We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna Napa

Taverna Napa
Ranked #9 of 204 Restaurants in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: ¨We are situated at the north entry of Ayia Napa in an old traditional house built in 1932 since 1976. The first taverna of Ayia Napa. Available inside and outside dinning and a smoking area. Beautiful fireplace for the colder days and vineyard outside. We serve really fresh fish and excellent traditional dishes from the family recepies. All our ingredients are daily fresh and we only use cypriot virgin oil. Homemade desserts and we serve the best paklava.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited here after a recommendation from our hotel, Napa Mermaid, and we weren't disappointed!
Our waiter, Gabriel was just the best! He couldn't do enough for us. He even nipped out of the restaurant in the evening to get me some strawberries! When he passed us the desert menu he explained they had ran out of strawberries, so as a joke I asked for strawberries and cream and tried to keep a straight face! But I said I was joking and that I would happily order something else but he demanded getting me some strawberries, which was very funny!
We went back to the restaurant a couple of nights later and received the same warm, friendly welcome!
Our only negative is finding this place near the end of our holiday! We will definitely be back, hopefully soon!
We ordered a meat Meze and a lovely bottle of wine, it was a relaxed evening and quite romantic with the soft candlelight lighting.
If you're looking for a very traditional Greek night with great food, atmosphere and wine, then you must come here!
We just loved it!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikki_Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    79
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you are after a traditional Cypriot meal this is the place to go and I should know I am from Cypriot heritage. The service was great, the wine was great and the food was fantastic and plentiful. Great value for money

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CleonikG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
107 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Leftovers from yesterdays dinner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were on our way to Stamna Taverna, next door to Taverna Napa, but the receptionist at our hotel AND the taxidriver suggested Taverna Napa instead.
We are truly sorry to follow this recommendations as it turned out to be a really sad meal.
The owner met us at the door and showed us to a table. When we sat down we saw that it was full of small insects but didn´t bother to change table. Later I even had a leech making it´s way into my purse on the table.
We deceided for a few meze options and asked for suggestions to complete the meal. When served we couldn´t really see why different types of cheeses was choosen instead of different kind of dishes...
The food felt like yesterdays leftovers, heated in the oven. Very tasteless!
By the end of the meal we asked for our last meze and the waiter (and owner) had forgotten about this.
NO, this was not a very nice evening and I wouldn´t recommend it to anyone.
Looking for a nice greek restaurangt - try Tony´s at Nissi Avn or maybe Stamna, even if we didn´t go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Minelli-006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We've been going to Ayia Napa for a few years now but we only went to this restaurant for the first time this March after I read a review in the Cyprus Mail online. The restaurant is totally authentic, the staff are very friendly and most importantly the food is excellent. The Fetta cheese with garlic starter and the lamb ravioli starter were to die for. We ate here twice during the week and both times everything we chose was beautifully prepared, very tasty and good value. We will definitely eat here (several times) on our next holiday in Ayia Napa. A little gem!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich101r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprurs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cyprus food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

When you come to Cyprus you should eat traditionell food! They have nice fresh food. Good service and staff. Prices are very good. Perfect for family with children. Open summer and winter.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank guinnesscyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Napa also viewed

Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 

Been to Taverna Napa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing