We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is excellent, everything else was terrible!”
Review of Salmary Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salmary Apartments
Ranked #104 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is excellent, everything else was terrible!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just back from here and after being to Napa three times this was the worst! Location is just round the corner from the main strip which was good!

Rooms were very basic but no towels were probided, toilet paper was not replaced and sheets were changed once in a week.

The "air con" that was in our room 15 blew hot air out constantly so couldn't sleep!

Cockroach city here and had to get rid of umpteen for our neighbours!

Pool is never cleaned and big mamma goes mental if you bring food or drinks in from outside.

Charged for a sheet even tho none were dirty!

Only thing that kept us sane was alcohol and the fact me and my mate are hardcore. All that aside enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    19
    13
    45
See reviews for
2
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

after reading all of the reviews i thought i was in for the worst when coming here, but on arrival the hotel was not as bad as it seems the rooms were very basic and everything you would aspect from an 18 to 30 hotel, the hotel reps were amazing and very friendly and helped you with any problems, as i was staying here for 2 weeks i thought it would be alot worse as we had no ants, and only 2 cockroaches, however after the first week had past we found our self’s in a very awkward situation with the hotel owner as he tried to chuck us out over nothing, it then got worse as our door was not secure and after messing around outside the door banged wide opened, and we also had boys from the other room coming through our windows at night as they never locked, and also during my stay i had needed a copy of my passport for the doctors the hotel owners didnt know where any of our passports are as they leave the reception empty at night with all the passports and keys, it then took them half an hour to find all 4 passports as they were scattered all over the place i had then took them and put them all in my pocket with them knowing and they didnt even notice or care they were gone. The sheets and towels dont get washed and for the whole 2 weeks of staying here our room got seen to 4 times so if you stay here bring your own towels, bed sheets and do your own laundry!! The charges for air con was 70 euros a week if you sharing a room of 4 I don’t not recommend it as it blows out warm air and its very weak and leaks out water in your balcony the only decent people in this hotel is raj and hotel reps! this places should get shut down, pay the extra 50 pounds for an hotel change its not worth your money!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ayia Napa hotels

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Upon arrival we checked in our rooms and were immediately hounded by the 18/30s rep. As usual we declined everything as we as a group of lads like to do out own stuff. While we were there i think we seen about 5 ants in our room and that is because a can of coke was knocked over. yeah the beds are uncomfortably but you booked a basic hotel which is 18/30's what did you really expect. You are going on a holiday where you are going out to party, no a luxury spa holiday.
Big mama is spot on as long as you stay on the right side of her, saying please and thank you buying a few drinks in the hotel bar and even some food. Harvey the night time bar man absolute ledge will give you strong drinks and will probably end up getting drunk with you and in one night ended up in the pool at the end of his shift steaming with a couple of other hotel guests. Raj the day time bar man, such a happy man good banter always trying to improve the pool speakers and plays some good tunes. However two palces i would recommend are the Athlos bar not only for the great food and drink, and music but the sexy little waitress with a tattoo on her neck, also rikkos restaurant which is located to the right of the hotel. This guy is an absolute legend! Such a funny guy.
Night life in napa is literally 2 minute walk away from the start of the strip and you get plenty of deals for groups like 5 euros for 2 drinks 2 shots and a bottle of sambuca or tequlia or sours. The main clubs i would recommend are Castle Club for RnB and House music, Straskys for dance and house and river reggae for after party. Plus the owners of the hotel own starskys so free entry is possible if you ask at reception.
Overall a class holiday with some of the best lads, met some good people all there for the same thing.....some heavy drinking and partying hard!
We stayed in room 3.

Have Fun and stay friendly to Big Mama and the owners.

Room Tip: Room 3 very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

salmary is your worst nightmare of hotels , location brill the only plus , i was one of the party of lads previously mentioned in other review who had room broken into and trashed added big downer to holiday but the worst thing was being handed 300 euro bill to pay for it ,we get robbed and then have to pay for it, the hotel were not bothered they just wanted money, this hotel held onto passports until you pay , please think twice about this hotel , its a ripoff , this hotel only does 18/30 holidays which by the way are the best the reps and the friends you make are amazing , anyway the hotel would not take booking if not 18/30 holidays , book another hotel and true ants and bugs everywhere you get bitten , the bugs eat well !!!

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolineant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2012

the salmary is a bit of a dive i must say the beds were rock hard and pushed right together.

there are ants absolutely everywhere, the odd cockroach and on a few occasions a cat or two...

the pool isn't brilliant i must admit but the only thing your using it for is to cool down from the sun, so in that respect its quite good :)

big mama is harmless if you stay on the good side of her... anoy her off and she WILL be your worst nightmare. Raj the barman is a bit of a legend!

I must add in that whilst we where there there was a group of 9/10 lads there aged around 18-21 and I overheard that their room was broken into by someone had their beds urinated on, their room trashed and had quite a considerable amount of money stolen!!! - but to be fair that could happen anywhere.

the hotel is in the best position for partying! a 5 minute walk from the bars/pubs/clubs and about a 10 minute taxi ride to Nissi beach

the food at the salmary isn't amazing but there is a reggae restaurant across the road call athlos - this is the place to go for food! the chicken there is off the hook!

if your a group of teens just going for a mental time this is the place for you! if your going to ayia napa for anything else (i cant imagine what) go anywhere else!!

good luck!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partyhardyesyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Booked through Thomas Cook before reading Trip Advisor reviews. Returned to the shop and tried to change hotels but Thomas Cook weren't interested. Manager assured us that the reviews were last year and that it had been renovated over winter period and had since been inspected and all problems had been rectified!!!!! NOT TRUE !!!!!
Rooms are full of ants and Big Mama tries to charge you extra for everything from using a towel to breathing the air!!! Roger, the barman was good and so is the location for the bars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Booked this holiday to the Salmary with 4 other lads back in September for a very cheap price. After reading previous reviews I was dreading it a little and was expecting the worst.

Apon arrival, the reps met us, straight away we were given a free shot of Sambucca and give us our welcome meeting. As this was not my first Club 1830 holiday, I knew what was coming, the reps try to sell as many excursions as possible, However, I cant stress enough how amazing they really our. Unfortunately, our party could not go on all of the excursions due to us only being in Cyprus for a wedding, therefore hen nights and stag nights clashed with some of the excursions, however, the reps were fine with this.

The excursions we did book onto where the Booze cruise and the Napparazzi! They were both outstanding. Booze cruise includes 4 hours free bar... and unlike most cruises, they actually do Vodka... Paradise! Book it, was the best 50 euros I spent in my life! So yeah, overall the reps Dan and Flick are amazing and were very helpful throughout our holiday!

To the hotel itself.. Yeah, its basic, its club 1830, what are you expecting a 5 star hotel with room service? Rooms are clean, has all of the essentials you needs with a clean bathroom!
Honestly, never saw one ant the whole holiday. Anyone who puts these apartments down are clearly stuck up... you get what you pay for guys!

In addition, Big Mama gets some amount of abuse on this! some people dont know decent people when they see them. Big Mama is one of the nicest person I have ever met! Charm her, give her hugs and buy her a drink.. you only get free tickets into starskys every night for it which cost 15 euros enterance!

Overall, a very, very good holiday! would not hesitite on going back! if you have booked for the Salmary, go without fear, your in for a fantastic holiday as the reps are amazing, so its big mama and the bar man Rodge needs a mention as well, complete legend!

If your booked for the Salmary, Im Jealous!
If your thinking of booking the Salmary.. BOOK NOW!!

Best nightclubs - Starskys, Castle Clubs, Aqua, Carwash, Retro
Best pubs - Craigs, Linekers, Kellys and Teasers!

Room Tip: Room 4 we got, No complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Metcalfe888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.8 mi away
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
Aphelandra Hotel Apts
#95 of 106 in Ayia Napa
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chrysland Hotel
Chrysland Hotel
#84 of 106 in Ayia Napa
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Florence Hotel
Florence Hotel
#96 of 106 in Ayia Napa
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nick's Hotel Apartments
Nick's Hotel Apartments
#88 of 106 in Ayia Napa
52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paul Marie Apartments
Paul Marie Apartments
#91 of 106 in Ayia Napa
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
Pambos Napa Rocks Hotel
#99 of 106 in Ayia Napa
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salmary Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salmary Apartments

Property: Salmary Apartments
Address: Gianni Ritsou 5, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Ayia Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Salmary Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Salmary Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salmary Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing