We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing wedding and holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grecian Sands Hotel
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

just back from grecian sands.had 10 nite holiday with 15 in total and got married in hotel grounds.1 word amazing holiday and wedding.very clean.amazing staff.breakfast was perfect plenty offered.hairdressers and beauticians at hotel was brill the staff very good.lovely personalities.the wedding day was absolutely gorgeous.llike paradise.the hotel has its own wedding co ordinator who is english and who is very proffessional and gave outstanding attention to detail.hotel in great location close enough to dander to main shops and restaurants.there is 2 supermarkets across the road which also had lovely staff.even nicer than some shops at home!! hotel is on beach so u can go a stroll a in morning when its quiet before b,fast which was just brill.you also have all your watersports for hire just on beach at the hotel.ayia napa lovely place to stay lots off lovely places to eat to suit all budgets.and it has lovely marina.

Room Tip: i had standard room with myself.husband and teenager.it is worth payin for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 718 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

My daughter got married here in September 2012. It was the most incredible week of my life! The staff couldn't do enough for us. Rooms were spotless, food excellent and the position of the hotel faultless! A few steps to a beautiful golden beach, with a large quantity of great quality loungers. We had the usual worries about the wedding day, afternoon reception & evening reception but in retrospect should not have been concerned. Cheradie was amazing. The trip to the town hall was arranged, Greek dancers & disco all sorted for us, and the day ran like a dream! I cannot praise this hotel enough - cant wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angiepenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were here for 2wks,in the middle of our holiday we got married at the Grecian Sands!!
As a holiday it was brilliant,great having the beach so close and large pool,never a problem getting loungers,fresh towels everyday!!
When we first arrived our room was not what we thought,very small,a cot for our 3yr old.but after my husband saying to them,we were moved straight away to an amazing room,lots of room a big double pull out sofa bed for our son,big balcony,the staff at this hotel are fantastic and really look after you!!
As for our wedding,cheradie the hotel wedding planner is absolutely amazing!!she made our day free of stress,it ran so smoothly,loved every minute of our day.the decor the food everything was just amazing,better than we thought,the views of the roof top terrace just blow you away!!
Wed love to come back,a great hotel!!:-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had our wedding here in 2006. This was my fourth wedding (not really relevant to my review) and was the best day I could every imagine. I am a very laid back kind of person so the only things I did before I went was gather the correct paperwork, invite friends and family and bought mine and husbands clothes. I did worry the day before we left for our holiday but 24 hours on and I relaxed after seeing the wedding coordinator ( cheradie wasn't there then obviously ) and the hotel manager. 2 weeks of pure relaxation and fun and a very special day are memories that we and our guests reminisce over frequently. Town hall appointments where made, appointments with hairdresser and make up where made, cake cutting area and champagne toast arranged and the hardest thing I had to do from this was to choose the food for our meal and write the place settings.
This hotel was amazing and made our guests and ourselves at ease every step of the way.
I am not a luxury kind of gal but this certainty felt luxurious to me ;-) we are looking at renewing our vows for our 10th anniversary and I know from people that I speak to that the place has worked hard to keep the feel as I remember.
How anyone can be critical of different nationalities being catered for in the 20th century I will never know! The person in question should have socialised a bit more and got to know them as in the great quotes.... Never judge a book by its cover..... And clothes do not maketh the man.
A trip to Grecian Sands is well worth a visit and am sure you will be back for more :-)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank fatboyandmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We got married here last year and have come back this year for our 1st Anniversary.

This is what all our guests & friends said! (The best holiday we've EVER had!).
What made their holiday the best was: -
Clean spacious Hotel with excellent views; Friendly Helpful Staff; Fantastic Beach front Location; 2 Great Pools (although the inside one is Freezing - which is great when you're over heating in the sun and brave enough to try it! Close enough to walk to town but far enough away not to get any of the noise!
This hotel has everything you want and more.

Room Tip: Even some of the rooms which are not technically sea view seem to have some view of it! Anyway, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I went to my cousins wedding in the Grecian Sands last October. It was the first time I had been to a wedding abroad. The location was beautiful with views over the ocean and everything went very well. I had an amazing day with family and would love to go again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank judy17_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Though the reception staff was extremely cordial and helpful, yet this is all what you will get at the Grecian, the problems start from teh minute you step in the room which I will itemize as follows:
1- Rooms are small and the recent renovation fell very short of what a 4 star hotel should be.
2-Ceiling are cracked and bugs are plentiful.
3-Floors are very noisy and doors slam the whole day.
4-The Sunbathing area is used by non-customers of the hotel and there isn't enough lounge chairs for patrons.
5-Majority of hotel guests are from one nationality that are offered very cheap packages, they are loud, rude, and their fashion statement is antiquated and no a pretty sight to look at.
6-Hotel bar is deserted and the live entertainment is a poor excuse for any thing called entertainment.
7-Restaurant service is poor and waiters are fumbling all over the place, not to mention the poor quality of food served.
8-The hotel lacks any activity and guests are forced to go into town every night to be able to have a decent meal or a drink.
9-There is no security in the hotel what so ever.
10- Elevators are very slow and small.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ace788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheradie, Guest Relations Manager at Grecian Sands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay with us as we endeavour to make our guests’ holiday enjoyable and relaxing. However we did notice it is an almost identical review to one posted in June; coincidentally at the same time as your other 2 reviews of restaurants near the hotel and yet in this review you state you stayed here in July. We are surprised you found our rooms to be small; the sizes of the rooms are dictated by the 4* standard and many of our bedrooms are above the minimum size. Every year a different floor is renovated and we have had new bathrooms and carpets fitted to most of the rooms; the final floor being finished this winter. We would have liked to have been informed that you were not happy with your room at the time of your stay so we could have found you something more suitable. Non- residents are not allowed to use hotel facilities if you knew for definite they were non-residents using the pool it would have been prudent to report them to the pool attendants so they could have dealt with the matter. Your statement that one particular nationality is offered very cheap packages is inaccurate. As is you statement about loud & rude behaviour, as this is certainly not restricted to one nationality and many holiday makers choose to express their individuality through their clothing styles in a more relaxed way than they would at home; this is not exclusive to our hotel! Our Ulysses bar is a quiet and tranquil place to be, it would not be fitting for the hotel to play ‘house or rap’ music (you can walk 10mins into Agia Napa for this) therefore our entertainment is of a more appropriate nature and we do have live music most nights. On Tuesdays and Friday we have the International Buffet and Cyprus Night in our pool bar area, with Greek Dancers and a Greek band for a little local culture. If you experienced poor service from the restaurant staff or poor quality food, then we would have appreciated being told at the time so we could address the problem. Our staff are usually commended for their friendly attitude and excellent service so this was quite a surprise to hear. We have excellent security at the hotel however it is discreet but vigilant. We had new elevators fitted in March this year, they are the latest in design and technology and in fact they were the first of their kind here in Cyprus! Thank you once again for your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#18 of 102 in Ayia Napa
771 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#9 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#2 of 102 in Ayia Napa
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
2.7 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#26 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,813 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nestor Hotel
Nestor Hotel
#8 of 102 in Ayia Napa
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecian Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Sands Hotel

Address: 44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range: $119 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecian Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Holiday Hotel situated on the Mediterranean coast, 45 km from Larnaca Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grecian Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecian Sands Ayia Napa
Hotel Grecian Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing