We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Golf Break”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Just come back from Formosa for a golf break for 4 nights.

The hotel was great, more than we expected. The room was for 4 guys and had 2 twin rooms either end of a large reception area, with a kitchen in the middle. We ate in twice and the kitchen facilities were perfect. Massive long balcony overlooking the car park. Overallthe room facilities were great.

For the fussy sleepers the pillows are thin but there are extra ones in the cupboards where the safe is. Bds a little hard, but I had no problem sleeping especially after golf, but I can sleep anywhere...

Breakfast was good enough. They have a pool table which in site too for about 6.5 euros/per hour.

Pool was too cold to go near but looked lovely. the walk to teh beach is quite long, and wew never made it but it was a nice walk anyway.

You do need a car unlesss you get cabs, but we did hire a car, do not go with Interrent as they took over an hour to get to us at the airport and longer for another couple who were waiting before us, even though there car lot is about mnutes in the van.

we drove everywhere in our car and was worth hiring it out, the golf courses we played were San lorenzo and Pinheiros altos, and they were great courses to play, even though my scorecard didn't agree or all my wet balls. The courses are minutes in the car as is the local pub ad supermarket where we bought all our beer, wine and food.

I woudl go back in the bink of an eye id, maybe when a bit warmer and drier as it did rain a bit and blew a gale one day.

Excellent hotel overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    107
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
68
41
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a fun half term golfing break here this February, hotel was very quiet - we were often the only ones sat poolside in the lovely warm sun.
It is out of the way – a good mile from any other restaurant or shops. Staff were very polite and bar restaurant very good but expensive. There is an English run restaurant ‘Xenia’ nearby with curry night on a Tuesday if you like that sort of thing. The (1 mile hike) 2 passos beach restaurant is excellent but pricy.
We had golf included at both the excellent San Lorenzo and the more releaxed Pinheiros Altos, both courses were in fantastic condition and the greens were wicked! It can be hard to get onto San Lorenzo – hence a stay at the hotel is a great way to get a good tee time at half price.
The national park lagoon between the hotel and Faro is a haven for wildlife, there are a few eating places on it’s fringes – although most were still closed for the winter.
I thoroughly recommend both the Formosa park and Supertravel golf who arranged our complete trip (flights, car hire, hotel, clubs and tee times) at an excellent price – we will be going back next year.

Room Tip: poolside will get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkJH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This Hotel does unbelievably inexpensive golf breaks We stayed in a extremely well appointed air conditioned apartment with a substantial breakfast included plus 3 rounds of championship golf!

It is much cheaper to stay at this hotel with the golf included than to book the golf individually

The Hotel offered first class amenities although the generous pool was a little cold in October!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel offer a better view but all the balconies are long
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyRichardson_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a week b&b on a golf break through Elegant golf resorts. The hotel is apartment based, these vary in size but all are spacious and reasonably well equipped. Not ultra luxurious, but quite satisfactory, it will be interesting to see the refurb as one is coming this winter. Most equipment looks and is dated, no thermostat on the shower nor was the head adjustable, minor but important.
We took the breakfast on offer which was superb, first class choice of hot and cold items. Staff throughout are helpful and attentive. Daily maid service and the linen appeared to be changed every other day.
The hotel is located in a wonderfully quiet location about 400yds to the beach and one of the biggest natural parks in Europe, with countless footpaths.
We would have no hesitation in returning. If not on half board there are many excellent restaurants within 5 or so miles, so a car is advisable, even if on a break with airport transport included.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We spent 10 dats there on golf holiday again.Still at same good level of presentation and standard.
New feature this time was over trying to get a particular room.Not easy even if you speak to the hotel before you arrive.
If you want sun in the sfternoon or at all, make sure you have paid the suuplementt for the correct rooms.
Other than that we would definately go back again

Room Tip: Pay for a poolside or sea view room if you want that aspect.Changing rooms is not easy when you arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just back from a week's stay. Can't praise staff highly enough. Nothing was a bother, in fact they went out of their way to cater to our needs. Very enterprising chef. Would recommend the fish dishes. The apartments were spotless and very roomy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have just had 4nights here in a party of 12 golfers. The apartments are excellent and very spacious. Whilst the Hotel is set on it's own it is only a short drive up to Almancil where there are some great value restaurants and there is a wide selection of top quality Golf Courses also within a short drive. We have already decided that our trip next year will be be based here for the whole week as everything we want is very reachable. All the staff smiled and were available to help if we needed it.
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.8 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
1,432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
254 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
1,486 reviews
1.7 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
1.8 mi away
Vale do Lobo Resort
Vale do Lobo Resort
#6 of 16 in Almancil
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments

Property: Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
Address: Praia de Ancao | Ria Formosa Nature Reserve, Almancil 8135-172, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formosa Park Hotel And Apartments
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments Portugal/Algarve - Almancil
Formosa Park Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing