We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not That Great A Place”
Review of Salmary Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Salmary Apartments
Ranked #103 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not That Great A Place”
Reviewed February 27, 2011

I was aware when we booked it was gonna be an 18-30s and as my partner had been on one of these holidays before i didn't think to much of it he said they would be basic which i can handle with.When we pulled up i thought it looked very run down and could of done with a bit more modernizing.
We met the staff who was the owner and he was friendly enough the whole family used to be in reception or in the bar eating or playing all the time. We went to our room and at first looks it was a good size and had everything that you needed, walked into the bedroom and there was stickers from underwear on the walls and dirty tissues left in the draws etc.
After sorting the fridge freezer out when we had a drink you needed to wash the glass straight away and dry it there were ants everywhere i ended up buying hairspray to kill them in the end and i managed to get bitten by a few of them on night time as they crawled all over you while you slept.
the hotel is not far from the strip which was an advantage and the owners family had a nightclub so free tickets were given.
The only thing i would say is photo graph everything as we got blamed for breaking a cup but we had not used them and got charged.The pool was clean except ants came if you had a drink and the pool area got the sun all day.
I wouldn't stay again but i prefer my holidays not to be that basic and full of ants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninaheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    19
    13
    50
See reviews for
2
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Ok so we book our trip last minute with 18-30, wasnt expecting a paradise, knew we were going to a basic apartment but this was below basic!!!!! A scratching and scurring noise awoke me and my friend in our sleep, and as we looked at the curtain a black thing droped and ran across my friends case, we retreat to the living room and sit for 20 mins to see if the thing would return, OMG my friend shouts as a dirty bit rat was running along our headboard. Off to reception, well the bar as it was 5 in the morning "what do you want me to do about it?" says the barman, so we went back to our room to sit it out, luckily we didnt see it again. So we had a rat, and we had ants, thousands of the little buggers took refuge in the room, oh and the odd cockroach. I went for a swim one morning and got out after noticing the pool was cloudy and unclean, ciggarett ends floating in it also!

The little old lady that owns it is nothing but an arrogant swine, wanting more and more money off you, we got charged 10 euros for dirty towels, can you belive it??? The towels were only dirty because the room was never cleaned, the shower leaked and the towels were put down to soak it it, we wern't going to pay but they threatened to call the police. HA! And to make thing's worse, my towel and my friends towel went missing after the maid was in, i wounder where they went?

The towels were changed once and the beds, NEVER, i dont see the point in having the maid.So they charged us for a broken glass, fair enough, then there was an extra glass, and they tryed to charge us again, I really dont know!!!

I say stay away from the salmary, location was brilliant but everything else was scummy, dirty and way below basic.

Stay at your own risk!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andymcgee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayia Napa hotels

Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Booked an 18-30s to stay at the Salmary Apartments 15th September 2010.
After reading some of the reviews was a little worried - however we stayed in room 19 and it was fine - a nice size, very clean. Yes it was basic but its an 18-30s so I can't really see what people would expect other than basic.
There were plenty space to hang our clothes and hangers provided.
Make sure when you check in you have 4 of everything in kitchen, as they do charge at the end of hotel for anything missing/broken.
The pool was a good size with the bar opening and music playing during the day. The food was also nice and not bad in price.
The owners are brilliant, and own a club in the city centre, so often would give out free tickets.
The hotel is about a 5 min walk to main square, which is brilliant, 15-20 min walk to Nissi Beach and 10 Euro taxi from the water park (we shared with another couple so really cheap) the hotel do sell tcikets for waterpark at discounted rate (not much but it all counts).
Its only a 45min transfer from the airport.
I will upload photos once I have then on a disc so people can judge themselves.
Would defo go back :-)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We went to Ayia Napa for a wk to be with friends staying for 2wks. We booked Salmary as it was cheap and we knew it would be basic, most apartments in Ayia Napa are. The apartment was a bit old school in decor but was clean and the the old couple that own it are lovely!! Air con was 43euro for the wk and safes are 10euro a wk.

Its not far from the main square and has a fab Japanese restaurant down the road.
All in all, what we expected. Dont expect much and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy_bassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

hotel was a briliant location you simply cross the road to the first pub of the strip named fuzzy ducks which was always dead!! after that its a straight road thru all the pr's till u get to the square. craigs bar senjior frogs and castle were my best places to go! in salmary you get free passes for the dancin Starskys which was brilliant aswell, everywheres pretty good for money value where as the dancins are a little more expensive but worth it! the beach isnt that far away but we got a taxi which was only 6 euro. the hotal bar has great staff they were soo nice the owner is an old women but shes not THAT bad i was dreading her becoz the reviwes, the worst thing about it is propably the ants there everywhere but id go back again just mabey not for 2weeks.
Ohhhh please avoid anyone that offers you the black peral booze cruise at night its a rip off theres no free bar and the foods terrible where as 5 stars for club 18 - 30 booze cruise amazin! :( take me back to ayia xxx

ohh and water world amazin i chicknd out a few big ones but its a must! need to go!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kboydfergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Chrysland Hotel
Chrysland Hotel
#83 of 103 in Ayia Napa
68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
#95 of 103 in Ayia Napa
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Florence Hotel
Florence Hotel
#93 of 103 in Ayia Napa
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nick's Hotel Apartments
Nick's Hotel Apartments
#84 of 103 in Ayia Napa
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paul Marie Apartments
Paul Marie Apartments
#81 of 103 in Ayia Napa
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kaos Hotel Apartments
Kaos Hotel Apartments
#55 of 103 in Ayia Napa
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmary Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmary Apartments

Property: Salmary Apartments
Address: Gianni Ritsou 5, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salmary Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Salmary Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salmary Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing