We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“excellant choice for a wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecian Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grecian Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Grecian Sands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 107 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“excellant choice for a wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

stayed here and married here in october.

the hotel - really couldnt fault the hotel staff, very efficient and seem to be dedicated. the hotel itself is very beautiful and the entrance is quite grand. though we got stuck in the doors many a times :) all elysees bar is lovely, and they had a few things on each night, but it sort of lacked the atmosphere, but i think due to the time of year, as hotel was close to closing for the year. the terrace just off the bar is very beautiful. the pool is quite massive and was very clean. also they seemed to have lots of lilos and rings etc that previous guests had left behind. thought this was very good. our room was spotless, with staff fighting to get into our room each day. the buffet breakfast was excellant. i cannot fault the amount of food and range to suit all tastes. though i found it took us a few days to get to know the layout etc. the wee fryed egg man was excellant. made me smile every morning. and i even missed him on the only day of our holiday that he wasnt there to cook my eggs to perfection haha. we ordered food to our rooms on quite a few occasions and was certainly worth the money and tasted excellant. we had lunch on the outside terrace which also was very good.

wedding - was very excellant. though i would say dont be late if you are having a bbq. also dont let your speeches run over time. and also be aware that there is no speech master to call the start of speeches. so i would recommend you nominate someone.
seadeck was just perfect. hotel wedding cake tasted excellant. pavilliion couldnt have been laid out any nicer. the wedding co ordinator cheradie done an excellant job. food was lovely, though our bbq burnt due to our speeches lasting forever. not the hotels fault. would recommend the buffet too, tasted really good and both dinner and buffet had a huge amount of food to choose from.
negatives about hotel -

1) childrens play area is very disappointing. needs updated asap.
2) sunloungers and umbrellas also need updating, as starting to look a little washed out.
3) lifts need modernised and have a few safety issues. they dont seem to have a sensor to open the door if you are standing in between the doors. my little girl nearly got seriously hurt as door was just about to close on her head, if it hadnt been for the quick responses of my aunt, i dont know what the outcome would have been.

positives about the hotel -
1) staff so helpful and bend over backwards to help.
2) food is excellant.
3) location is excellant. 15minute walk to aiya napa square. right on the beach.
frequent buses 1 euro, all day 2euro. if you are getting the bus, walk up the hill to get it, rather than down the hill, as the one up hill is closer =]
4) hotel has excellant wedding planner
5) hotel in constant contact and answered every query i had about my wedding.
6) pool is beautiful
7) rooms are lovely and have all the wee things that you need, hairdryer, kettle,cups,tea n coffee, tv (not pay per view as some are)

overall myself and my family where not disappointed with our stay or our wedding and are already planning our next trip

Room Tip: if you can afford it, stay in the low floor, pool view, executive studio, it is massive =] and the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weemocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    149
    46
    18
    4
See reviews for
162
254
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Grecian Sands hotel from 16-24 September 2012, and got married there on the 21st. We flew with thomson & booked our wedding through them as well.
I would advise anyone booking their wedding at this hotel to do so straight through the hotels wedding co-ordinator, Cheradie. She is superb, nothing is too much trouble & she made our day run incredibly smoothly. The thomson rep, as lovely as she was, was only really there to sell me stuff, and the wedding 'package' that i'd booked through thomson was a bit of a con, the majority of the bullet points listed in their wedding package was actually honoured by the hotel & not thomsons themselves (brekkie in bed the next day, late check out, free cake, room upgrade etc etc)... I think I would've saved about £150 if I'd booked direct but never mind...

Anyway, the hotel itself:-

Rooms - we booked a sea view room (well worth the extra money).. because we booked our wedding at the hotel we got upgraded to a Sea View Executive Studio which was just lush, huge balcony, white leather sofa, superkingsize bed, two sinks, two showers etc etc! Just lovely! I was also very grateful to have such a big room to get ready in on the morning of the wedding :-) We didn't watch the TV - we were on holiday!! And we had no problems with any fixtures or fittings in the room. The mini-bar was expensive but they didn't mind you putting in your own stuff so that was fine.

Hotel grounds - they were lovely. The reception is stunning, the pool area is clean and the sunbeds are comfortable and not all on top of each other. The beach area is lovely & you get a sea breeze here too. No extra charge for parasols etc. The beach it is on top of is very nice, water is so warm, plenty of watersports nearby too & you can walk right across to the harbour along the beach, very nice. The spa area & indoor pool are also lovely. The hairdresser in the hotel is particularly spectacular - we loved her!

Hotel facilities - you get free clean towels every day which i thought was a nice touch. We enjoyed breakfast every day, I thought it was lovely! Lots of everything to choose from! I'd also reccomend eating in the hotel, this was very nice also, we had lunch a few times & a romantic meal one night which was also lovely! We never drank in the hotel bar as it was always quite quiet but it's only a 15minute walk up to the main town anyway, lots of restaurants and bars to choose from.

Wedding - our wedding was just beautiful, it flowed so smoothly from the time we started getting ready right up until the last song was played at the evening disco.. the setting is just lovely, we got married on the sea view deck, had a sit down meal & champagne reception/cake cutting in the Medditeranean Suite & moved onto the Poseidon Suite for evening disco with greek dancers & DJ. It was just brilliant. Our perfect day :)

All in all a fantastic hotel & wedding venue, we will definately be returning here in the future!

Room Tip: Definately request a sea view - it's worth the extra!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hol1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We got married at the Grecian in September . The wedding was perfect. The hotel is excellent. Rooms lovely very clean, hotel staff very friendly, breakfast was great. A good choice for all . Clean beach pool towels everyday, BBQ night was fantastic highly recommended to go to. Cheradie wedding co-ordinator very helpful to the brides and made me feel very reassured, angeline the hairdresser was so patient and did a wonderful job. The beach and pool are lovely so clean and quiet. We picked a perfect time of year to go. Highly recommend this hotel - will be going back next year.. And for many years to come . Emma and Wesley

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the Grecian Sands with a party of 22 of us as me and partner got married there. We and parents upgraded rooms to sea view before arrival which compared to those that didn't upgrade it was definitely worth it as some got views of the car park at the back, hotel were very accommodating when some decided to upgrade when we arrived in resort. All rooms had air con, stocked mini fridge and safe which is a bonus and the bed was huge and comfortable. We are not particularly fussy but could see how other reviewers state that it needs some updating with bathroom fixtures and lifts etc although this didn't really bother us. Breakfast has huge variety and we always found to be good. Only ate dinner at the hotel once and this was nice but we found men having to wear long trousers abit restrictive plus other restaurants nearby had more variety and are more competitive. Had pre dinner drinks in the bar a few times which has a lovely atmosphere with sofas and candles on the terrace and although drinks are slightly more expensive it wasnt that much more than nearby bars. The location is perfect, right in front of the beach and 5 min walk to bars and restaurants. We found most of the staff very helpful and friendly and the pool area large with spare sunbeds even with the usual reserving that goes on as with most hotels. The free hotel beach towel service every day is a huge bonus so don't worry about taking your own. Our wedding day was amazing, the hotel are used to doing them and we found the staff know exactly what they are doing and will help accommodate anything they can and the venues for the ceremony and reception are just out of this world.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justmarried1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We travelled to Cyprus for The Wedding of my son Lance to Emma on the 28th September at the Grecian Sands Hotel the wedding was amazing it really is the place to get married the wedding just flowed the setting where the ceremony took place was stunning the seaview terrace where the reception took place was dressed amazingly and the views were stunning Ayia Napa does cater for all ages the restaurants served fantastic food we would definetly go to the Grecian Sands and Cyprus again

Room Tip: Definetly go for a sea view stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula462011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited Ayia Napa and the Grecian Sands Hotel for the first time for our daughter's wedding at the end of September and we were very impressed with everything. The location of the hotel and the superb sea views from our room were very good. We often enjoyed a lovely stroll along the waters edge on the beach up to the Harbour. On our pleasant stroll of 20 mins into the centre of Ayia Napa, there were lots of upmarket restaurants and shops to visit and no shortage of anywhere to enjoy a nice meal in the evening. There was also a good bus service outside the hotel and plenty of taxis available. I would agree with other comments in that some of the fixtures and fittings of the hotel need updating but the staff more than made up for that in they were extremely helpful and very pleasant in all areas of the hotel. Finally, as for a wedding venue we couldn't fault anything at all - nothing was too much trouble and the Co-ordinator was regularly in touch with my daughter/son-in-law to ensure all their needs were met for the 'Big Day'. It was a beautiful day that run like clock work from start to finish. We would definitely recommend the whole experience.

Room Tip: Sea view definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

To echo many of the other reviewers who came before me..it's relatively evident that the Grecian Sands is no longer in it's prime. It seems they've made a concentrated effort to upgrade certain aspects of the rooms (i.e. furniture, bath fixtures, etc..), but this is unfortunately where it ends. Cracks along the ceiling in the buffet dining area, broken wood and barely operable key locks on the guest room doors, as well as an old & outdated guest elevator are more prominent signs that this hotel is desperate need of more than an esthetic face lift if they wish to keep their four star rating in tact.... however the staff was friendly, and the location leaves nothing to be desired as it is literally right above the beach.

One should take note that only the sun loungers/umbrellas on the upper level are included for your use at no extra charge..One morning, my fiance and I descended to the lower level (below the pool), and were asked nearly immediately to pay 7.50 Euros each to use the sun beds we had only just begun to occupy....irritating.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a 3rd or 4th floor sea view room. It is absolutely worth the difference in pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#24 of 107 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#2 of 107 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#6 of 107 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#21 of 107 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melissi Beach Hotel & Spa
Melissi Beach Hotel & Spa
#16 of 107 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecian Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Sands Hotel

Property: Grecian Sands Hotel
Address: 44 Kryo Nero Ave | P.O Box 30216, Ayia Napa 5341, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#5 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grecian Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-story Holiday Hotel situated on the Mediterranean coast, 45 km from Larnaca Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Grecian Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecian Sands Ayia Napa
Hotel Grecian Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing