We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic and disaster”

Simply Tapas and Vinho
Ranked #28 of 152 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Wine Bar, Contemporary, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Simply Tapas and Vinho has taken the locals by storm and has quickly established itself to be the place to be and the place to be seen in. After considerable research in Spain, chef has put his own slant on many well known and traditional favourites as well as other more adventurous and interesting fare. If you are with a large party the Chef's Table provides the perfect setting. Whilst there check out the wide selection of gourmet delicacies on sale as well as a great selection of fine wines at reasonable prices.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic and disaster”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Took a group of friends 1st week 14 of us at the chef`s table ,great food and service by Spanish waiter, attention until we left
week 2 ,took family, 12 of us recieved great service for 2 coarses then saw no one for 35 min
then asked for the bill ,it was half the week before ,there loss.
But i stress the 3-4 waiters were working flat out serving customers outside and we were left ,would have had sweets more wine,port, coffee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Upperdysart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    85
    26
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply lovely”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Have been many times and never disappointed , great Tapas selection with daily specials. A welcoming team of staff who are very friendly and attentive without being overbearing. Good wine selection and a superb setting to sit and chill be it indoors or out. The beauty of Simply Tapas and Vinho is that you can order one or two dishes at a time and there is no pressure to eat up and move on. The ethos of this establishment is to " sit and chill" and this certainly works for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We discovered this newly opened restaurant last year and it is simply great. We returned this year and it is consistently good. We returned this year to find that they had opened a new restaurant, just next door 50 metres away - SIMPLY FRANGO AND VINHO. Chicken done deliciously and served with a choice of sauces; piri-piri, curry etc all served on the side, with salads. The advantage of this over the usual Frangerias-chicken restaurants- is that is a comfortable restaurant where you can enjoy a nice night out and secondly the wine choice is better. Prices are reasonable so good place for the family too. Try it - you won't be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichF18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited this restaurant for the first time on this holiday and we ended up going back again! The restaurant is great and the food is lovely! A nice range of authentic Tapas selection and assisted well by great staff! This is the only restaurant we visited that was fully booked on our stay! The Estrella lager is a nice drink to have with the food also!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Experience”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Had a pleasant and relaxed evening at this Tapas Restaurant, with a good and extensive choice of tapas dishes, and many wines. There is a separate large tabled area for a larger groups towards the bar, and this is ideal for a more relaxed experience if you want to take a larger party. When we booked this restaurant the helpful waiter ensured we had this table and we were not disappointed either with the food or the service. The squid, fish cakes and mushroom bruschetta were particular favourites!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Tapas and Vinho also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Simply Tapas and Vinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing