tequila Sunrise and Pina Colada), we also had a lot of Baileys (which locally is called Willy's!!).

We went all inclusive which is well worth it. Breakfast is great with normal cereals, fried stuff, yoghurts and fruit. There is also continental breakfast (ham, cheese, salad, olives etc). The croissants are served warm. The toaster is a bit of a nightmare, you stand ages waiting for it to toast as it has to go round twice. Breakfast is from 7.30 - 10.00am.

Lunch time is the best - you can choose anything from the bar menu which is great. Ice-creams are available all day - cornet with an assortment of flavours. Snacks are served between 11.30am and 6pm.

Dinner time is lovely for adults which lots of choice - but not alot of choice for kids. Only chips plus one other thing. Desserts are rather boring also - just mousse, cake and fruit. No ice-cream which we were a bit disappointed in. Dinner is from 7-9.30pm.

There was ten of us in our party so it worked out very expensive to hire a car, so we booked a couple of trips with First Choice. The first one was Undersea Walking which was great. I was a bit apprehensive at first. You put on a wetsuit and you have a helmet on which is attached to an oxygen tube. You walk down a ladder to the bottom of the sea (about 10ft) and walk along the bottom feeding the fish. It is great. This is ideal for non-swimmers. This trip was about £180 english pounds for four of us.

The other trip was on the Raptor speed boat which was amazing. The guide took you to Famagusta to show you the ghost town where the Turks invaded Cyprus and all the inhabitants had to leave immediately. You can't go too close though as it still cordoned off by sea and land. We then stopped off at a couple of coves to swim. We reached 50 knots and the kids thought it was great.

The water park is great for those daredevils out there - but I only succombed to the lazy river and one flume. The kids and my husband thought it was really good - but it is 30 euros per adult and 16 euros for the under 12s.

The beach by the hotel is rocky but great for crabbing. We bought a net and got bacon & bread from breakfast and fed the crabs and fish. There is alot of water sports available - paragliding, pedalos, speedboats etc.

The only downside to our holiday was my son was poorly for a day and spent the day in bed and my husband had an ear infection. The local chemist was really good and he got ear drops. The ear infection we think came from the swimming pool as alot of kids had one too. The weather is extremely hot, late 30degrees - so be mindful of that. We sat in the shade alot..

There is alot of friendly families there and it is great to meet lots of different people.

Whoever goes to the Electra Village - hope you have a great time!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere, great staff (especially entertainment team)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathfield6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.4 mi away
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
#14 of 106 in Ayia Napa
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Callisto Holiday Village
Callisto Holiday Village
#31 of 106 in Ayia Napa
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panas Holiday Village
Panas Holiday Village
#47 of 106 in Ayia Napa
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort
Olympic Lagoon Resort
#3 of 106 in Ayia Napa
2,454 reviews
1.1 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
1,461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aktea Beach Village
Aktea Beach Village
#37 of 106 in Ayia Napa
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Holiday Village

Property: Electra Holiday Village
Address: 1 Petraris Street | Water Park Resort, Ayia Napa 5343, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Electra Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SPLASH, ELECTRA HOLIDAY VILLAGE, AYIA NAPAAn attractive holiday village traditionally styled, 1.5 km away from the center of Ayia Napa close to all the restaurants, pubs and shops. OFFICIAL CATEGORY: Class A’ACCOMMODATION:Total number of Apartments: 124 Apartments (62 Studios & 62 One Bedroom) Studio: Open plan lounge with kitchenette, A/C, direct dial telephone, TV with radio channels, oven, kettle, toaster, mini fridge, safe box, bath/shower, balcony or terrace. One bedroom Apartments: One twin bedded room with A/C, direct dial telephone, safe box. Open plan lounge with kitchenette, TV with radio channels, oven, kettle, toaster, mini fridge, bath/shower, balcony or terrace.Superior rooms: Upgraded studios and one bedroom apartments featuring additionally microwave, hairdryer, coffee maker and jacuzzi. RESTAURANT & BARS:Okeanos Restaurant: Our indoor restaurant serving throughout the day a wide variety of international and local specialties with an extended choice of local wines. Also serving daily a rich breakfast buffet.Okeanos Open Air Restaurant: Adjacent to Okeanos Restaurant, serving throughout the summer months a wide variety of international and local specialties. Poseidon Indoor & Outdoor Bar: Enjoy a great variety of exotic cocktails, special coffees and all-time favourite classic drinks in a relaxed atmosphere.LEISURE AND SPORTS:A large outdoor swimming pool, children’s paddle, indoor swimming pool, fitness room, activities pool, sauna, massage.OTHER FACILITIES:Reception, lounge, public rooms, games area, children’s playroom, mini shop and internet corner.ENTERTAINMENT AND ANIMATION: Animation program throughout the day for the whole family, weekly folkloric show and special theme buffet nights.CONFERENCE FACILITIES:Conference facilities for up to 100 people. FEATURESNo of Multi lane slides: 1No of speed slides : 2No of Feature slides: 1( mini side winder)No of Kids slides: 2 with multi level play structureNo of Lazy rivers: 1 with interactive featuresNo of Tube slides: 2( flume type)No of Wave pools: 1Opening hours for the water park: 10h00 to 18h00 May to October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Electra Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Electra Holiday Village Hotel Ayia Napa
Electra Holiday Village Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing