We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Para kalo in Bungaloo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grecian Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grecian Bay Hotel
Ranked #20 of 104 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Para kalo in Bungaloo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love AyaNapa , was more than 40 times during the last ten years, always have Bungaloo in Grecian ,
It is suitated at the end of the hotel closed to the fish resturant ,few steps from the beach, one of the best and cleaniest beaches in Europe,
At morning nice to walk from the hotel to the harbour, on the sandy beach, then go to swim in the clean lovely sea ,
Bungaloo is not bad but needs renovation , it starts to be old,but the atmosphere is still the same, after morning walk, u can take nice lunch in the fish restaurant, fresh fish with nice friendly service.
I never stayed in rooms in this hotel, I have no idea,
But the lobby bar is ok.
Beach bar as well,
To enjoy nice relaxing time, far from hotel guests, believe me choose a Bungaloo in Grecian.
Usually I eat with friends outside in the city, I know most of them with nice local food,
I feel in Ayanapa like at home, my local friends are known doctors shop owners and hotel owners, so usually evenings we enjoy it , with bouzouki , Jasas , parakalo, afharisto.,kala,kala

Room Tip: Bungaloo only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IsmatkBeirut_Lebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    192
    83
    20
    19
See reviews for
191
258
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I am currently here at the grecian bay hotel. On check in we were given our room which smelt very strongly of cigarettes , we asked to change it which one of the receptionists was very helpful with. Breakfast was nice this morning, the queue for the coffee machine however snaked around most of the area. We collected our beach towels provided by the hotel and whilst there we reserved sun-beds on the beach area allocated just for the hotel guests, a system I haven't experienced before, after reserving them we went to our beds to find someone else was already using them. The beach attendant guys are great, very polite and helpful, but Instead of expecting these guests to move we told them to stay (who wants to get up and move after settling?) and we found other beds but had to wait until 10:30 to see if anyone had already reserved them and if they were going to want to sit there. I can't believe this system is used by a five star hotel and who thought it would benefit guests?! We usually stay at the grecian sands, twice a year , and we never have any problems there - there is no reservation system, it's simply first come first served by putting a towel on the sunbed you choose each day.
The only way I can see this working for us is if we start our day at 10:30 every day when we know the beds without towels are available to use, doing this we will miss the most beautiful part of the morning. When we got back to our room today there is a smell of cigarettes, I'm unsure if we are sharing the same aircon system with the smoking rooms in the hotel? Our doors are closed when we go out , I really don't want to spend our time here complaining so we are going to continue our break and try not to think too much about our late starts and potentially smelly room each day.
The hotel is in a good location but I have been visiting ayia napa for 18 years and lived here for a short time, there are other better hotels in this location such as the sands, or the Alion, I won't be staying at the grecian bay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank april T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our second visit to the Grecian Bay hotel this year and can't wait to go back. Food, hospitality and amenities are without fault - the enhanced breakfast is the best we have ever been served in any hotel anywhere. The staff are polite and go out of their way to ensure you have a great holiday. The resident musical duo D&D are extremely talented and we thoroughly enjoyed the theme evenings. Itt is unfortunate that not many people use the bar facilities in the evening - maybe this is something that the Grecian Bay could review. Highly recommended for couples looking for a touch of luxury in peaceful surroundings.

Room Tip: We prefer the harbour facing rooms overlooking the pool, so full sea view - for example room 334 mee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife booked us a surprise trip for my birthday at the Grecian Bay, the booking was done through booking.com for a sea view room. When we arrived we were given a room with parking/tennis court view. We informed the reception that we booked a sea view and were charged for it however since it was late night he took note and promised to check it with the morning staff and that he will contact us. However no one did and when I talked to one of the employees I was informed that the hotel does not promise sea view even if it was booked and charged.

The hotel location is excellent near all interesting pubs, restaurants, etc.. and has a wonderful beach access.

The rooms are design and furniture reflects 4 stars however the scenery around the hotel and the pools make up for this.

The breakfast is very diverse and extremely tasty, the hotel staff always smiling and tries its best to help.

Room Tip: Whenever you book a sea view room contact the hotel by email and have them confirm your sea view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank This_is_me_lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had seen on other reviews that this hotel is more 4 than 5 stars and they couldn't be more right. It's a decent hotel with a decent service. Breakfast is very good without the wow effect at the buffet. Rooms ok with unconfortable pillows. But the beach is wonderful! clear turquoise water and sandy beach. Loved it and the loved the water sports there. Georges is very friendly and we had a blast trying ringo and canoeing! Pedalo is also nice especially if you go to the rocky cliff nearby where the water is crystal clear.
A definite no no: Food from the room service menu! Real bad and barely 2 stars :(

Room Tip: don't pay extra for sea view, you can have a partial sea view and a view of the harbor from west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hopping_Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We are a married couple in our 50's and we stayed here last November to celebrate a very special wedding anniversary. From checking in to checking out, the whole short break was really special.Our room overlooked the beach and the standard of fittings were excellent. Everything was thought of that you could possibly want/need from a stay at this hotel. The outside pools/sun decks were exceptional and since the hotel overlooked the beach, it was truly amazing. The location was good too, well within walking distance of all the restaurants/bars etc on hand but not so near that you would be kept awake from noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, the balconies are huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deegee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The bedrooms are not 5* by irish standards atall, also toiletries in bathroom not good quality. However all public rooms very nice, but its the staff and location that more than makes up for it, all are so helpfull and friendly. Great idea to reserve your sunlounger on the Beach (hotel has a slightly elevated level, so no sand kicked in your face) with a bell attached to 'Palm' umbrella to call for drinks etc. Fantastic breakfast with champagne even porridge!
Would definately return if it was'ent so hard to get to from Ireland!

Room Tip: Sea view very nice on second floor, room does'nt get hot, can be bright .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.3 mi away
Grecian Sands Hotel
Grecian Sands Hotel
#10 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#29 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#5 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#1 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Napa Mermaid Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Melissi Beach Hotel & Spa
Melissi Beach Hotel & Spa
#11 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecian Bay Hotel

Property: Grecian Bay Hotel
Address: Kryou Nerou Street, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#26 Romantic Hotel in Ayia Napa
#28 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecian Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive 5-story Hotel located on the beach just south of Ayia Napa Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Grecian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grecian Bay
Grecian Bay Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing