We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing heaven.”
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying at the Vilar do Golf with diamond resorts. We stayed in a two bed villa, which was supposed to be for 7 nights having booked an 8th night in a one bed to extend the holiday. To our delight the reception staff put us straight into our two bed to save us the hastle of moving. Which was a nice touch. The villa we had this time had an excellent view of the course. Car hire is essential here which we had learnt the previous year. There are some lovely restaurants in the area which reception will recommend. Golf is expensive in this area as is everything else, but it is well worth the money. I also had the luck of bumping into Tony Jacklin on the putting green at the quinta south course which shows you the class of the courses in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greggygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments - we are delighted to read that you had such a nice time here with us and that you were impressed with the quality of our golf course. We hope this was not your last visit to Vilar do Golf and that we will see you coming back really soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 378 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our fifth trip too Vilar do Golf, need I say more! We starting going nine years . We stared going with mid teen children, and they still wasn't to come with us if they know this is our destination. The Vilars are 5 stars, well appointed, we looked over the tenth hole this time. The cleaners visited every other day. We had a heat wave this time, but its still a bit early for the outside pool, although the Pool Bar was open.
Diamond resorts have taken a over the Beverage side of things, and there is a definite improvement since last summer. The Pool bar now has sensibly priced, drinks, food and ice creams, no need to walk up to the shop!! The welcome at Bobby Jones is as always superb! A special mention to Jose! The best cocktail maker ever (White Lady, is the best).
The new Manager over all the Beverage side, has some really good ideas and has already made such a change to the restaurant, it was busy all the time during this last visit.
Well done to all the team at Vilar do Golf.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmg1358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just returned from a spring break on Portugal's Algarve. As the name suggests this a golf focused resort but lots to do for non player. The accomadation is first class in wonderful spacious 2 bed villas with every mod con. Indoor and outdoor pool complex a real plus. Only niggle was the key cards kept getting wiped by mobile phone, credit cards, ....

Room Tip: Ask to near the pool or reception unless you like walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The villa was amazing... Home from home and everything u need BUT no maid service until day 4. I shower twice a day so had used my towel 6x by the time they were changed... Also the resort was not for us, we are a couple in out late 40's and we like to go out for meals & a drink.. You couldn't do anything without a car...

Stayed: March 2013
Thank cinders1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

We regret to read that although you have been pleased with the overall standard of the resort, you do not wish to come back for another visit. As we strive to achieve excellent customer satisfaction it is of great disappointment to us and we would like to assure you that should you have voiced your concerns, our reception team would have done their best in order to make your stay more enjoyable. We wish you all the best on your future travels!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Wanting a spring break within driving distance of our new home in Andalucia we chose a one-bedroomed apartment at this golf resort on the Algarve. The weather was not at its best but we enjoyed the resort, location to nearby attractions and local culture, so a relaxing time in all. The only downside which we pointed out to staff was that the 4 one-bedroomed apartments all suffered from a dark outlook with trees at the front and rear of the property restricting the amount of light and virtually no time for private sunbathing. All the staff were very polite and helpful but despite the 5star facilities, the lack of warmth from nature did detract from the overall enjoyment of our stay.

Room Tip: If you can book a 2-bedroomed apartment, of which there are many, you will be nearer the leisure fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anthony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thank you for our lovely family holiday at the Vilar do Golf. We all had an absolutely fabulous holiday., Staff so friendly and helpful. The accomodation was very clean, tidy and spacious . We had a fantastic outside private garden which our two children enjoyed.

Room Tip: Great 2 bedroom family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jennypomroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've just returned from a week here and had a fabulous time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom family unit which was spread over 2 floors. Downstairs was a very spacious lounge plus a separate dining area and a well fitted kitchen including all cooking facilities plus a dishwasher & washing machine. Outside we had a lovely private patio area with a table and 6 chairs plus 2 fabulous sun loungers all with views out over the golf course. Lots of options for relaxation! Upstairs there was a good sized double bedroom, a twin room and 2 large bathrooms. All of the furniture and linens were fresh & new and of a high standard and the apartment was spotlessly clean.

We ate once in the on-site Bobby Jones restaurant and had a nice meal. It's not cheap but it's realistically priced for the quality of food and service, this is an up-market restaurant. The pool area is gorgeous and quite spacious. The staff at reception were great, helping us out with lots of local info and restaurant recommendations.

There is very little else within a short walk of the hotel so I think you would struggle without a car. There is a shopping / bar / restaurant area around 30 minutes walk away which we visited a couple of times and found the walk quite pleasant - there is plenty of pavement and lighting so it's an easy stroll. There are lots of lovely places to visit within a 30 to 60 minute drive so a car is well worthwhile.

We would definitely stay here again.

We are Diamond Resorts members so visited this through our timeshare ownership.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have open views so ask for one with views over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulaspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

At Vilar do Golf every day we strive to ensure that each and every one of our guests can enjoy relaxing time in a friendly atmosphere and we are very pleased that you have experienced just that! Thank you for your review and all the recommendations you have shared here. We hope to see you again soon!

Ana Simoes
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encosta do Lago
Encosta do Lago
#9 of 14 in Almancil
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Magnolia Hotel
The Magnolia Hotel
#3 of 14 in Almancil
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monte da Quinta Resort
Monte da Quinta Resort
#4 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range: $42 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing