We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent family resort, for a one-week swimming/sunbathing vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ayia Napa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach
Save
You added Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 104 Hotels in Ayia Napa
Certificate of Excellence
Skanderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent family resort, for a one-week swimming/sunbathing vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This was indeed a perfect resort for a family vacation; good appartments, very good restaurants, perfect breakfast, clean and warm pools, Sandy Bay Beach right outside the resort... you name it! I highly recommend this hotel and its friendly staff.
A tip: Ask for an appartment with balcony or terrace towards the garden or pool and not towards the nearby road/parking lot. We stayed in a 1-bedroom Family Appartment (no. 760) which had an excellent location towards the garden and with the balcony to the East, thereby avoiding the afternoon and evening sun (at that time of the day we have had enough sun!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank birgitte_bjorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    117
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
206
29
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The hotel provides a protected community feeling and a relaxed atmosphere and is perfect for families! Large pools for all ages, including a shaded baby pool! Lots of entertainment for the kids and everything is designed for traveling with children, restaurants, menus, apartments, playgrounds, childrens club etc. But you also find a Spa and a gym for the parents.

The only disadvantage with this hotel is the location. It is quite a long walk into town and about 10 minutes walk to the beach. Therefore it is easy to get stuck at the resort and then yout can get a little bored of the local restaurants quite fast...

To summarize, this is paradise if you travel with children, but if not, perhaps you should consider a different hotel, at least during the high season...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I have stayed at this resort at least four times. Every time we come to Cyprus we stay at this resort. It just has it all. Cozy apartments, lots of pools, great beach, great restaurant, and it's only 2 km from Agia Napa City - which is, like, nothing at all if you have two working legs. Also, there is often entertainment at night, including singing / dancing. Scandinavians might also be interested in the fact that some of the staff speaks Norwegian / Swedish / Danish.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrbotten
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

4 star complex, could be 2.. the rooms felt verry old - even more bad than avarage, the doors in the room was broken. Not at all a 4 star room! But i hope they have fixed that.. it was some years ago. We did not like the atmosphere here. First time we where in cyprus we lived at Panthea garden, it was everything we ever wished fore. We thought this hotel would be kind of the same, but not at all.. of every 4 star hotel we have lived in, this one was the "worst". But, it's ok if they just give it a 3 star, then you don't have to expect so much and it's ok if the rooms are broken and old. The garden and everything was verry nice. But, as i said.. not the atmosphere. It's a OK place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mastertravel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

I wonder such a big populair resort does not have more reviews. We surely missed it when we wanted to review this hotel.

We stayed there late August 2008 and enjoyed very much. Hotel is scandinavian and most staff there are Scandinavian with a majority of swedish.

We looked for a resort with a big variety of pools and we found it. We did however find the pools crowded some of the time. Pools are very children friendly.

There are two restaurants and the menu card can be found on their website including prices. We did however after a few days got tired of the lack of choices.

There is a lot of entertainment for children and adults during day and evening. However staying there more than one week - then you have seen it all and most of entertainment is done in Swedish.

If you book a tour directly with the resort (eg. boat trip) be prepared to walk as there is no transfer included. A walk to the harbour takes 30min and a lot of sweet.

The beach close to resort - Sandy Bay is ok, but we preferred Nissi Beach which is a 10min walk away to be much nicer and more child friendly - however it is a party beach and gets crowded.

Next time we will look at Adams beach which has more nice pools and is just next to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bluiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2008

The hotel is in fact a widespread complex of 2-floor row-houses with appartments of 1 or 2 rooms (we have stayed in a so-called 'Royal' appartment, which is a double-room appartment (dining room with small kitchen corner plus bedroom) probably slightly bigger than the normal two-room appartments. I believe none of the aapartments has direct sea view, but the beach is walking distance (few hundred of meters) from the appartments. The swimming pools area is very nice, at least in April when it was not crowded. There is an almost-free minigolf inside the hotel area and an open-air chess table with large pieces and many walking alleys, very child and baby-friendly.
Also for kids, there is a Play&Chat area, where children may spend some time (many activities are for free) when sun is too hot for example.
The staff has been very friendly and answered very promptly to all our requests.
To summarize, I believe it's a wonderful place for families with children (especially children aged 3-7, for which most activities are targeting at), especially at the beginning of season (April/May), when the weather is not too hot yet and the water shortages are not visible to the tourists.

  • Liked — The extensive gardens; the smell of flowers; the children pools
  • Disliked — mosquitos during the night :)
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ayia Napa hotels
0.6 mi away
Faros Hotel
Faros Hotel
#7 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Limanaki Beach Hotel
Limanaki Beach Hotel
#13 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
Pavlo Napa Beach Hotel
#17 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aktea Beach Village
Aktea Beach Village
#41 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vassos Nissi Plage Hotel
Vassos Nissi Plage Hotel
#37 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alion Beach Hotel
Alion Beach Hotel
#1 of 104 in Ayia Napa
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach

Property: Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach
Address: Nissi Avenue, Ayia Napa 5330, Cyprus (Formerly Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay)
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Ayia Napa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ayia Napa
#10 Spa Hotel in Ayia Napa
#15 Luxury Hotel in Ayia Napa
#23 Family Hotel in Ayia Napa
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of Cyprus 'best family paradises.' Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach is one of the most popular family hotels in Cyprus. It has six pools, which includes three children's pools. The nice pool area has something for everyone. There is also a water slide, which is guaranteed to become every kid's favorite hangout during the holidays. All apartments at the Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach have been renovated in 2014, and in the spring of 2015. The low buildings at Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach provide a great feeling of a quiet Greek village. In Fino Restaurant & Grill and La Tasca we served Mediterranean flavors and international dishes. In the evenings, you can relax with a refreshing drink in the Lime Bar, while enjoying our professional stage shows. In our Fitness & Spa, you can choose from a wide range of fitness classes and beauty treatments, plus you can work out in our gym or outdoor gym for free. We have also our Lollo & Bernie Mini Land for children's activities plus our Teen Lounge for children over 8 years. Free and fast Wi-Fi available in all rooms and public areas. Sunwing Sandy Bay Beach is located in a quiet area, directly on the sea. Outside the hotel there are restaurants, pubs and souvenir shops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort Sandy Bay Hotel Ayia Napa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing