We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dine and be entertained”
Review of Hokkaido

Hokkaido
Ranked #51 of 215 Restaurants in Ayia Napa
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Hokkaido is the number one restaurant experience in Cyprus. Based in the heart of Ayia Napa this is a culinary show not to be missed. You will see knives hurled into the air, fresh vegetables, seafood and meat cooked masterfully in front of you, fires lit, and if you mention that you have your birthday you will be the centre of attention. All you need is your holiday mood and you will sit in tables with people from all over the world who want to try Japanese cuisine in a lively atmosphere. This restaurant is well established since 1999, and very famous in the island for having the whole package: good food, electric atmosphere, impeccable service and reasonable prices.Fun for all the family!!
Reviewed June 16, 2013

With the chefs cooking in front of you and putting up a comedy routine, this is definitely a spin on dining you wouldn't encounter every day. The chefs shy away from serious cooking and moody tiredness, opting instead for jokes and pranks. The food is prepared right in front of you, so you can see what goes in there. The service was swift and correct, the food was delicious and the price was proportionate to the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MEKassab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (605)
There are newer reviews for Hokkaido
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 301 of 605 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have visited Hokkaido many times and the service is brilliant with the chefs cooking in front of you and putting on a bit of a comedy show I found the price higher than most restaurants the food is okay but sometimes very salty an idea to suggest no salt apart from that a very good restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Glenn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Went to this Restaurant on the favourable reviews on TA, I must say I was most disappointed with nearly every aspect of my dining experience there. After taking our orders our starter arrived a few minutes later , veg spring rolls (3), they were just ok, nothing spectacular. We then had to endure a very long wait, at least 45 min before our mains arrived. My prawns were at best slightly warm, the fried rice and potatoes were cold and my wife got the wrong dish which was returned along with her rice. By the time she got the correct dish I had eaten mine, her rice was returned cold and the potatoes were also gone cold and soggy. We politely asked for the bill and I mentioned to the waitress the meal was very disappointing. The manager came over to us and apologised and in fairness said our drinks were on the house which was a nice gesture. However, when we got the bill we were charged for a dish we did not order or receive. The manager also removed this from our bill. Our whole experience at this highly rated restaurant was a big let down, I could not in all honesty recommend it to anyone ,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HokkaidoCy, Manager at Hokkaido, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your dining experience at Hokkaido. We aim to deliver great food, great service and great hospitality and the majority of our feedback reflects this. However, your comments have been fed back to management and will be followed up accordingly. Thank you for taking the time to review us, your opinion is important and we are doing our best to avoid similar situations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have passed Hokkaido's many times and always promised to visit. Thirteen months later, we finally sat down in Hokkaido's and now we are kicking ourselves that we waited so long to eat here. We have experienced this style of cooking / eating before but this time there was an element of fun injected into the experience by the chef. Basically, you choose your food from the menu then the chef cooks it in front of you on long flat hot metal cookers. We had starters and mains; forget the starters, altho' the sushi starter was superb. Loads of food, healthily cooked, pipping hot and very tasty too. Slight down side, drinks are a little too pricey at €5.00 for a 400ml coke. Mains run from €10.00 - €28.00 worth every penny. Don't forget to tip the chef, very funny! Highly recommended - so go and try for yourself, you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PamAndJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We both ordered ribs what were lovely but didn't get a finger bowl till 5 mins after we had finished and only had 1 drink because nobody offered anymore and we had to go too the till because nobody staff were about to pay our bill the service side really lets this lovely establishment down:-(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Darrenallenoffshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hokkaido also viewed

Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
Ayia Napa, Famagusta District
 

Been to Hokkaido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing