We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute FILTH!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Reggae Apartments
Ranked #100 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewed August 27, 2010

when me and my best mate booked our holiday we looked at the other reviews I didnt want to believe all the bad ones, so when i arrived at the River Reggae i was horrified to walk into a this filth! Me and my friend cried at the thought of staying in there for a week after spending so much! Beware unless your prepared to live like a tramp for a week do NOT book this hotel! it was my worst nightmare. We had to go to the local supermarket and buy cleaning products and bug spray just to be able to go to bed.
if youve already booked, Good Luck!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

We stayed aug 11th-18th , rooms were basic which youd expect but were quiet big really, so hot so recommend aircon, our room was round the front so no problem with noise, as the clubs at the back so didnt hear any music at night the place is really good fun to come back to after a night out till morning if u like, the only problem we had on the hol is we all picked up n eye infection which was apperently from the pool, by the end of the week everyone near enough had it in the hotel, before we arrived we were dreading what it would be like but as the rep said in our arrival meeting its not as bad as made out to be as there will be more bad reviews than good becasue people want to rant about the bad but over all we had a wicked week and everyone in the hotel were dead friendly with each other, id defo say go on the booze cruise, beach party, silent disco(even tho theres a free one at bedrock every night) ...becareful of the 'free passes' because they do actually have a time limit on except for the river reggae ones. All in all a great week

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wilbz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE!! We went ignoring the bad reviews thinking it cant be that bad but it was worse we turned up to a 1 star hotel, the nightlife was wicked but stay somewhere else it was full of cockroaches, the male receptionist was a thief unless you flirted with him! The cleaners were rubbish all they did was tuck your bedding back under the mattress to make it look like they had cleaned. The reps were ok just very pushy and if you didnt buy any of their nights they would ignore you. I would recommend the headphone disco night they put on though. Stay away from the pool in the day and night we had to go to another hotel in the day because it didnt get cleaned and at night there were people having sex in their spending god knows what germs. Im not a snob not way near but i can honestly say i felt like one coming here.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michdog1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I stayed at river reggae from 15th -22nd august with 6 of my friends and the hotel wasn't anywhere near as bad as some of the reviews are making out. fair enough, it is VERY basic, and the decor and state of the hotel is not 5*, but we didn't pay for 5* so we didn't expect it to be the ritz. the rooms are good enough to sleep in, the shower was fine although we had to hold the shower head as it had broken, but the toilet was fine and we had service visit the room about 5 times during the week to empty the bins etc. the bedroom linen was okay, in one of the rooms on the first night there were footprints on the linen but these were changed straight away by the rep. we paid for a safe which was 22 euros, with a 10 euro return upon departure, and we also bought air con for the week, i cant remember the exact price but i think it was about 30 euros. i'd recommend it completely as the rooms are SO hot without it and it worked great we had no problems with it. ALSO, there are cockroaches lurking around and the air con deters them. we spotted one huge one throughout our week, and the lot of us screamed so loud it never returned!

as anyone who has booked this should know, river reggae has a club underneath it, and is a very popular afterparty place as it is open until 8am. i would not recommend staying at this hotel if you want a chilled out, relaxed week, as on the first night we arrived late and didn't end up partying, and we all awoke at 5am to music blaaaaring so loud it felt like it was in our apartment. other nights though we either joined the party or were so drunk we passed out and didn't wake up until the morning! so for us it wasn't a problem! rumours were going around that you could catch 'pink eye' from river reggae pool, although all 7 of us spent almost every day (and some nights!) in it and not one of us got it, it is just generally going around the resort. (lots of people had it!)

can't think of much else to comment on, it's in a great location literally 5 minutes away from the strip and the same distance from restaurants (which are lovely! and pretty cheap), there is a 24 hour shop in the hotel which sells soft drinks, alcohol, and some snacks - and as you only get one key per room you are able to leave it behind the desk and pick it up 24 hours a day. (which is good when you're all rolling in at different times!) there is a guy called ramos who works through the night and he is the most amazing key-holder ever! make sure you tip him :)

overall, reggae is AMAZING, don't be put off by these negative reviews, if you're up for a party and don't want to spend your week in your hotel room then reggae is defo for you. JEALOUS of anyone who is going back!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nixxy3oo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

When we first arrived the Hotel seems very basic and standard. But once we got to our rooms the first thing we were greeted by was a swarm of cocroaches! The rep tried to sell us everything to which we didnt buy!! The rooms were so disgusting!! We had no air con you could buy air con but it didnt work. The fridge didnt work the shower and toilet was disgusting. We would go to flush the loo and it would overflow with the other rooms left behinds!! The shower was disgusting! We would have to shower outside by the pool!! We had rats!! The whole place smelt like a zoo!! The pool itself wasnt that bad but it didnt get cleaned as often as it should!! We would find condoms and things in there!! The pool at night was lots of fun but you wouldnt want to go in because everyone had severe conjunctivitis from it!! The rooms wernt cleaned once while we stayed i had to go to reception and get clean bed sheets!! The whole resort had pink eye!! Slang for conjunctivitis!!! But the location was good because you could step out and you were more or less on the strip!! But if u want to get infected then by all means stay at this flea pit!! I came home 4 days early from my holiday beacuse it was that disgusting!!! SSSIIIIICCCKKK!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophtimb89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

When we got there we weren't even given the oppurtunity to look around the room, it wasn't until the rep had gone we realised it was filthy! The walls, had dirt and blood all over them, the bed sheets had footprints on them and the shower was dirty with a broken tap. The whole thing made my skin crawl. It was the worst possible start to our holiday. To get any attention paid to our requests about the state of the room, family members in the uk had to complain. It wasn't until the 3rd day that the cleaners finally arrived to clean to room. We'd previously been sleeping on our towels! Never ever ever ever again would I stay here, and I WOULDN'T recommend it to anybody else. Definately not worth the money you're paying!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlamJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I stayed in the river reggae form july 21st 2010 and had the best week of my life. All i can say to the bad reviews is.... the trips were so good, i had 10 hours of free bar and the trips were fun and saved me alot of money on drink. The hotel is basic yeah but all you need is a shower and a bed. The rooms are cleaned every day and the sheets are changed twice a week. reception is really helpful and anything wrong with our room was fixed by the maintenance man within a couple of hours. The reps were good fun, joined in on everything and made our holiday enjoyable. They knew alot about the resort and the hotel. I had a great holiday. those writing bad reviews about the hotel obviously just overly fussy and were expecting 5 star ritz which on a club 18-30 holiday, isnt possible. Some people just love a moan. With regards to the trips, those hating them would be probably better suited to a warner village holiday, somewhere boring.... like you obviously are!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.0 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#5 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,958 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
0.0 mi away
Sun N Blue Boutique Hotel
Sun N Blue Boutique Hotel
#96 of 102 in Ayia Napa
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tsokkos Holiday Apartment
Tsokkos Holiday Apartment
#92 of 102 in Ayia Napa
334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paul Marie Apartments
Paul Marie Apartments
#84 of 102 in Ayia Napa
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rio Gardens
Rio Gardens
#78 of 102 in Ayia Napa
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Reggae Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Reggae Apartments

Address: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Number of rooms: 337
Also Known As:
River Reggae Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing