We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST WEEK OF MY LIFE!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Reggae Apartments
Ranked #100 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Basicly me and my friend went over to Ayia Napa with the thought we were going to hate our hotel from the reviews we read! When we got there, our reception was just full of young people our age from all over the uk! No one knew What to expect, so when we all arrived at our rooms we were not impressed at all! It was boiling hot, our toilet was in the middle of the bathroom & just wasn't very nice! All old and weird and some of the people we had met on the flight said exactly the same!... We all hated it!! Our sheets were clean on the upside and the fridge was nice and cold! We had a little look around the hotel, down at the pool at night was lovely! You get in for free cus you 'live' there but outsiders have to pay 10 euros becus EVERYONE comes to richer reggae after the strip is dead! The next morning we realised there were no spare towels you had to pay 20 euros for some but being on a budget we just used our beach towels... Everyone did lol! We were a bit pissed off at first but the pool is lovely, music on, drinks in hand it was lushhhh! There were about 20 of us that stayed together the whole time, we called ourselves the river reggae reem team!! Haha, after a few days we loved our hotel, you just learn to live with it! It's not a 5 star may not even be a 2 star but the reception man was great he fixes anything if its broke too! Beat week ever if I ever went back to napa I wouldn't stay anywhere else even if it was a 5 star hotel for free! What else do u expect it napa but a messy holiday!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HannahCharls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 131 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

Me and my friend wanted a 'chilled out holiday'. This is what we asked the lady in the travel agents. She found us Ayia Napa..which we thought would be fun as we did want good night life but we were told it was a 15/20 minute walk from the strip. So we thought this would be ideal for us. We sadly were not informed that this hotel was also a night club...not only that, it was the only club open after hours and didn't quieten down until 9 in the morning...every morning. We were mortified to find this. The guy on the mic that we heard every night still haunts me in my sleep.

When we first arrived, we were taken straight to our room and already (before the club was even open) the music was extremely loud. As we walked in we found not 1, not 2, but a family of cockroaches and had a job to kill them all. We slept with the light on that night...
There was blood on our shower curtain, poo in our toilet, sick on the radiator, balcony door would not open/close properly. Our shower dripped freezing cold water so you constantly felt dirty, the smell from the drains was disgusting. Dirty kitchen wear, blood and make up on the bed sheets. Signs of break ins on the door, graffiti, and ants everywhere that crawled on you in the night.

We paid for a safe in our room, which we found had more or less been bashed in and had a broken lock. We then had to use a safe in reception, so every time we wanted to get our money out we had to do a massive detour and everyone could see how much money we had and where it was...which I found quite worrying. We still had to pay.
We found the staff at the River Reggae extremely unhelpful and quite rude, when we first complained about our room to one of the reps, another rep and receptionist were writing notes and giggling/whispering to each other behind the desk which I found very disrespectful. We tried to get moved to our different room, which the receptionist tried to charge us 60 euros each to move as it was a 'bigger room'. Although the girls next door to us had one of the largest rooms in the apartments and paid nearly £100 less than us in the first place. So we felt scammed and refused to pay this. We were eventually moved after much complaining half way through our week.
The reps were only interested in the male guests - not giving us any free entry tickets or discounts for the clubs. We weren't even told about any of the excursions. The swimming pool was disgusting, it was 24 hour so when the place turned into a night club people were having sex in it, being sick etc. We went to the beach more or less everyday to get away from it, again which we were told was 10 minutes down the road when it was more like 40.

All in all this place was really awful, we didn't let it ruin our holiday but every time we went back to the apartment it did put a downer on us. Taxi drivers would laugh at us when we told them where we wanted to go. Anyone can come in and out of the apartments and when the nightclub was going on people did exactly this and there would be knocking on our door all night..

Ayia Napa is amazing! We had a great time there but I really would not recommend this place. I have not a good word to say about it. If you consider going to Ayia Napa, stay down the bottom of the strip near the beach.

If you really are set on staying here...then watch out for the vomit every night!

Room Tip: Stay near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jazz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

River Reggae Apartments should be shut immediately. They are unsafe (electrically), unsafe again (items stolen), insecure (broken door locks), infested with cockroaches and ant nests, rusty appliances, damaged appliances, filthy appliances, no hot water, no kitchen utensils, no towels provide, shower curtains inadequate (floods every day), broken beds, cleaners rare and uncaring, pool filthy (probably vomit), staff uninterested, reps unhelpful. Expected basic but clean as described in the brochure. Got a filthy, unsafe, infested hell hole. Don't even contemplate going unless you don't mind any of the above because staff and reps will do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to make it anty better.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere because that certainly isn't an option at River Reggae!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

i have just come back from staying in this so called hotel. Was absolutely disgusted by the standards in this place. no towels bedding was never changed cleaners just made the bed again so looked like they had changed it. No hot water in the shower which u could spit faster than the pressure. Loud music all though the night so no chance of any sleep. room was covered in ants had to go out and by ant killer. went to the pool for about 5 mins walked around and walked straight back out wouldnt even get in that water people having sex in it in the night! if you have no self respect and want to feel unclean and cheated for your whole stay then go if not stay away!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ayme_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

before we went we were all dreading staying at these apartments, all the reviews showed horrible photos and nothing but bad comments. but when we were arrived we were pleasantly surprised, it wasnt dirty and everything was in order. no mould anywhere! yeah we had ants and cockroaches but anywhere in ayia napa has that! the maid came round and cleaned the room and bathroom, the only problem we had was the shower being blocked but the maid sorted that for us! i would reccomend buying the air conditioning though our room was boiling! also there was never any thefts of anything in our room or the surrounding ones, it actually felt quite safe compared to some other hotels we had seen! and its in the best location too! not far from the sqaure to walk and the after party is on your doorstep :) on a clubbing holiday who cares about music playing into the morning - dont go to napa if you do! best holiday ever, we will be returning next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

After reading these reviews me and my friends were a bit worried about what we'd let ourselfs in for but its completely different to these bad reviews you have nothing to worry about going here, sure its not 5 star but you know that when you book it. The atmosphere, location and staff are all excellent. I never once heard of a room break in and there is a few ants but there everywhere in ayia napa. The rooms are very basic but this hotel never sleeps so if you like a party loads of nosie and freedom this hotel is deffo for you! I would go back again tomorrow if i was going again! the beach is a short taxi ride away and its about 6-8 euros each way which is fine. The hotel is pretty much right on the strip which is insane!!!! this holiday is for the people who purposly want to party! It was by far 1000 times better then my expectations. I would also recommend the kandi beach party which is every friday in napa!

Room Tip: Room 29 is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessebx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Well me and my friend went to ayia napa on the 6th of july and to be honest we shopped about for our hotel. In the end we chose the pambos magic, we read lots of different reviews and we thought well it cant be as bad as people are making out well we never found out... when we got to pambos magic we was told we would be getting moved due to an over book. Lets just say we was very annoyed! We was told we would be staying in a lovely called the river reggae, the very friendly maybe a little too friendly taxi man dropped us off at the river reggae our first thought was hmm it cant be that bad, we got there and the reception man was lovely he was so kind, we was also greeted by an 18-30s rep who was a lovely lad and helped us so much. We got given our room, our apartment door looked like a shed door and you couldnt even see the number off the door because it had rusted off, we went inside and a load of ants greeted us running by our feet. We went to check out our beds and i pulled back my sheet and a patch of blood (not mine) was sat waiting for me i had to sleep on my beach towel for 2 days before our bed sheets got changed. We had 3 hangers for our clothes and about a 5 inch wide wardrobe where we was to keep our clothes and one draw. In the bathroom the shower wasnt even hooked up we had to hold the shower head to get a shower, there also wasnt any hot water AT ALL. The toilet was manky with mould on the bottom and the rim. The sink wasnt too bad but could of done with a new tap and plug and basin :) The nights sleep lets face it there wasnt much of it the music was pumping 6 while 6 next morning it just didnt stop. The next morning we went down to the corner shop (very cheap) to get some water we took the water back and put it in the fridge and extremely cold (bonus!) apart from it was leaking all over the floor, after wiping it up we went down to the pool and the first thought was "oh its actually quite nice" until i saw what happened init at night. Lets just say it wasnt just condoms floating there was alot more. i never went in again. Overall the staff and the location of the hotel was good, BUT i wouldnt send my dog to live in it. The amount of people i heard on the phone asking their parents to get them an early flight home was ridiculous i couldnt count them on one hand. If your wanting to stay in an hotel with nice rooms a good bed a shower which only trickled out cold water, ants running the place and a toilet with mould the river reggae is the place too stay.

P.S THE NIGHT LIFE IS MINT :) DO CASTLE :)

Room Tip: full of ants, sheets with blood on, toilet that wouldnt flush, a RADIATOR hanging off the wall, a fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alicex037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0 mi away
River Rock Hotel
River Rock Hotel
#22 of 102 in Ayia Napa
173 reviews
0 mi away
Napa Plaza Hotel
Napa Plaza Hotel
#3 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,985 reviews
0 mi away
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
Evabelle Napa Hotel Apartments
#59 of 102 in Ayia Napa
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Green Bungalows
Green Bungalows
#51 of 102 in Ayia Napa
388 reviews
0 mi away
Tsokkos Holiday Apartment
Tsokkos Holiday Apartment
#92 of 102 in Ayia Napa
335 reviews
0 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#25 of 102 in Ayia Napa
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Reggae Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Reggae Apartments

Address: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 102 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Number of rooms: 337
Also Known As:
River Reggae Apartments Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing