We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old favourite, rarely disappoints”

Henrique Leis Restaurant
Reserve with
Henrique Leis Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 153 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old favourite, rarely disappoints”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Lovely food, very good service, pleasant ambience. Menu could do with a new twist. Good wine list. Henrique is an excellent chef

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank timmybr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    40
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“1st class!!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

It's a Michelin starred restaurant so be able to have lunch here for E16 is a bonus. OK - so when you add wine & desert it comes to a bit more it's still good value!
The service is impeccable & sitting on the terrace, looking down to the coast is a delight.
Choice of 2/3 starters & main couses but you must have the chocxolate delight for desert....yummy!
Looking forward to going in October & perhaps trying the tasting menu one evening

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We chose this after reading about it on trip advisor.
A beautiful old restaurant just outside Almancil.
The staff are attentive and the food choice excellent although wines are pricey with their cheapest bottle of red 45 euros.
The food is presented in very different and interesting ways.
Well worth the visit but take some extra cash!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dkm1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shockingly rude!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am told the food here is sometimes very good, however if you prefer your fine dinning experience to include basic good manners, especially from the owner, this is NOT the restaurant for you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham Tolhurst T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My companion and i dined here recently and cannot understand how they have a michelin star. While Molecular Gastronomy kits help with presentation and wow factor, we felt, in this restaurant, flavour and variety of texture were sacrificed. The Amuse Bouche looked pretty on the plate, but the three spheres were dried out and lacked flavour, the shot of cauliflour soup was nice enough, but they overdid the foam. In fact, almost every dish came with foam, my companion's steak was just ordinary and while my scallops were cooked well, once again they were covered in foam and topped with more mini, tasteless spheres. We did not bother with dessert as we felt we would just be in for another disappointment. We will not be returning here as there are too many other good options in this area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank dickens668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henrique Leis Restaurant also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Henrique Leis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing