We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, relaxed atmosphere and great standards throughout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vale do Lobo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vale do Lobo Resort
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous, relaxed atmosphere and great standards throughout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

This was our 2nd annual golfing trip from Hillside to Portugal, after a good trip in 2013 to Vilamoura we decided to stay at Vale De Lobo for our May 2014 holiday which we booked via Golfbreaks.
This proved to be a good decision as it was far better and the management & staff at Vale De Lobo were fantastic. From the moment we checked in, we were very impressed with the resort. The quality of the apartments was fantastic, we were upgraded from standard to deluxe apartments and as a group of 9 this was very well received by the guys!
Every member of the Vale De Lobo team we met were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them, even accommodating our late tee time on Sunday by allowing us to check out late and use the great facilities in the well equipped apartments prior to returning home. Great modern rooms with high specification bathrooms and powerful showers.
The internal circuit bus works far better than we expected, just a quick call to reception and in 10 minutes they collect you and the drivers were all very friendly and helpful. Great breakfasts at Spikes bar and the whole process was managed well, leaving us to concentrate on enjoying our golf and not worrying about anything.
As for the golf, both the Royal and Ocean courses were in fantastic condition, and we had no issues with slow play or unhelpful marshalls like some of the other reviews on here, so would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Vale De Lobo as a great place to say as well as play golf.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much Paul for your wonderful review of Vale do Lobo and for including a mention of the staff within the resort who work tirelessly to provide an unforgettable experience.
We are very proud of the amenities, facilities and golf courses within Vale do Lobo and are pleased that your entire group were able to enjoy the resort to the full.
Thank you again for you comments and we look forward to being able to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    31
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
62
41
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My friend's family own a Villa here, so we visited and stayed in their private villa. The resort was lovely though, fantastic swimming pool with sunbeds and we had towels provided.
Service from all staff was lovely, and there was a wide range of different restaurants to choose from when eating!
Not far away there is a supermarket. We did walk there, but because it was so warm we jumped in the courtesy minibus on the way back to the Villa.
However, sun loungers on the beach were very dear, so we left our things by the pool when we visited the sea! Drinks and cocktails on an evening were also very expensive, so we often brought drinks from the supermarket and drank at the Villa before going out.
A lovely location

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Vale do Lobo.
There are discounts available in the restaurants, bars, shops and other facilities within the resort to anyone who holds a resort card (Details available via our official website), however we are unable to dictate the prices set by other businesses that operate within the resort.
Thanks again for your review and I am sure that many people will find your hints and tips very useful - hope to see you here again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

We enjoy our holidays since several years at VdL, and always came back home relaxed and with lots of great memories.
This time we spent the holidays at villa 488 - enough room for our whole family - we, our kids and parents. The villa has its private pool and only 3 minutes walk down to the beach and the good restaurants and bars.
Unforgetable - we will repeat for sure - is the warm comfort of the villa 488 and the view over the sea!
The resort Vale de Lobo is lovely and everyone of the family had something to enjoy! Golf, Tennis, beach and good food

Room Tip: Ask for villa 488!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Vale do Lobo. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Visited Vale do Lobo in October , staying in a private villa. The resort is lovely , very easy for uk families as everyone speaks English, and everything is set up for holidaymakers. The beach is beautiful, facilities good and restaurants good. Weather was extremely mixed but it was lovely and warm anyway ! Would definitely go back. Only issue was that the praca and shopping area were pretty deserted sometimes as it was the end of season.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tj1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Vale do Lobo. Our peak times of year in Vale do Lobo are during the summer months and school holidays when the resort is at capacity. Many people enjoy the low season because there are fewer people around but both times of year are fantastic for families, couples and groups to visit us depending on your requirements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmare
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been coming to Vale do Lobo on and off for the past twenty five years and always enjoy it. It is very safe, well looked after and has all the amenities for a great vacation. While sitting round the pool I read all the volumes of the Vale do Lobo Living magazine, after all the initial big plans of the new company which took it over in 2008 all of which were quoshed due to the global recession the CEO said they were turning towards a more customer based future. This to me does not seem the case. We visited in October, the majority of the Praca was closed for the season, what was left closed early or opened late. The price of food and drink was so overpriced, the menu's were very uninspiring the service very hit and miss, the people working in the overpriced boutiques and newsagents looked like you had just committed murder when you walked into there shop. i work in the industry and i know what it is like coming to the end of a season, but there are standards to keep up. All in all i wonder what the future holds for Vale do Lobo, a place we once loved, not everyone is a millionaire, there are more and more places of higher quality in Europe at half the price, It's time to reassess what Vale do Lobo has become and where it is going.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bobbyblot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for your visit to Vale do Lobo, it is great to hear about people who return over many years. While Vale do Lobo does all that it can to maintain luxury standards we are unable to comment on the running and service of the linked operators who have businesses within the resort. We aim to provide the highest possible service to all our guests and appreciate the need to be able to offer competitive prices which we aim to do through our various holiday promotions and packages. Full details of promotions can be found throughout the year on our official website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
186 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

A 3 night golfing break for my son and my husband plus me as a non golfer. We had a standard appartment which was excellent with a private roof terrace plus jacuzzi and a seperate balcony (it's possible we were upgraded it really was that good). I cannot fault the appartment and with its barbecue facilities built into the roof terrace it would have been possible to self cater.
The golf package came with 2 rounds and this was extended to 3 at a 50% discount. The spa is great and although treatments are expensive they come with use of the sauna, pool etc which would normally cost 25€.
Others have mentioned the discount card when paying cash. There are lots of cash points and so it's well worth doing this.
I wasn't prepared for the vastness of this place. The bus is essential and never took longer than 10 minutes to arrive and usually quicker.
We found staff friendly. Spikes was best for lunch which we always enjoyed as there was a good choice of salads. The Praca has atmosphere but feels manufactured and is too expensive for the pub food on offer.
While I enjoyed the break and would certainly go again the downside was without an expensive taxi ride (or of course a car trip) you are restricted to the Vale do Lobo itself. The packages (golf or spa) are quite good value and it is the cost of food, drinks etc that really bumps up the total cost. 100€ for Dinner for 3 with no wine and only 2 courses for 2 of us in Monty's for what is really pub food wasn't untypical. Your budget needs to take this into account.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay in Vale do Lobo. We pride ourselves on providing a luxury holiday experience for guests, however we are unable to dictate prices charged by businesses operating within the resort. Many of the restaurants and bars within Vale do Lobo have promotional menus available and there is also the option of purchasing food to cook at home from the onsite supermarket. Holiday promotions including the provision of some meals are available from the tourism department, please visit our website for further details and we hope to welcome you back to us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A very nice gated community type of golf resort, perfect if you are on vacation with babies and small children. On site supermarket, gym, doctor, golf, pool, tennis, restaurants, pools, spa and much more. The villas are equiped with fully functional kitchen with all appliances and a washing machine, which is very practical if you travel with children. It's like having a five star resort in your own holiday home. The staff is very discrete and professional. Also nice for groups of grown ups. Nice beach and park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleBobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValedoLoboAlgarve, Marketing Department at Vale do Lobo Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Vale do Lobo. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
17.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa
23.5 mi away
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
Vale da Lapa Resort & SPA
#4 of 19 in Carvoeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale do Lobo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale do Lobo Resort

Property: Vale do Lobo Resort
Address: Estrada Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-864, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#4 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#6 Family Hotel in Almancil
#6 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vale do Lobo Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vale do Lobo Golf & Beach Resort offers a unique concept in luxury living. 1,500 residential and holiday properties, makes it the largest luxury resort of its kind in Portugal with endless facilities and services in a unique location in the Algarve ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Vale do Lobo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Do Lobo Hotel Almancil
Vale Lobo Hotel
Vale Do Lobo Resort Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing