We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic resort and top class customer service”
Review of Vilar do Golf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vilar do Golf
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a diamond resort timeshare complex set in a very exclusive area. The majority of units are 2 bed rooms. We stayed in a recently renovated diamond villa and it was superb. No expense spared, even down to the iPod docks in bedroom and lounge. The comfiest sun loungers ever. Being on 2 levels this felt like a real home away from home.
The pool is lovely, and there is a free shuttle bus to the beach. Or you can take your car (essential for this area) and pay to park in a covered car park. This is a nature reserve area as well as a golf area so there is plenty of beautiful plants and birds to see.
All of the staff who work on the resort are brilliant. Very helpful and friendly. Probably the best customer service I've had anywhere.
Only one odd thing, you need to bring your own beach/pool towels or rent from the resort. If you rent, you can wash them in your villa(washer/dryer in kitchen) or pay to get a fresh one.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank SuzyWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
There are newer reviews for Vilar do Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 371 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here three years ago, in a two bed villa, one double room, and second room with single beds. Two bathrooms, which is always an advantage. Supermarket we found was a bit pricey, but as you are a captive audience, stick to the 'local' stuff, avoid UK names, and you can eat cheaply in your villa. We found the kitchen area to be fully furnished, (i'm no Delia) and I managed to whip up some meals with no real angst. The pool area has a restaurant and bar above it, it's nicely done, and was not too expensive. There are a couple of restaurants to use on site, if you don't fancy driving, but if you like to see a bit of the place, you CAN walk down the road, about 45 minutes, and arrive into the town, it's not a killer, but equally NOT for the faint hearted. Returning, it's about 1 1/2 hours! Staff are very friendly, little bar by reception does great cocktails and beer, and we would happily return here for another holiday, it was very relaxing and I can't think why I didn't write a review before. It's great for families and couples, and the villa's and common parts are well maintained. Happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pawsandhooves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for posting this review – we’re really glad that you had a great time at Vilar Do Golf! We hope that you’ll choose to come back here for another holiday, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Ana Simoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Great place to go for a sun downer and to watch the last of the golfers come in. The views of the golf club are superb.
We hoped to have a snack while we were there but unfortuntely not available at 7pm !
We have been here in the past and they have

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane01030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Booked to stay at vilar do golf and can only say it was wonderful. Right from check in by a lovely chap named carlos, who was extremely helpful and friendly. The appartment was beautifully clean and spotless with regular cleaning and linen changes. The complex is immaculate and very pretty, our villa had a garden with great patio area with more then enough furniture for all our travelling party, even had a couple of very comfortable sun loungers, great for late afternoon relaxation. I can not find any fault with the complex it was perfect. We travelled with teenagers and sometimes this can be a challenge as they need plenty to do, we found the bike hire at reception a really great feature as the complex is set within an extensive area of other secluded complexes with miles of good cycling paths and roads, even younger children were enjoying cycling with parents and very young children in the attached travel trailers!!

The beach is located quite near to the complex and was easily reached with the bike (or walking distance, if not too hot - we went in high season and it was very hot). The beach was lovely, very clean with sunbeds and parasols to hire if required, we loved it and spent many hours down there.

For anyone checking out trip advisor reviews before travel, be reassured, you will not be dissapointed it will meet all your expectations and may well exceed them. We had a great time and wished we could have stayed longer as we definately did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our resort. We are delighted to read that our location, villa amenities, and staff helped contribute to the wonderful time you had here. Reviews like yours brightens up our day, and makes the extra effort our staff provides to our guests that much more worthwhile. We can’t wait to see you again very soon!

Resort Manager
Ana Simoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just back from Vilar do Golf, 3 years since our last visit.

Happy to say that the standards are still generally high and the place is spotless and well maintained.

Our 2 bed villa was clean and comfortable and we had maid service at least 4 times in the space of 7 days. The furniture could do with a refresh, especially the sofas.

Main bedroom had king size bed, en-suite and LCD television. Second bedroom had two single beds and a bathroom opposite.

Both bedrooms and living room had air conditioning and he kitchen and utility room are fully equipped. The lounge has a large LCD with satellite TV including Sky Sports. No safe in the villa but a safety deposit box was available in reception.

The pool area is excellent and two lifeguards are on station.

A shuttle bus runs throughout the day to the nearby beach was is beautiful and not crowded.

The highest praise however must go to the VdG staff. The reception staff were all very helpful and welcoming and no request was too much bother for them. Everything done with a smile and their faces and a credit to the resort.

Our kids loved the attached bar/cafe and the lovely lady who works there during the day.

In summary, a grate place for family and golfers

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank baronynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Vilar Do Golf! We hope that you’ll choose to return here in future, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Resort Manager
Ana Simoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from a two week stay at Vilar do Golf and we would be quite happy to return. The two bedroomed villa, though privately owned, was booked through Diamond International and so, though the decor and furnishings differed a little from the photos on the website, it was all of the same general standard and very well equipped. The villa was immaculately clean on arrival and the maid service during our stay was excellent. Our villa backed onto the golf course so we had no-one overlooking us.The complex has three pools, a main pool, a small toddlers pool, and a "games" pool where water polo and other games took place.
The place has a lot going for it - good location, nicely kept grounds, very pleasant staff, particularly the kids club staff and lifeguards, however we did have a few minor gripes - When we were there in early July, we struggled most days to get sun-beds near any shade at the pool area, despite the pools themselves never really being particularly busy. More shade is needed around the pool. The pool area is a bit spartan - a little bit of soft landscaping would improve it immensely. The food at the pool bar was good and reasonably priced - but the time taken to get our food on both the days we went there for lunch (over an hour on the second occasion) put us off so much that we didn't go back. It's nothing that couldn't be solved by having a couple of extra staff on at the busiest time of the day. We were also called by reception on the middle Saturday of our stay, who informed us that we should have checked out several hours previously and that someone else was waiting to get into the accomodation - we pointed out that we were booked in for two weeks. It was sorted out after a trip to reception but we could have done without the hassle.
We took advantage of the excellent kids club which had an evening session one night while we were there and went to the Bobby Jones restaurant for dinner. It feels very much like a hotel restaurant and we were a little disappointed that there are no views to outside, unless you are sitting on the terrace for the bar. We enjoyed the meal and thought the prices very reasonable for the area, but as other reviewers have said, the menu is very limited so you probably wouldn't want to go there more than once or twice in a week or two-week holiday.
You can hire bikes from reception, and there are shuttle buses from the site to the nearest beach, but you do really need a car to get the most out of a holiday here, unless you are plannig to stay mostly on the site. Just opposite the entrance to Vilar Do Golf there is a tennis club, golf driving range and a small restaurant which has a children's play area. We ate here for lunch and dinner a few times during our stay. The service was variable but the food (especially the pizzas) was generally excellent.
We didn't use the Spa on site but it did look nice and I would give it a go if we returned.
Overall we would be more than happy to return here and indeed probably will do at some point.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking golf course are more private, but furthest away from the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerwithbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you very much for your detailed review – we’re glad to read that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at Vilar Do Golf!

We’re really sorry for the misunderstanding which took place at the start of your second week. We’re glad to read that our reception staff were able to resolve the issue, however, and we’d like to apologise for any disruption or frustration caused to you.

We sincerely hope that this incident didn’t mar what we trust was an otherwise enjoyable holiday at Vilar Do Golf, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Resort Manager
Ana Simoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Lovely villas, beautiful large site and great staff. It was longer than a year ago that I went but when I did stay it was fabulous. The staff often gave us lifts out of the hotel (and around it, the hotel is rather large!) Brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Vilar do Golf, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Vilar Do Golf! Our staff endeavour to deliver The Meaning Of Yes® to all guests, and we’re pleased to read that they were able to offer you all the assistance you required during your holiday.

We have a constant programme of improvement at this resort and our aim is to keep getting better and better – we hope to see you again soon!

Resort Manager
Ana Simoes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,603 reviews
1.2 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
0.3 mi away
Monte da Quinta Resort
Monte da Quinta Resort
#4 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
666 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ria Park Hotel&Spa
Ria Park Hotel&Spa
#5 of 14 in Almancil
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilar do Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilar do Golf

Address: Rua do Lago, Almancil 8135-031, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Almancil
#1 Green Hotel in Almancil
#3 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#4 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range: $64 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vilar do Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta do Lago, located on the southern coast of Portugal, is one of Europe's most luxurious destinations boasting more than 2,000 acres of verdant countryside where the sweet aroma of centuries old pine forests meet the Atlantic Ocean. Nestled peacefully amid lush gardens, Vilar do Golf sits in the heart of the Quinta do Lago estate, beckoning travelers to escape to its quiet and stylish accommodations. Offering substantial space and modern appointments, the resort is a comfortable retreat, ideal for a romantic getaway,family vacation or a golf holiday. Enjoy the superb leisure and sports facilities, championship golf courses, onsite restaurant and bar and nearby nightclubs, all skirted by miles of golden sand. Enjoy the great outdoors and explore the natural beauty and wonder of Ria Formosa Natural Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vilar do Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilar Do Golf Hotel Almancil
Vilar Do Hotel
Vilar Do Resort
Vilar Golf
Vilar Do Golf Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing