We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in parts”
Review of Eduardos

Eduardos
Ranked #66 of 155 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Vale do Garrao 8135, PortugalNew beach front restaurant
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good in parts”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not many places open on the beach in January. Eduados looks good, has a great beachfront location, friendly staff and the sun was out. The food was a tad disappointing. A lovely fish soup was let down by the large cold bowls it was served in. If you can't/won't heat your bowls, use some basic maths and serve the soup in a small deep bowl- at least the soup has a fighting chance of arriving warmer than baby's milk.
The chicken Piri Piri went down well, but the specials - if you can call plain grilled Turbot & Sea Bass special, we're both over cooked. Shame. I would have said seriously over-cooked but I have to reserve that epithet for the accompanying vegetables: you could have cut the vegetables with a saucer. Next time we'll follow the example of some seasoned regulars - I did say it had a great location & friendly staff, & order sides of French fries & fresh tomatoes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denscene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“slow service, average food - no atmosphere”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We went here for an evening meal at the end of October 2012 with 2 young kids (7 & 4) - its close to 2 other restaurants (Julia's, that we'd already eaten at & highly rate and another restaurant that was fully booked). We should have turned around straight away, as there were only 2 other couples in the place, but decided to go ahead as there was another family with child.

Eduardo's sat us outside, where it was quite drafty & although they had patio heaters, only 1 had a gas bottle & was being used by the family. There was no music outside & we felt as though they were closing down for the winter, and had only just 'kept the lights on' for passing trade.

They kindly moved us indoors, gave us a coke 'Zero' even though we'd asked for a coke 'Light' (that's all they had). We waited for ages to get our mains & then were disappointed by the chewy steaks - however, they were generous with the wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New place but still good food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We always visited the old Paradise beach when we stayed in Vale do Lobo and were keen to see if things had changed since the old place burned down and we were not disappointed with the new Eduardos Paradise. The monkfish rice was superb and the staff friendly and attentive on the late September evenings that we visited. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I had the swordfish which was large but had little flavour. My wife had the codfish which also had no flavour. My son had chicken nuggets which were slightly better. Felt I had to rate the restaurant as we only went based on trip advisor ratings and it was a let down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnscott20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have been going to this beach for the last 28 years and for some reason haven't visited this restaurant before but we are very glad we couldn't get a table at Izzy's nearby. It was a wonderful experience. I cannot understand the poor reviews from others. Sure it wasn't cheap but the food and service were really top quality. Definitely worth a visit and it won't be long til we return. Beautiful surroundings and spectacular views. Go and try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaroleLed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eduardos also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Eduardos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing