We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food served consistently well with genuine interest in the customer”

Chez Antoine Restaurante
Ranked #57 of 152 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super food served consistently well with genuine interest in the customer”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have been visiting the area since Chez Antoinne opened in the 80's. The owner travels the extra mile to ensure everybody enjoys their visit. Our family always choose to eat indoors (which will tell Tony who I am!) but there is a lovely terrace which is delightful during the summer months. During the winter try the homemade French onion soup - so good my son eats it in August! The Argentinian Rib-Eye is magnificent, served with a homemade Bearnaise sauce and the fish specials truly are special, and, unlike a lot of restaurants in the area, a variety af properly cooked and seasoned vegetables are served with the main courses. He will also cook childrens portions of most dishes on request - saving both on waste and cost. As mentioned by other reviewers there are a good selection of wine available and Tony gives great advice if you are unsure of the local grape varieties. Leave some room for the delicious desserts but here nobody minds if you choose to share. When the bill arrives its not cheap but it always represents good value for money and we have spent similar sums locally for vastly inferior food. Give it a go - you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good as ever”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

First dinner on this trip and the choice of our youngest daughter as she always enjoys it. Not disappointed at all this time. Lovely setting a bit back off the road opposite the Bouganvilla Shopping Centre and worth finding. More reasonably priced than some others in the area so well worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank GAR4898
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Food here is good but lacks atmosphere and waitress struggles with English but well worth a visit recommend the duck or sea bass

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Delightful food and great wines”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have had the good fortune to visit Quinta do Lago for several years, each year I take my hosts to Chez Antoine, where you have the choice of eating inside or out, this year I started with queen scallops in on the shell, followed with an Argentian rib-eye, just lovely. There is an excellent wine list but, as usual, I asked the proprietor to choose a mallow wine from the Alentejo, his choice was superb and particularly good value at €18, a price I learned later. My guests thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The owner takes great pride in his restaurant - fully justified

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxing environment”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have been eating here often for the past 25 years. Tony is such a charming fellow, always busy looking after you and when possible a chat with a fund of local knowledge. World Politics if things are quiet !. The menu is not exceptionally wide, but something for every taste. The steaks are excellent and are always the fish dishes. The restaurant is set back from the road opposite the Bouganvilia supermarket, just past the new Conrad Hotel. A large Neon lighted sign beckons you. Plenty of parking space. I recommend this for good food in a quiet ambiance and the personal touch of the Owner Restaurantier. Not like a chain eatery!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HARRYNorfolkUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Antoine Restaurante also viewed

Quinta do Lago, Faro District
 
Quinta do Lago, Faro District
 

Been to Chez Antoine Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing