We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Calm and peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach
Save
You added Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach to your Saves list
Ranked #25 of 106 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Calm and peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ayia Napa is known for beeing the new Ibiza. So I was a little bit worried as I planned our trip to this island. But it was no need to worry. Sunving resort is a nice, quiet, friendly place to stay. 2.5 km from Ayia Napa center. Its a perfect family resort.
If you want to go partying, im sure there are lots of opportunities. You can have both.

Cyprus has 340 days with sun. It was 30-35 degrees when we were there in the beginning of september. Personally I prefer a little lower temperature. So if a go back to Cyprus it will be in the late fall/wintertime.
The staff at sunwing resort was wonderful. Always smiling, and serviceminded.
We got a really nice 2-room appartement with seaview. It cost a little bit extra, but its worth it.
Its possible to rent a car, and in that way you get to see and know the Island better.
If you dont like to drive in another country, the busses are cheap and quite ok to use. ( 1 euro )
There are to beaches nearby (within 400 m) And its nice just wandering around. Fig tree bay is about 10 km away from sandy bay.
If you for some reason need help with your luggage, just ask for it. They dont do it automaticly. The appartmentcomplex is on to levels. And there is no elevators.
Sunwing resort is surrounded with beautiful trees and flowers. The resort have won prices for their environment.

You can choose all inclusive, and its tasty, various, good food. Good value for your money.
There are lots of activities for children. (day and evening, every day) And you can work out in the pool, ore at the fitness center at the resort.
I really have nothing to complain about, and I can recomend this resort without hesitation.

Room Tip: I would recomend an apartment at second floor with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank norwegiantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    105
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
185
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

First time here, was back in 2001 on our honeymoon. Since then there has been a lot of changes. Came back last august 2011 after 10 years, and now we liked it a lot more. The rooms looks just the same, they are clean, don't look worn down at all. The service from the employees is great. The food is good, nothing to complain about it. Love the Cyprus food, Lamb Kleftiko is my favorite. One thing that was irritating was the air conditioning in the room, it made ​​a little to much noise, so the kids had trouble to sleep well. But overall, a perfect family resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willtellya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skiptvet
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

W. O. W. What a place! First time in Cyprus, thank's to this hotel this was a a great trip! I went here beacause of a conference with work, and we felt like we were in heaven. The food was very good, friendly and helpfull staff and great location. Recomended!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes Martine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for one week in June`11, family with two little kids. The place is kind of like a scandinavian village, only you`ve got the nice and sunny weather and of course the sea wich is really nice in Cyprus! I personally don`t like like these kinds of travels where everything is set up for you and everyone you meet are norwegians and swedes. Why go to Cyorus for hanging out with your neighbors, I mean...but, with that said, we went here for the kids, and the kids loved the place! It was clean, nice pool areas, one of the restaurants at the complex was quite good (the other one served that typical charter-trashy food; fries, club sandwiches etc.) and the sea was amazing! Sandy Bay, wich is the closest beach, is perfect for little kids! And then of course you have Nissi Beach a ten minutes walk away, which is a bautiful and much bigger beach, full of partying teens not to mention.

The biggest dissappointment of the journey was the food! We had our best meals from the breakfast buffet at the hotel and the two dinners we had from the same hotel restaurant at night (il Fino). Other than this, all we got was pretty much trash! I would have struggeled if we were to stay here for more than one week.

So what can I say...the place deserves its 4 (or is it 5?) stars, but personally I will not come back either to this place or any other place similar to this. But if you enjoy this way of travelling (charter), then I will defnitely recommend this hotel, its nice and clean and perfect for little kids.

No more charter travelling for me.

Ps) The cleaning ladies stole my watch, so make sure you use the safe if you`re going here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ragne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

overall, a decent budget resort. the staff try pretty hard, and the pools are large and well kept. the included buffets if you opt for the meal plans are varied and of reasonable quality, with some good dishes. the little snack bar nearer the beach is lower quality greasy fried food - only recommended if you have a hangover. the kids activities are good, and there's a decent mix of people from various (mostly Nordic) countries. the accommodation is a little dated, but the hardworking cleaning staff keep it clean. one night the aircon was out all night - not good when it's 32+C at night! Took the whole night to fix it, and no-one on the resort slept well. daytime a/c costs extra - but that does make you think whether you really need it. beware of the noisy discos and amusement park next door to the property. if you have teenage kids this is fine, but with younger ones, you will get some disturbed sleep. the nearby beach is rocky and not good for sea access, but there's a good jogging/walking path.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jameswinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We visited in August 2011, and we loved it. All the staff are friendly, and they will help you with any request you might have. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The children loved Lollo and Bernie, they could not believe their eyes when Lollo and Bernie visited our apartment. The show at night was also hugely popular, we all enjoyed it even though we have seen the show in Mallorca.
The food is good, especially the Greek Buffet. The supermarked had freshly baked bread and pastries every day.
All things considered we think it was a fantastic family resort, and will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcm68Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Have visited this resort two times together with my family (ages 12-80).
This is not only a resort for family with small chidren, even teenagers and retired people enjoy it.
The beach at Sandy Bay is close to the resort and nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
#13 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
0.8 mi away
Limanaki Beach Hotel
Limanaki Beach Hotel
#11 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Callisto Holiday Village
Callisto Holiday Village
#39 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Adams Beach Hotel
Adams Beach Hotel
#20 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#7 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nissi Beach Resort
Nissi Beach Resort
#6 of 106 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach

Property: Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach
Address: Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5340, Cyprus (Formerly Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay)
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#11 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#23 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Cyprus 'best family paradises.' Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach is one of the most popular family hotels in Cyprus. It has six pools, which includes three children's pools. The nice pool area has something for everyone. There is also a water slide, which is guaranteed to become every kid's favorite hangout during the holidays. All apartments at the Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach have been renovated in 2014, and in the spring of 2015. The low buildings at Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach provide a great feeling of a quiet Greek village. In Fino Restaurant & Grill and La Tasca we served Mediterranean flavors and international dishes. In the evenings, you can relax with a refreshing drink in the Lime Bar, while enjoying our professional stage shows. In our Fitness & Spa, you can choose from a wide range of fitness classes and beauty treatments, plus you can work out in our gym or outdoor gym for free. We have also our Lollo & Bernie Mini Land for children's activities plus our Teen Lounge for children over 8 years. Free and fast Wi-Fi available in all rooms and public areas. Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach is located in a quiet area, directly on the sea. Outside the hotel there are restaurants, pubs and souvenir shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing