We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ria Park Garden Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Will not return!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Put in this hotel while waiting flights as partner had had operation. Had to ask for room service, still waiting for breakfast in spite of paying full price! I suspect snobbish staff are waiting for tips! No ATM for miles so you need a car.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shocked57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
13
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at the Ria park at the end of a villa holiday. We booked a seaview room and when we arrived the seaview room was if you went outside on to the balcony and looked around the corner!! All seaviews are like this so really don't bother with it - the rooms all over look the hills!

The bathroom was nice but the room was dated - but clean and fine for a few nights!

The hotel is quite tired and could do with new furniture, but the staff are all so friendly and willing to help. It is 800m from the beach and they have a shuttle bus which takes you down there - again they were willing to pick us up after hours which was really kind of them.

Breakfast was good and the barman made a delicious hot chocolate - other than that we ate down by the beach - don't bother with Xenias restaurant opposite (not part of hotel) as food isn't good, but Julias and Izzys were both divine!

When we stayed here the hotel was only a third full and it really felt like an empty cruise ship - I wouldn't stay here again but that is mainly because it is totally not my type of hotel - I like small boutiquey hotels and booked here on a last minute deal!

Also there isn't really a spa - its a room with an empty jacuzzi and the swimming pool was absolutely freezing - i am pregnant so didn't go in as it was that cold!!! They could really do with heating it if only to take the edge off..

I have put i would recommend but thats because it wasn't awful it just needs to attention and it is really close to the beach!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylover9995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

I great hotel but a bit far out, staff were friendly and views from the rooms were great.

Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2008

i think that ria park was beautiful but the room service was awful they never came on time the shuttle bus as brill but not very promt we to went on b&b and breakfast was always the same and slightly cold with non optional hairs! On the whole a lovely place good sun spots lovely beach and gr8 pool if you have a map id say use it as dinner at the hotel was a bit overpriced and not as good ,as it was the most expensive meal and we wet were there for 2 weeks lovely reastrants round like julias beach bar gr8 fish entertainment by the beach with sunset id also like to mention i am 11 and i enjoyed it greatly! (it helps to hire a car ) go to zoomarine and aqua land their gr8 too!!!!

  • Liked — the lovely scenery
  • Disliked — the standred of the camp beds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ellzjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

This was a second time we stayed in the hotel. Good location. Sandy beach and no rocks around. Plesant atmosphere. I may say everything was wonderful!
Just some strange thing we faced with: cleaning staff was not always in time with the service and used paid drinks from fridge a couple of times (I discovered an opened bottle on the bedside table while cleaning lady was doing her job and and at the same moment just the same bottle was missing in fridge). Really strange. Hopefully I simply was not lucky or too much careful.

  • Liked — Good garden view, location, beach
  • Disliked — Shortcomings with staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Gunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2007

Just returned from a two week stay at the Ria Park with our three young children. First off parking around the hotel is 'tight', but you soon find parking elsewhere. We found all the staff more than helpful and friendly and always polite. We had a family room overlooking the pool area which had plenty of space for five of us. The hotel was always kept clean and tidy as was the pool area. The childrens club is a short walk from the hotel and perhaps lacks a little immagination/enthusiasm from the 'entertainers'. We stayed on a b&b basis with the buffet style breakfast which was very nice. Only had evening meal at the hotel once in the restaurant and it worked out the most expensive meal we had all holiday, was not worth the money.
Hotel lobby bar had entertainment only once a week and was quiet most of the time.
The hotel lays on a shuttle bus which takes you to the beach and brings you back, it has its own section for guests which supplies you with free beds and towels, which come in handy.
Overall it is a lovely hotel, a little on the expensive side for what you get but hey you are on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank coponhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2007

We have just returned from a week at the Ria Park Garden Hotel. Overall we thought the hotel was lovely, however there were a couple of things we would like to mention. When we checked in we were told our room was in the 'new block'. The bellman helped us with our bags to what seemed like a room in a small villa across the road from the hotel! It was sparse and very unimaginative in decor! We were very disappointed and I explained to the Manager that we felt we were not part of the hotel and had we wanted a villa we would have booked one! He was very helpful and told us to return to the front desk later that afternoon. We were then given a lovely room over looking the pool and restaurant on the ground floor....decor lovely. We were booked on a B&B basis, but also had the evening buffet on two occasions.The food was excellent and restaurant staff were friendly, professional and efficient. Parking is free at the hotel but very limited. Kids club and Spa is 3 min walk away and very good. Spa looked amazing! Pool lovely and plenty of beds available. Great snack bar by pool. We would all definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — friendly family atmosphere
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bedcop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.5 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.3 mi away
Magnolia Golf & Wellness Hotel
7.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Park Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Garden Hotel

Property: Ria Park Garden Hotel
Address: Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-951, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#7 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#12 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ria Park Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ria Park Garden Hotel - Algarve A relaxing hotel set in decorative gardens within the Ria Formosa Natural Park. In the peaceful atmosphere of its secluded location, it plans to offer good quality accommodation that suits a wide range of holiday makers. The hotel is just 20 minutes away from Faro International Airport situated in Vale do Lobo and 800 meters from a beautiful sandy beach, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, on the south coast of Portugal. Ria Park Garden Hotel is set among pine trees in the Ria Formosa Natural Park near Quinta do Lago, is ideally placed to take advantage of some of the best beaches and golf courses the Algarve has to offer. The Algarve, with its pleasant climate, is a perfect place for leisure and sports enthusiasts. Golf is particularly high on the list of things to do, and there are numerous golf courses to test even the most ardent player. At the hotel, of course, there are reduced green-fees at most of the vicinity golf courses, available only for our guests. Horse riding facilities are within four kilometers of the hotel, and numerous water sports activities and deep-sea fishing are within ten kilometers. The nearest town, with Roman remains, shops, entertainment and a casino, is Vilamoura, just 12 kilometers away. Estoi (20 kilometers) also has Roman ruins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ria Park Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Garden Almancil
Ria Park Garden Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing