We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An elegant hotel, beatiful location and a relaxing atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alion Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alion Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An elegant hotel, beatiful location and a relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

We did our research before we booked and we did have an excellent holiday . The location is perfect - on a pretty beach with views, right on the sea edge, no hotels overlooking the attractive gardens and 10 mins walk from the busy town centre of Ayia Napa. The hotel itself is elegant and cosy with only 100 rooms which helps it achieve a peaceful atmosphere. You can dine on the open terrace and take in the pretty views of palms, bougainvillaea and sea. The pool is not huge but more than adequate since it's not heavily used and the sea is so popular. The gardens are spacious and the allocating of loungers/parasols and fresh towels is extremely welcome. The room had loads of space, a bright decor, a very comfortable 6 foot bed and had panoramic views. Breakfast offered a wide choice to suit everyone, drinks & snacks at the poolside were excellent with great service and the two a la carte dinners we had on the terrace were really special - although the one dinner buffet we had was disappointing. The service was excellent throughout the hotel with attentive and friendly staff. The general manager, Panicos Michael, makes a big effort to meet guests and make them welcome - he is also highly visible and asks how you are. It is clear that the hotel attracts a lot of repeat visitors which tells you a lot. You cannot fail to be relaxed and 'chilled'.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 437andrewg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanicosMichael, General Manager at Alion Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are very glad to hear that you made the right choice for your holidays. The concept is very simple " stress free holidays". We have developed our system to enhance the peaceful atmosphere with lots of small concepts: Check in while sitting at the lobby with a refreshment and a cool face towel not at the front desk standing, Sunbed reservation system not an early wake up for a sunbed towel war, no sunbeds around the pool and the pool restaurant so someone can enjoy a fresh fruit coctail or a light lunch with out all the noise and lots of other details.

Thank you very much and we see us soon.

The Alion Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    111
    23
    8
    1
See reviews for
166
438
30
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

We feel really fortunate to have stayed at the Alion for our trip to Ayia Napa. This is truly a wonderful hotel. We experienced service at a totally new level. The staff was genuinely helpful and pleasant. We were totally shocked that many of the guests we met reported it was their TENTH time at the Alion.

The hotel is located on the Grecian beach, quite far away from the other main hotel area at Nissi beach. We went on a very long walk to Nissi beach (3 hours round trip) where we found two water coves. There were also many hotels on this beach, but also many
drunken teenagers passed out from the night before and lots of ratty bars. There seemed to be one very good hotel on this beach, but on the whole the scene at the Grecian beach is much better. The Alion hotel was perfectly located just at the end of the Grecian strip. Grecian beach has a much more natural and extensive beach experience. A wonderful coastal walkway starts right at the end of the beach.

Much has been written about the reserved sunbeds at the Alion. It was even better than I imagined. Pick you spots out only once when you arrive, and then all you have to do is roll out of bed into your sunbed. The sunbeds are just a few steps from the beach with a view of the waves, so no need to pay 10 euro a day for beds on the beach.

The food was also excellent in the Alion, and we are very sorry we wasted our time trekking into town for a meal on the second night. I cannot say that I was not warned, but Ayia Napa is an absolute dump of a town and a visit to this city should certainly be confined to one's hotel. The Alion is a large hotel with only 100 rooms and extensive public areas (lobby, lounge, pool area, grassy areas etc). The result is that wherever you are in the public areas you get a very private feeling.

The only downer was the rooms, which were on the small side and gave you the feeling you could be on any beach in the world and not in Cyprus. A sea view room would have definitely improved our stay. The hotel guests are also OLDer and the hotel itself is modernIZED. There appeared to be more of a mixed crowd at the hotel next door, the Grecian Sands, which seems to be four starish, but also well located.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The_real_scoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanicosMichael, General Manager at Alion Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Alion team has only one priority " Provide personal qualiy service and delight every guest with many memorable experiences". Fortunated enough to be situated on one of the best beaches of the island, with only one hundred rooms and with an award winning service team evry stay is an experence.

We all look forward to welcome you back.

The Alion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

We have just returned from another fantastic 2 week holiday at The Alion Beach Hotel. We had stayed there on 2 other occasions so we knew what to expect. It had been 8 years since we last stayed at the hotel and from the moment we arrived we were treated like family friends. The Alion hotel has Very genuinely friendly staff with excellent customer service skills. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the beds are so comfy. You decide when you want your sheets changed by leaving a card on the bed to say so! Turn down service every night with chocolates on the pillow. Individually controlled air-conditioning system. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room was a nice touch. Pool towels replaced daily and left in your room. Pick your sun lounger from a chart at the front desk when you arrive and keep it for the duration of your holiday, if you want to change it you can when another one you fancy becomes available just go to the front desk again!
Oh! The Breakfasts at The Alion are not to be missed, there is an extensive range from the hot and cold buffet, eggs done how you like them on request at the egg bar, pasteries , cakes, fruit & cerial’s. Tea/Coffee brought to your table by one of the very attentive and friendly waiter/waitress. And of course champagne. I do love a Champagne Breakfast!
The Pool Restaurant and Bar is where we enjoyed salads and light snacks as well as refreshing drinks and ice creams throughout the day. The Happy Hour for cocktails was very popular at 5.30pm.
We booked Bed and Breakfast through Thomson Holidays on-line and took the hotel up on arrival of the offer for 4 nights flexi-dining for evening meals at a cut price as we remembered how nice the set menu’s were last time we stayed at the Alion, you decide when you want to eat in and just go to the Symposion Restaurant on the night.
There are lots of lovely restaurants in the town which is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel. Sage and Liquid were our favourites.
The Repeaters Lunch at the Alion is a Free Buffet Lunch at the Pool Bar to reward any guest making a return visit, there must have been about 40 people attended the one we were invited to. The food was lovely and the wine and water were flowing too. Thanks again Panicos Michael for a Lovely Lunch.
The Hotel Amethystos Cocktail Bar or lobby lounge was the perfect place to start your evening with a pre-dinner drink before going into town, or finishing your evening off after being in town, or spending the perfect evening in with the hotel entertainment.
There is also an Internet corner in the Muses Library Lounge at the Alion where there’s comfy sofa’s and space for lovers of card games.
The Hotel’s beach location is fantastic as we love to walk it. There is a beautiful walk along the costal path off the beach to the left and off the harbour to the right.
I used the Spa beauty facilities for a luxury manicure and luxury pedicure and was truly pampered.
The Manager's Cocktail Party Welcome is a nice get-together too.
We can’t praise the hotel and the staff enough, we would recommend this hotel to everyone, and we’re looking forward to returning.
Thank you everyone at the Alion

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Violet35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanicosMichael, General Manager at Alion Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2010
Thank you very much for your excellent review!. We are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your second stay at the Alion. As another guest said to me "coming back is always better!"
Gone are the days when staying in a hotel was purely a matter of having a good night sleep and a decent meal. All of us here at the Alion strive to share with our guests many memorable experiences. Through our staff we try to create a relaxing, welcoming and friently atmosphere were our guests can feel part of it and enjoy.
We all look forward to welcome you back.

The Alion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

The Alion Beach is in an excellent location to the East of Ayia Napa harbour. the beach. The hotel itself has a direct access to the beach from the gardens at the back of the hotel, next to the swimming pool.
We spent most of our time here staying on the sun beds that were assigned to us at the beginning of the holiday. We found this to be an excellent system whereby we didn't have to worry about where we would be for the day - one less hassle. From there we have easy access to the pool or to the beach.
We stayed half board and were very pleased with the quality and choice available .
What really impressed us was the staff. What they do is quite difficult to do, in that they appear to be genuinely friendly and informal, but also very efficient – and they do it well. Nothing was ever too much trouble.
Hotel Manager is every minute around taking care of his guests .
We will for sure go back to theis Top Resort.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank JuanDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanicosMichael, General Manager at Alion Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you very much for your very positive review. Our staff is our asset and we are proud of them! We are all pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back before not too long.

The Alion Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

arrived to find sea view room which we booked nine months previous not available due to hotels error.However the management were most apologetic and we were compensated for the three nights spent in an alternative room and given an upgrade to a panoramic sea view room for the next eight nights,this room more than compensated for the inconvenience.Our holiday was greatly enhanced by the hotel staff who were extremely attentive and genuinely friendly,would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven528791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanicosMichael, General Manager at Alion Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you very much for your positive review. Even in the best places things can go wrong! What makes the difference between poor, good and excellent service though is the way you handle things when they do go wrong! We are very pleased that the room upgrade to our refurbished Panoramic rooms along with our staff commitment had a positive impact on your holidays.
We all look forward to welcome you back next year.

The Alion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Alion Beach Hotel .We had a great time.

The temperatures in Cyprus when we visited averaged 40C so it was important to keep cool. The outside pool was not that big, but it was spotless and was cleaned every morning. When the sea is 30 metres from the sun beds at the bottom of the hotel gardens then who needs a pool! The sand was wonderful and it was a pleasure to be able to walk into the sea and relax. Whilst right on the beach the gardens were quiet and secure.

The sunbed system has been discussed by previous correspondents and we found it a great system as you dont need to get up at the crack of dawn to get a lounger.

The room we had was great, we had paid for a sea view and you can see the Ayia Napa harbour off to the right and Cape Greco to the distant left, a lovely view. The room was spotless ( as was the hotel). Unlike some hotels we have stayed in the safe in the room was free and not charged for by the day.

We stayed bed and breakfast, we have been to Ayia Napa twice before, and knew there was an abundance of restaurants in town. We found the walk more towards 15/20 minutes but no complaints with that.

The hotel does pride itself on its service and personally I couldnt fault their attitude. Everyone wants to help and there were some nice touches - the guests were often given cold flannels through the day and offered pieces of melon, free, which was very refreshing. Noticed the manager was very visible , we had met him in a cocktail meeting in the first few days, and spoke to him on the day we checked out. He asked my 12 year old if he had enjoyed himself, calling him by his first name which made my son feel special and wondering how he could recall that detail from 10 days before.

The hotel doesnt have a kids club etc - there was a games room on the groundfloor level with table tennis and pool which my son enjoyed.

From conversations we had with other guest, both British and German it was evident that many people had been to the Alion before, some year after year and thats normally a very good sign. We wouldnt have any hesitation returning again. A big thank you to everyone at the Alion.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanicosMichael, General Manager at Alion Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2010
Thank you very much for your excellent review! Our effort is to "provide personal quality service and delight every guest with many memorable experences". We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially I was very happy to hear that Mathew had a good time. Our motto is "We do not have customers but only guests"! We are very proud for the qulaity of our people since they are the most important asset of the hotel! Location, size and people are the ingredients for a perfect beach holiday! We all look forward to welcome you back next year.
The Alion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

We had a fantastic holiday at this hotel. The rooms were spotless and the maids came in everyday. They had black out curtains and the air conditioning units were not too noisy! It was lovely not to have to take towels, as these were provided by the hotel for both the pool/beach and for your room. The sunbed allocation was fantastic, so no early mornings to guarantee your bed!
You are just far enough away from the busy Ayia Napa with just a short 5/10 mins stroll away.
The hotel staff were all warm and friendly. Breakfast was lovely, you could eat whatever you lived and I loved all the cocktails! The seating area for your breakfast was just wonderful looking out towards the sea.
My children, aged 13 & 16 loved it here, although there wasnt many other children for them to play with. They just played in the games room which had table tennis, computer games and various other activities and played in the sea which was lovely and warm and not too crowded.
What more can I say? You will certainly not be disappointed here, not even my children moaned!!??

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAF1Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PanicosMichael, General Manager at Alion Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your recent holidays at the Alion. Even though Alion is not what we call a "family oriented hotel" it is ideal for parents that they would like to go on a relaxing vacation and take their children with them. Thanking you once again we look forward to welcome you back before not too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
2.2 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#6 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
0.7 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#5 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
3.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort
Olympic Lagoon Resort
#3 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grecian Bay Hotel
Grecian Bay Hotel
#18 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alion Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alion Beach Hotel

Property: Alion Beach Hotel
Address: Kryou nerou Ave 38 | P.O Box 30450, Ayia Napa 5343, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#1 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alion Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alion Beach Hotel, with no more than a total of 100 rooms, is noted for its five-star, modern luxury bordering the sea and a natural park. Here class merges with coziness, and hospitality is enhanced with a commitment to personal service.With a unique location, overlooking one of the nicest white sandy beaches of Cyprus and with stunning views of the Ayia Napa harbour, Alion enjoys privileges of a quite and secure position ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Alion Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alion Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing