We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply very good ! Thoroughly enjoyable experience.”

Simply Tapas and Vinho
Ranked #28 of 152 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Simply Tapas and Vinho has taken the locals by storm and has quickly established itself to be the place to be and the place to be seen in. After considerable research in Spain, chef has put his own slant on many well known and traditional favourites as well as other more adventurous and interesting fare. If you are with a large party the Chef's Table provides the perfect setting. Whilst there check out the wide selection of gourmet delicacies on sale as well as a great selection of fine wines at reasonable prices.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply very good ! Thoroughly enjoyable experience.”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was the first time we had tried this restaurant, which is now in its third year. We had not reserved but were warmly welcomed and shown to a good table. The place was buzzing - the owner has clearly found a winning combination. We had the chef's special tapas platter which for €35 represented excellent value. The dishes were well presented and delicious. My only comment here is that the dishes came all at once; it might be better to bring them in two tranches to avoid the hot dishes going cold. The wine list is good and we enjoyed a very reasonably priced SA sauvignon blanc. The owner is much in evidence, chatting to her guests. The complimentary port at the end of our meal was much appreciated. In all, a thoroughly pleasant experience. Worth booking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Howards19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    85
    26
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we went to”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Went here in the first week of our hols and went again for out last night too. It's a great find, kid-friendly, food and wine selection is great too. Also, its really good value. Its getting busy (as word travels fast) so make sure you book. Strongly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Morganfami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Passed it by many times , we decided to pop in as we were in the mood for tapas , and what a great little find it was , staff were really friendly , and three courses for 12 euros was not to be sniffed at . At that price we were not expecting much , but there were a good choice of tapas on the menu and the quality and amount that came on the plates was excellent , in the end the three of us struggled to finish all the food . Great find , good value for money .

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply awful.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have eaten at Simply Frango once. And once is quite enough! The chicken arrived looking quite good. However on cutting into it, it released a flood of what could only be described as grey water! I can only conclude that the unfortunate creature, after being released from the deep freeze, had then been plunged wing first into a boiler. This had the effect of rendered it completely tasteless. Most of the flavour being left inside the seething steel bath. I imagine it was only then put onto a rotisserie. Not a charcoal BBQ. And to complete the terrible, process had been painted brown, to resemble BBQ chicken. The Peri Peri or Jerk sauces options were also flavourless. The salad was also dull but edible. The chips we're OK. The house wine was undrinkable and it took 3 'goes' before we were able to find a wine that was acceptable, but horribly expensive.Why on Earth would anyone in their right mind wish to eat here? The only conclusion is that they had somehow got lost in the jungle and had survived for several months on bush tucker. There are a couple of other restaurants serving fabulous traditional BBQ'd chicken close bye. Try one of them!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffrey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent find ... Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My first time at Tapas I was unsure... But loved the place as soon as we arrived. Nice atmosphere, very welcoming staff who took time out to get a rapport going. We chose to have several dishes at once... Not one dish we didn't like on both our visits (loved it so much came back fir our last night) Ribs, steak, prawns, salad, meatballs. All were beautifully presented and had such great flavours. Great price too... And the pinot was very drinkable. Forgot to mention they brung you a free starter while you wait .. we had gespatcho and then a sausage rattatoulle. Nor what I would have picked, but even loved both these dishes!!

If you go to one restaurant during your stay.. this should be it. Made our trip!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Numnuts_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Tapas and Vinho also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Simply Tapas and Vinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing