We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfekt for familys with children”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Located outside Ayia Napa and close to Nissi Beach wich is one of the nices beaches on the island.

The hotel is suited for familys with children up to early teens. Not very exciting for couples or ages 15-20. Nice poolarea and just a five minute walk to Nissi Beach.

The food buffet is quite varying in quality. The Tex-mex is a disaster but the mid-east and cyprys buffets are really nice.

Ayia napa is not worth even a visit. Boring shops and all tourist influenced restaurangs and stores.

If you looking for a week of relaxation and just leaving the kids to play by them selfes its a perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with poolarea wiew are a must!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stockholmare99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 365 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks and tried both a refurbished two-room flat the first week which was fresh and nice. Loved the bath/shower-room and the big terrace. The second week I had to move to an old one-room flat which was a bit smelly and not at all as nice... Tried to get to stay in the first flat, since no-one was moving in, but No. "You have booked a different type of flat, bla bla..." Yes, I know but...? And All flats were reduced due to the low season and the hotel not fully booked.

Room Tip: Pick a refurbished two-room flat
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swinglish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent 1 week at Sunwing with my girlfriend and we have not much to complain about at all. The staff was always very friendly to us and helpful. The rooms where clean and big! almost like a small apartment with a kitchen with all you need, big livingroom with bed and a nice bathroom. Our room was located near the main street so i was afraid of alot of noise but didnt hear much of it really.

The hotel is very nice located 100m from beautiful Sandy bay. I see someone said it's a rocky beach but it's not! it has a very nice sand beach, shallow water, clean and calm. The waterjet rental people are very friendly and nice. Compared to Nissi beach wich is located 800 m from the hotel i liked Sandy bay alot better.

The hotel it self is very good, VERY familiy and children friendly, also very friendly for people in wheelchair. 2 restaurants with good food. Alot of different pools, alot of activitys for the whole familiy and some really good shows. for 12 euros a week you can use the gym and get acsess to a relaxing lounge with your own pool and sunbeds with cover, and that was very very good.

There is a bus stop just 100-200m from the hotel that comes every 20min and it cost 1 euro to take the bus into ayia napa centrum. after 11 at night it cost 2.5 euro. there is some good restaurants at the nissie avenue as well. just oposite of the road there is a western style restaurant who has one of the best stakes i ever had in my life and good prices, specially for the set menus! paid 14 euro for a 3 course stake dinner!

If you want a clean, calm, family and couple friendly hotel, this is it! breakfast is very very good as well.

happy hour in the bar from 6-7 every day =) buy a drink and get one same drink for free..thats 2 drinks for 5-7 euros and they are very good, not like the cheap horrible drinks you get in the bars downtown Ayia Napa.

This hotel is perfect for anyone who wants to relax in a safe and cosy hotel. If you want to experience the partying and the vibes out it's just a 5min bus drive away. Absolutly brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rune83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Was on a vacation at Sandy Bay for 3 weeks this summer; July-August. The hotel; rooms and pools were great. The kids loved it. Plenty of sunbeds and calm environment.

What surprized us most was the lack of friendliness and smiles from the local staff. Many of them looked and acted bored and discontented. The Ving.staff was more friendly and even took time to smile to the children.

We also experienced that one of the staff in a restaurant at the hotel punched our son in a way that inflicted pain!! This in a familiy-hotel!!?? We could hardly believe it. Neither could the hotel- administration; so nothing was done about it...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TanteGul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ayia Napa is known for beeing the new Ibiza. So I was a little bit worried as I planned our trip to this island. But it was no need to worry. Sunving resort is a nice, quiet, friendly place to stay. 2.5 km from Ayia Napa center. Its a perfect family resort.
If you want to go partying, im sure there are lots of opportunities. You can have both.

Cyprus has 340 days with sun. It was 30-35 degrees when we were there in the beginning of september. Personally I prefer a little lower temperature. So if a go back to Cyprus it will be in the late fall/wintertime.
The staff at sunwing resort was wonderful. Always smiling, and serviceminded.
We got a really nice 2-room appartement with seaview. It cost a little bit extra, but its worth it.
Its possible to rent a car, and in that way you get to see and know the Island better.
If you dont like to drive in another country, the busses are cheap and quite ok to use. ( 1 euro )
There are to beaches nearby (within 400 m) And its nice just wandering around. Fig tree bay is about 10 km away from sandy bay.
If you for some reason need help with your luggage, just ask for it. They dont do it automaticly. The appartmentcomplex is on to levels. And there is no elevators.
Sunwing resort is surrounded with beautiful trees and flowers. The resort have won prices for their environment.

You can choose all inclusive, and its tasty, various, good food. Good value for your money.
There are lots of activities for children. (day and evening, every day) And you can work out in the pool, ore at the fitness center at the resort.
I really have nothing to complain about, and I can recomend this resort without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would recomend an apartment at second floor with a seaview.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank norwegiantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

First time here, was back in 2001 on our honeymoon. Since then there has been a lot of changes. Came back last august 2011 after 10 years, and now we liked it a lot more. The rooms looks just the same, they are clean, don't look worn down at all. The service from the employees is great. The food is good, nothing to complain about it. Love the Cyprus food, Lamb Kleftiko is my favorite. One thing that was irritating was the air conditioning in the room, it made ​​a little to much noise, so the kids had trouble to sleep well. But overall, a perfect family resort.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank willtellya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

W. O. W. What a place! First time in Cyprus, thank's to this hotel this was a a great trip! I went here beacause of a conference with work, and we felt like we were in heaven. The food was very good, friendly and helpfull staff and great location. Recomended!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agnesmbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.1 mi away
Aktea Beach Village
Aktea Beach Village
#44 of 103 in Ayia Napa
315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vassos Nissi Plage Hotel
Vassos Nissi Plage Hotel
#32 of 103 in Ayia Napa
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ayia Napa
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#7 of 103 in Ayia Napa
1,527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anonymous Beach Hotel
Anonymous Beach Hotel
#43 of 103 in Ayia Napa
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#24 of 103 in Ayia Napa
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach

Address: Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus (Formerly Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay)
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#16 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#23 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Cyprus 'best family paradises.' Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach is one of the most popular family hotels in Cyprus. It has six pools, which includes three children's pools. The nice pool area has something for everyone. There is also a water slide, which is guaranteed to become every kid's favorite hangout during the holidays. All apartments at the Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach have been renovated in 2014, and in the spring of 2015. The low buildings at Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach provide a great feeling of a quiet Greek village. In Fino Restaurant & Grill and La Tasca we served Mediterranean flavors and international dishes. In the evenings, you can relax with a refreshing drink in the Lime Bar, while enjoying our professional stage shows. In our Fitness & Spa, you can choose from a wide range of fitness classes and beauty treatments, plus you can work out in our gym or outdoor gym for free. We have also our Lollo & Bernie Mini Land for children's activities plus our Teen Lounge for children over 8 years. Free and fast Wi-Fi available in all rooms and public areas. Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach is located in a quiet area, directly on the sea. Outside the hotel there are restaurants, pubs and souvenir shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing